We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skene House Whitehall
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Immaculate suites. great friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was excellent with very good service. Very convenient location with ample free parking. First class all round.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

579 - 585 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2012

I stay often in Aberdeen and can chose any of the numerous hotels regardless of cost. I chose always to stay at the Skene House in Whitehall because of the quality of accommodation, you get a living room and kitchen on top of a bedroom with the services of a regular hotel. This makes hotel living very comfortable. the staff are very friendly and accommodating. It is a short walk into Union Street with all the shops and restaurants. It also has off street parking which is a must in a city center hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed over while going to a concert in the Music Hall. Has good free parking and is only a 10 minute walk to the Holborn end of Union Street. Check in was very good and was given an explanation of the public areas and then shown to our suite. We had booked a 1 bed suite and was given room 832. This is up on the top floor with sloping ceilings, so beware if you are tall!!

Place was spotless and well equipped. A separate sitting area with what looked like a wardrobe but turned out to be a mini kitchen. Good quality shower room is also included.

There is an honesty bar and the 1st drink of your visit is free. The continental breakfast is excellent and more than enough for most people. If you want a cooked breakfast, there is a good choice and can be pre-ordered.

The staff are first class, very attentive, polite and couldn't do enough for us. We will be back next time we stay over in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gg13533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

First time in Aberdeen and first time in serviced accommodation, I could't have asked for better. Speedy check in and escorted to my suite. Accommodation was excellent and spotlessly clean. Great continenal breakast, but I ordered an omelette which was fantasic. All the staff were friendly and helpfull. I think I have been converted, no more hotels for me......

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesse N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

First class stay with my family. Great suites, location and staff, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

have stayed here on a number of occasions when visiting my home town of aberdeen, cannot fault the excellent service you get the suites are spotless and well equipped and its all very quiet but in a great central location

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simple_stoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We were only here for an overnight stay but the studio was beautiful and it was cheap as chips.

It's about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Aberdeen and there isn't much happening in the immediate area, but that has the benefit of meaning it's quiet at night so a decent sleep is assured.

The room we had, on the top floor in the eaves, was brilliantly spacious, with a separate lounge area (with a kitchenette) and an en-suite bathroom (no bath but great shower).

There is a honesty bar for guests (first drink free each night! - why am I talking about alcohol again?) and a great buffet breakfast each morning (with more expensive a la carte options available), and the staff we met were delightful (albeit one or two were local and thus almost unintelligible).

All in all, fantastic hotel which I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlasgowPingu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#6 of 65 in Aberdeen
759 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#12 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,209 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West
3.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £297 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Whitehall is the best of both worlds - it's a city centre location with a residential feel. Its only 7 minutes walk to the top end of Union Street, fewer than that to the West End boutiques of Rose and Thistle Street, yet benefits from a more relaxed atmosphere due to its private gardens and proximity to the neighbourhood of Rosemount where delicatessens, friendly pubs, cafes and Sainsbury's are within 5 minutes walk. Whitehall's 49, studio and 1-3 bedroom apartments offer business and leisure travelers a range of eclectic interiors providing a homely feel for short or long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing