We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Skene House Whitehall
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I was originally going to book in at Jury's Hotel but then I saw the Skene House reviews and changed my booking and I am so glad I did.
From the moment we arrived it couldn't have been better, the reception, portering and dining room staff were courteous, polite, helpful and efficient.
The suite we were in was fantastic, very clean and well maintained and had everything we could have wanted.
Breakfasts were great with every possible choice you could imagine available.
The location was ideal, close enough to the centre but in a quiet area of the city so no traffic noise plus free secure parking.
All the excellent reviews I had seen prior to booking were justified, we coiuld not have wished for a better experience, full marks to the team at Skene House for a genuine five star service and great value.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Hello, we're so glad you changed your mind and decided to stay at Skene House Whitehall!

And thanks for leaving an excellent review, we really appreciate it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House Whitehall very soon,

With kind regards,

Karen Barbour
Manager, Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 722 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2012

Found this hotel on the internet and a really lucky find it was.We booked a one bedroom suite as we had to meet someone off the northern isles ferry. We had a wonderful welcome from the staff and, because the ferry arrived at 7.00 am they provided us with a breakfast selection in our suite. The accommodation was really good with a comfortable lounge, well appointed kitchen and spacious, comfortable bedroom and bathroom. As I said to the staff I would recommend this to anyone and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frenchie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Skene House Whitehall.

Customer feedback on Trip Advisor is very valuable for both accommodation providers are travellers and I am grateful that you have taken the time to post this review. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Karen Barbour
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Couldn't ask for anything more. Excellent all round trip but skene made that bit special ++++++. Top class.xxxx overall ********* 5 star from minute you arrive you receive a warm welcome. All staff fantastic and breakfast was delicious with loads of choice. £great value for money much more than just a hotel room. *************** very very happy so glad we chose x

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trace906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Skene House Whitehall on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that we could make your stay feel Special. Our staff take great pride in their service and greatly appreciate it when guests give feedback like this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House Whitehall very soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Skene House, Whitehall management team demonstrate high performance leadership skills.

Skene Apartments is a "home from home" with friendly staff and comfortable accommodation.
As a business performance coach my experience is that the "real test" of an organisation is how they respond to guest/customer concerns.
I raised concerns about a recent kitchen 'appliance' Management of Change - this feedback was received, assessed and actioned by the time I 'came back from work - well done!

Room Tip: Some apartments have an "home office" - as a business traveller I find this an excellent a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PEAKPERFORMANCECOACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted that you have recognised the efforts of our management team who work very hard to ensure that our guests receive a seamless experience.

We understand the pressures of business travel and strongly believe that guests should be able to leave their stress behind when they enter their Hotel Suite, everything should be fully functioning and delivered to the highest standards of efficiency. Thank you for bringing the issue to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to rectify the situation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House Whitehall in the near future,

With Kind Regards,

Karen Barbour
Manager, Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Stayed at the Skene house Apartment's for one night. Great service and great room great location 3minutes from centre of Aberdeen. The Staff are so freindly and helpfull nothing is to much trouble.The rooms are excellent the bathrooms are all nice clean and new brillant self catering kitchens plenty of room to relax. There is a lovely lounge with honest bar to relax and unwind the Breakfast are great very good selection nothing is to much trouble. Keep up the good work I wil definitely be booking there again. Ps this is my Fourth stay here never been disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

We greatly appreciate your review and look forward to seeing you for a fifth time at Skene House Whitehall!

Happy New Year,

With Kind Regards,

Karen Barbour
Manager, Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Myself and 5 friends stayed in the 6 bed executive apartment for one night in December 2012. We were all very impressed by the apartment which was a lovely little maisonette over two floors. We had three bedrooms and three bathrooms, lounge, kitchen and dining area and it really did feel like a home from home. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Our return train the next day was late afternoon and they allowed us to stay in our room a bit later than the 11.00 o'clock check out time without any problems. The continental breakfast was lovely and there was even a free drink on the day of your stay. All this at a very reasonable price. I wouldnt hesitate to recommend a stay at these apartments to anyone visiting Aberdeen and will be returning myself in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We greatly appreciate the effort our guests make to recommend us to others.

As you point out, our Hotel Suites are ideal for groups of friends from anything to one night to one month (and more!). As you have experienced, our staff aim to go the extra mile to ensure that our guests are comfortable and that their travel plans are as seamless as possible…we hope you enjoyed an extra lie-in!

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back again soon,

With Kind Regards,

Karen Barbour
Manager, Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Stayed for 5 nights while visiting our daughter. What a surprise. The room was a furnished apartment, complete with a washing machine. The living area was spacious and comfortable. Bedroom was big and the bed was supercomfortable. Bathroom was roomy and clean. In fact, the whole place was spotless. Good continental breakfast included with the room and a reasonable charge if you want the full Scottish breakfast. The hotel has parking, although the lot fills up quite early and there are some tight squeezes and is very central to exploring the town. There is an honor bar and the first two drinks are on the house. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dublinborn51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our Hotel Suites are ideal for stays of 5 nights, offering you the flexibility, space and comfort that you need whilst away from home.

Our housekeeping staff take pride in ensuring that your Hotel Suite is sparkling clean and are always delighted when our guests mention that in their reviews.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House Whitehall very soon,

With Kind Regards,

Karen Barbour,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#7 of 65 in Aberdeen
762 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
2.3 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
922 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £295 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Whitehall is the best of both worlds - it's a city centre location with a residential feel. Its only 7 minutes walk to the top end of Union Street, fewer than that to the West End boutiques of Rose and Thistle Street, yet benefits from a more relaxed atmosphere due to its private gardens and proximity to the neighbourhood of Rosemount where delicatessens, friendly pubs, cafes and Sainsbury's are within 5 minutes walk. Whitehall's 49, studio and 1-3 bedroom apartments offer business and leisure travelers a range of eclectic interiors providing a homely feel for short or long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing