We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skene House Whitehall
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice value for money”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We booked a one bed apartment but got upgraded to a two bed appartment. The rooms were huge, 2 bedrooms, kitchen with everything you would need to cook a meal, living room with sofa's and a big tv. and plenty cupboards to hang clothes. All for the price of a room in a hotel. First Drink was on the house. Very relaxed place. Plus the breakfast was yummy :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimbob54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are always grateful to hear directly from our guests, about how much they've enjoyed their stay with us. The staff will be delighted to read your review.

I am sure you will agree a staying in a suite is much more comfortable than staying in a hotel room. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to upgrade your suite.

I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour – Manager
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    128
    34
    5
    1
See reviews for
172
291
31
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2012

A friend had recommended these apartment and as we had our friends over from Germany and Egypt I thought I'd look in to it.
I booked the three bed and the two bed apartments and also booked the night in provisions which were amazing, we were in our PJ by 3 o'clock and sat and caught up and some read the magazine which were included whilst some stuffed their faces with the huge box of Thornton chocolates and amazing cup cakes, whilst other nibbled on the crisps and dip, I much preferred the Pizza, garlic bread and wine which was included in the pack - the whole package was amazing and I am still raving about it to anyone I meet - my girlfriends loved it - the breakfast was also great, the apartment was clean and comfortable - we are thinking we should do this once a quarter - wnen the door to the apartment is door is closed we could have been anywhere it was fab. I would recommend this to anyone .

Regards

Deborah Cumming

Regards

Deborah

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our ‘Girls Night In’ package.
Liz, our dedicate Group & Meeting Co-ordinator, takes great pride in planning all her reservations down to the last little detail, always going that extra mile to ensure everything goes to plan.

Lovely to hear that you will recommend us and I look forward to your next stay.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour – Manager
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavern - Norway
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Nice hotel with good standard, good food and good service. Our group occupied seven rooms and all where very saticfied!

Room Tip: Big rooms with seperate livingroom with fully supplied kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huttaheiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I always thought that Apartments were really expensive and more for business use, but I was definatly wrong. I stayed there with my friend whilst going to the theatre (only 5 mins walk) and the place for 1st class. The service I received by all staff were outstanding, including the manager herself (Karen, I think), sho was extremly helpful. The room for fantastic, the breakfast was amazing, overall just FANTASTIC.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Skene House Whitehall, following your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were pleasant and helpful.

We are very fortunate to enjoy a quiet location with ample parking and gardens, in the heart of the city centre and only minutes away from the Theatre.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon…

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager ,Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We visited Aberdeen on a whim & decided to stay here because of a combination of reviews, cost, on site parking and proximity to the city centre. What a brilliant decision it was! We were upgraded to one of the apartments whose condition was so good that I asked if it had been recently refurbished - it hadn't! Every member of staff was friendly, efficient and very helpful. When we go back to Aberdeen we will stay here again - if it's not fully booked!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wil-from-glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are always grateful to hear directly from our guests, about how much they've enjoyed their stay with us. The team at Skene House Whitehall are very proud of our No 1 status on Trip Advisor and keen to maintain our position at the top, they will be delighted to read your review.

I am sure you will agree a staying in a suite is much more comfortable than staying in a hotel room. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to upgrade your suite.

I hope it won’t be too long before you return to enjoy another stay with us.


Kind regards,
Karen Barbour
Manager ,Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed here for two nights for my husband's birthday. We could not fault anything in the hotel, cleanliness, facitilies, and welcome were all first class.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moira2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
It’s always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay and would like to share their experience with others.

I am delighted that you chose to celebrate your husband's birthday at Skene House and that our staff looked after you in the way that Skene House is reputed for.


I hope it won’t be too long before you return to enjoy another stay with us.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I chose this hotel out of the range which were available in Aberdeen for three reasons: excellent TripAdvisor reviews, the kitchenette facility, and the extremely competitive price, and we weren't disappointed at all.

Upon arrival, we were escorted to our room (one of the "studio" flats) by a very helpful concierge. The flat was extremely clean and well-presented (how do you keep a microwave that white!), and the bed was extremely comfortable. The room had a dedicated wi-fi hub and plug-in LAN internet (inclusive in the rate), which was an excellent feature, and the TV was a FreeSat box, and we were able to access Sky Sports 1 and 3 during the stay as well.

As two coeliacs (gluten free diet), we were slightly nervous about the continental breakfast: we needn't have been. We had informed the staff in advance, however, looking at the menu, we noticed that wheat-free bread was a standard offering (which is very unusual). The breakfast buffet also included cereal, tea / coffee, fruit, hard-boiled eggs, cold meats and juices alongside the normal pastries, so there was plenty of choice. I believe that porridge was also included in the continental buffet - fantastic value! The staff were extremely courteous and helpful at all times. We had brought our own cereal, as it is often difficult to find this- however they noticed this and showed us that they stock gluten free porridge, doves farm gluten free cereal flakes and nairn's gluten free museli. WOW!

The hotel has a well-stocked "honour bar", with the first drink of your stay complementary, and a lounge including unlimited Clipper fair trade teas (both normal and a variety of herbal), coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits (sadly no gluten free ones, but I suspect there isn't much demand for these), and newspapers to read - all of which made the hotel very homely and comfortable.

The kitchenette in the room (microwave, two hobs, fridge and sink, with tea towel and sponge), was small yet functional. Other members of our family visited us in the hotel, and we were able to cook a meal there for all five of us (after obtaining extra plates, cutlery and napkins from the very helpful reception staff).

The last thing I want to mention were the staff: every single one of them was polite, courteous and extremely helpful - they were clearly proud of the place, and deservedly so.

I have never stayed in such an exceptional hotel, and would not hesitate to visit again, nor to highly recommend it to anyone wishing to visit Aberdeen.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mildertduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay and would like to share their experience with others.

We pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service and we pay great attention to our guest’s special requests and strive to accommodate them wherever possible.

We are indeed very fortunate to have a lovely spacious lounge, which is enjoyed by our guests, whether relaxing reading the papers or just enjoying your complimentary welcome drink. We have noted your comments regarding the lack of gluten free biscuits and this is something we will organise immediately for the coffee station and we thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Our staff are indeed, very proud of Skene House Whitehall and every single member of staff takes great pride in their work.

We hope it won’t be too long before you return to enjoy another stay with us.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 65 in Aberdeen
742 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,983 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Property: Skene House Whitehall
Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#3 Best Value Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Whitehall is the best of both worlds - it's a city centre location with a residential feel. Its only 7 minutes walk to the top end of Union Street, fewer than that to the West End boutiques of Rose and Thistle Street, yet benefits from a more relaxed atmosphere due to its private gardens and proximity to the neighbourhood of Rosemount where delicatessens, friendly pubs, cafes and Sainsbury's are within 5 minutes walk. Whitehall's 49, studio and 1-3 bedroom apartments offer business and leisure travelers a range of eclectic interiors providing a homely feel for short or long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Agoda, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing