We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Aberdeen!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Skene House Whitehall
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Aberdeen!”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Having now stayed at two of the Skene House sites (Holborn being the other), I can quite happily say that I would not use another hotel chain in Aberdeen. I think it would be fair to say that some of the rooms could benefit from updating, but this certainly does not detract from the overall experience. The customer service is simply outstanding, they cannot do enough to make sure your stay is enjoyable. From reception to housekeeping, the staff are friendly, polite and attentive. At the price we paid, there really is nowhere better.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Askdyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review, we really value your support and regular custom.
With regards to your comment about updating some of the rooms, you will be pleased to hear that this is currently in planning motion; however we like to keep Skene House Holburn and Whitehall fairly traditional and maintaining the character of the old granite buildings. For those of you who prefer a more modern or urban style we can offer you our Skene House Rosemount property (also centrally located).

We aim to make sure that all of our customers get the maximum value for money, most of our suites are competitively priced with hotel rooms and yet offer much more space and flexibility.
I will pass on your kind comments about our staff who really do aim to go the extra mile for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House HotelSuites,

Karen Barbour,
Manager, Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    127
    34
    5
    1
See reviews for
169
292
31
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Very well appointed apartment spotless comfortable good breakfast excellent this is a nice place place very handy for shops nice soaps ,towels ,kitchen well appointed dishwasher hob oven microwave all the things needed we would highly recommend this serviced apartment

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Very good apartment/hotel. A lot more space than I needed. Clean rooms, friendly staff and a decent breakfast. Location was good and there was adequate car parking. Only thing missing was a "snack" in the fridge. Apart from that a pleasant change from chain hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_lab_rat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Thank you for your review of Skene House Whitehall. Indeed, we are the antithesis of large chain hotels, we aim to offer a suite for the same price as a hotel room in order to give our guests much more flexibility during their stay. With regards to your suggestion for a snack in the fridge, we’ll see what we can do about that! In the meantime we offer tea, coffee and biscuits in the communal lounge area beside reception along with an honour bar with a supply of bar snacks if you fancy.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House Whitehall,

With kind regards,
Karen Barbour
Manager
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Over night stay in three-bed appartment. Was very clean and well equipped with friendly, helpfull staff. Enjoyed continental breakfast with lots to choose from. Would definately stay again and highly recommend

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jodi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

After six years visiting the skene house white hall it feels like a second home. Rooms are comfortable and provided with everything you need for a pleasant stay in Aberdeen. I can recommend this place to stay.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your recommendation for Skene House Whitehall. Recommendations from loyal guests like you have helped us to reach the No.1 spot on TripAdvisor. Thanks for your valued support throughout the years.

With kind regards,

Karen Barbour
Manager, Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Skene Whitehall for the second time and we enjoyed our short one night stay. We ended up in a two bedroom apartment with lounge and kitchen which was lovely. We love the Scottish Fine Soaps provided and the deluxe continental breakfast with a great selection of breads and pastries, including local produce. Ramunas, a very nice young gentleman who showed us to our room and looked after us at breakfast was courteous and friendly. It is a convenient location, close to the town centre with parking. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmcgugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferMLindsay, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you chose to return to Skene House Whitehall.

We are glad to hear that you appreciated our fine soaps and our breakfast buffet. We try to support local business by choosing Scottish produce where possible, for example our breads come from a local social enterprise called The Breadmaker and our comfortable mattresses from another local social enterprise called Glencraft.

Ramunas is delighted that he got a special mention in your review and looks forward to welcoming you back again soon!

With kind regards,

Karen Barbour
Manager
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I stayed here with 4 of my old school chums at the beginning of October, all of my friends were so impressed with the accommodation. We had an amazing 3 bedroom suite on the top floor. The decor was so pretty and old fashioned, just my cup of tea. Bedrooms were huge, Living Room was fantastic too.

We had continental breakfast and it was just perfect, the breakfast room is very tastefully decorated too.

Overall, another wonderful stay at Skene House Apartments, I would definatly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: 3 bedroom suite, top floor amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferMLindsay, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time tell others about Skene House Whitehall. We are delighted that you and your friends chose to stay with us and that we impressed you so much!

Skene House HotelSuites are perfect for a ‘get together’ with friends, giving you more space, flexibility and comfort than a standard hotel room. Indeed, the décor is truly unique for a hotel or serviced apartment, people often comment on how ‘at home’ they feel here.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House Whitehall very soon. In the meantime you can keep up-to-date with our news and offers on our website blog or on Facebook.

With kind regards,

Karen Barbour

Manager
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Property: Skene House Whitehall
Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Whitehall is the best of both worlds - it's a city centre location with a residential feel. Its only 7 minutes walk to the top end of Union Street, fewer than that to the West End boutiques of Rose and Thistle Street, yet benefits from a more relaxed atmosphere due to its private gardens and proximity to the neighbourhood of Rosemount where delicatessens, friendly pubs, cafes and Sainsbury's are within 5 minutes walk. Whitehall's 49, studio and 1-3 bedroom apartments offer business and leisure travelers a range of eclectic interiors providing a homely feel for short or long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing