We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skene House Whitehall
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Spacious rooms with cosy lounge and a more than adequate clean kitchen. Free parking with security cameras, free welcome drink and snacks, nice breakfasts, supermarket only 5 mins walk if you cook. Staff were SUPERB, housemaid free cleaning every day and above all things (a deal clincher for most fellas) all the SKY Sports channels free for your digital TV. I love Skene House, and wish they were all over the UK. I would use them every time on my travels!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonCPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

590 - 596 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

Staying in this serviced apartment was so much more comfortable and relaxing than staying in a double room in any hotel. And yet it has all the positive features of a hotel - a friendly and obliging staff, a lounge and dining room for breakfast (good continental one) and a free car park. Well positioned for visiting the centre of Aberdeen, it's only a short walk to Union Street, Skene House, Whitehall place, will be our future port of call whenever we stay in Aberdeen.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank whosaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor, following your recent stay at Skene House Whitehall. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff looked after you in the way that Skene House is reputed for. It is so true that Serviced Accommodation is a much better option than Hotel Accommodation, you really have the best of both worlds. Space to relax with all the facilities of a hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Aberdeen, don’t leave it too long….

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour, Manager
Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

No wonder Skene House Whitehall is No 1 in Aberdeen. We arrived early (11.30am) but our rooms were ready and the staff had been expecting us. Once settled in our delightful suite the reception staff were more than happy to provide shopping tips and maps. We returned throughout the day to drop off shopping bags and returned at night to find everything waiting for us in our suite. Breakfast was busy, but exceptionally well executed and the buffet was everything you needed. All staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Will we be back, definitely.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piss_Off_Punk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are always grateful to hear directly from our guests, about how much they've enjoyed their stay with us. The staff will be delighted to see your review.

I am glad you enjoyed our Breakfast Buffet and that our staff looked after you in the way that Skene House is reputed for. Aberdeen is now a very attractive city for shopping breaks with the addition of Union Square and hopefully we will have some January deals to tempt you back to stay with us and ‘Hit the January Sales’.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour, Manager
Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Amazing suite. Everything we could want and more. Loads of space, wonderful kitchen and bathroom and very cosy. Staff very pleasand and helpful. Really could not fault it and did not want to leave! would not hesitate to return or to recommend it to ohers. Good situation. we were able to leave our car and walk to town

Room Tip: Have stayed twice and both times have been given a larger suite than booked but sure they would all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ishbel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review Skene House Whitehall, following your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were pleasant and helpful.

Hopefully for your next visit to Aberdeen you will be able to stay a little bit longer and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour, Manager
Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I lived at Skene House Whitehall for a month and it was a stress free and pleasant experience.
The complimentary drink on arrival was a nice touch and the staff offered to unload my car too.
I booked a 1 bed executive suite but was put into a 2 bedroom suite so plenty of space! The suite consisted of a very large double bedroom with plenty of storage space and a comfortable bed, a decent sized single bedroom, a clean modern bathroom with shower over bath, a galley style kitchen and a sizeable lounge with dining table. For the longer stay the extra personal space and great kitchen facilities - oven, hob, microwave, dishwasher, fridge and freezer as well as tea and coffee making facilities with real milk arriving in the fridge- was great. The lounge was comfortable and the 32 inch flat screen tv with digital freeview provided plenty of opportunity for lazing about.
The suite didn't have central heating but the electric panel heaters did a surprisingly good job of keeping the place warm.
The staff were consistently very helpful and friendly.
Laundry facilities are available for free, as is a wired and wireless internet connection in the room and a continental breakfast every morning.
For the price you get a lot - not a luxury romantic hotel but definitely a home away from home - I'd not hesitate to stay again or recommend it to visiting friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHRIS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent extended stay at Skene House Whitehall. I am sure you will agree a staying in a suite is much more comfortable than staying in a hotel room. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff looked after you in the way that Skene House is reputed for. I am sure it was also a pleasure for the staff at Skene House Whitehall to have you as one of their guests.

I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon to Skene House HotelSuites, Aberdeen.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour, Manager
Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed here for the first time, 1 night only, arrived far too early but left our car in the car park and went into town. Came back later to check in and were allocated our 1 bed suite. There really is nothing that we didn't like, fantastic 1 bed flat for £61 per night which includes free tea, coffee & biscuits in the communal lounge, 1 free drink plus honesty bar, free onsite secure parking, continental breakfast - all situated within easy walking distance of where we wanted to go - what is there not to like?? Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

It’s always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay and would like to share their experience with others.

We are indeed very fortunate to have a lovely spacious lounge, which is enjoyed by our guests, whether relaxing reading the papers or just enjoying your complimentary welcome drink.

We are also very lucky to enjoy a quiet location with ample parking and gardens, in the heart of the city centre.

I hope it won’t be too long before you return to enjoy another stay with us.


Kind regards,
Karen Barbour
Manager ,Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

My husband and I booked this skene house as it was slightly cheaper than the Rosemount one that we usually stay at and I have to say I was very impressed. The suite was perhaps a little older decor wise but it was just as comfy, very clean and the staff were very helpful, with nothing being too much trouble. The buffet breakfast was of a high standard too. I will definately be booking here again and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are always grateful to hear directly from our guests, about how much they've enjoyed their stay with us. The staff will be delighted to see your review.

I am glad you enjoyed our Breakfast Buffet, which is plentiful, varied and freshly prepared, through the morning.

Hopefully for your next visit to Aberdeen you will be able to stay a little bit longer and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Karen Barbour
Manager - Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#6 of 65 in Aberdeen
762 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
2.3 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
916 reviews
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#11 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,287 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £289 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Whitehall is the best of both worlds - it's a city centre location with a residential feel. Its only 7 minutes walk to the top end of Union Street, fewer than that to the West End boutiques of Rose and Thistle Street, yet benefits from a more relaxed atmosphere due to its private gardens and proximity to the neighbourhood of Rosemount where delicatessens, friendly pubs, cafes and Sainsbury's are within 5 minutes walk. Whitehall's 49, studio and 1-3 bedroom apartments offer business and leisure travelers a range of eclectic interiors providing a homely feel for short or long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing