We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Skene House Whitehall
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Homely star”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We were in a group of 9 and we booked 2 2-bedroom suites which will accommodate 4 per suite. We were given 1 2-bedroom suite and 1 3-bedroom suite which can accommodate 6 with no extra charge.

Suite is in good condition with good size. The 3-bedroom suite has everything just exactly like our house. Or even better than mine.

The receptionist very kindly recommended us some restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictorNgWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Skene House Whitehall. We have a wide variety of suites which allows us to provide guests with complimentary upgrades from time to time and I am delighted that you were able to take advantage of this.

We aim to provide the very best customer service and our reception team are always happy to provide recommendations.

I hope you will have an opportunity to return to Aberdeen and Skene House Whitehall in the future.

Regards
Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    128
    34
    5
    1
See reviews for
172
291
31
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Aberdeen is not an easy place to find a decent place to stay. Most of the hotels are sad and the B&Bs are just awful. Skene Hose however is a class above, without a penalising price tag. We have previously stayed at the Rosemount site and came to the Whitehall on this occasion as the other one was full. Telephone booking was easy - indeed we were phoned back with a better offer within a few minutes. Comfortable and clean, better than most hotel rooms! our suite was just what we needed for a weekend trip. Located close to the city centre with a pleasant sitting area and honesty bar, this was just about perfect. The breakfast was good and there was an a la carte addition if wanted. Parking was free and plentiful. Only minus point is the decor of the stairways which were dull and the carpets a cubit dated.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
I am delighted read that you enjoyed your stay at Skene House Whitehall and regard us as a ‘Class Above’ most of the other hotels. We aim to provide the very best customer service from the reservation process through to the end of your stay. As you have found staying is a suite is much more comfortable than a typical hotel room and I hope you will have an opportunity to stay
with us again soon.

Kind regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Husband, daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights recently. The 2 bedroom apartment was in a building behind the main hotel and was 'compact' but perfectly adequate for our needs with double and single bedroom, small bathroom, kitchen and sitting room with TV and computer access. Breakfast was f.o.c. for Continental with very good choice and not expensive for the cooked option. Tea and coffee provided all day in the Lounge and in the evening an Honesty Bar appeared which was handy and inexpensive. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and we would definitely stay again. It was a 15 minute walk to town so might try one of their properties nearer the centre next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAD3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Skene House Whitehall. We are delighted that you found our staff helpful and that you would return to stay with Skene House again.

We are very fortunate to have a spacious guest lounge with an honour bar and we try to keep our prices as reasonable as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We only stayed here one night, but did this place ever make an impression on us.

First, the location is great--easy walking distance to the main downtown, the ferry, museums, everything you want to do in Aberdeen.

Second, our accommodation was spacious and lovely. It was nice to be able to spread our things over a couple of rooms after 10 days of staying in hotel rooms. One word of warning to Americans, though: Our room was on the third floor, which meant it was four floors up. It was a long, steep way to haul all of our luggage.

There also was a guest laundry, which was one of the reasons we chose to stay here.

But the real standout was the staff. They all made us feel welcome and answered our silly questions and were extremely helpful. Everyone was willing to give us recommendations and directions. I'm sure, however, they were snickering discretely behind our backs. One poor man actually trekked all the way from the front desk, outside, down the block a bit, and up four flights of stairs to show me how the shower worked. I had tried everything. (It was simple and he was gracious.)

And now the grand finale. We left two bags of luggage there while we took a trip to the Orkney and Shetland islands. When we returned, we faced a real dilemma. We were on our way to Iceland and needed to totally repack to distribute clothes to A) meet airline weight regulations and B) make sure we each had clothes in several bags in case something got lost.

They actually let us spread out all over the guest lounge and totally repack our four bags. Remember--we had stayed there ONE night a week before. And they even called a cab for us when we were finally ready to go.

We had worried plenty about how we were going to reorganize, and they made it simple. Their hospitality was unmatched and a wonderful welcome to Scotland.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferMLindsay, Guest Relations Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Skene House Whitehall. We greatly appreciate your efforts and indeed the great detail in your review is extremely helpful to other travellers.

We take great pride in the quality and delivery of our customer service and I am delighted to read that you described your experience as 'unbeatable'. The Whitehall team is always willing to go the extra mile to ensure that guests have a comfortable and memorable stay, whether the guest is staying for one night or one year - and your experience is a perfect example.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Skene House Whitehall in the near future.

With kind regards,

Rosalind McClure
Guest Relations
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We chose Skene House Whitehall after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor.

We were greeted by a very friendly and efficient receptionist (Lindsay) who explained the set up at the suites and then arranged for us to be taken to our suite. The suites are located near to the reception, lounge and dining room but by the nature of the suites there isn't a walk through - you need to go outside to walk to them.

The suite consisted of a bedroom with en-suite, small kitchen and a large lounge.

The rooms are well appointed, and ours included small extras such as fresh milk in the fridge. Also, the rooms are well provided with power sockets.

Breakfast is a self select continental buffet but if you required it a hot breakfast was available at an extra charge.

The lounge area is located next to reception where coffee, tea and biscuits are freely available all day. In addition, there is an honour bar which has a good selection of alcoholic and soft beverages that are reasonably priced.

The location of the suites is only a short walk (5 minutes max) from the top of Aberdeen's Union Street.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerC669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferMLindsay, Guest Relations Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for reviewing Skene House Whitehall on TripAdvisor.

We greatly appreciate that you have taken the time to write such a detailed review and shared your thoughts with other travellers.

Your lovely comments have been passed to Lindsay and indeed we work hard to provide consistently friendly and efficient service.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon,

Kind regards,

Rosalind McClure
Guest Relations
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My wife & I have stayed at Skene House twice before, and we returned with confidence for our 40th wedding anniversary weekend. There is nothing new we can say about this accommodation, service & staff - everything was perfection as usual, with staff ever ready to assist willingly with anything you liked to ask for. We'll certainly be back!

Room Tip: You do not need to "choose a good room" at Skene House, they're all good. A concierge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferMLindsay, Guest Relations Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to hear that you chose to spend your 40th Anniversary at Skene House Whitehall.

Whitehall's spacious suites and warm and inviting atmosphere provides the perfect setting for any celebration. Indeed, we do strive for perfection every time so I am delighted that you have shared your experience with other travellers.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon,

With kind regards,

Rosalind McClure
Guest Relations
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We booked the Skene House for a family gathering to celebrate 2 very special birthdays. The staff''s attention to detail was second to none, making our weekend very special indeed. We will definitely come back next time we are in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferMLindsay, Guest Relations Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Skene House Whitehall on TripAdvisor.

Skene House Whitehall's spacious apartments are perfect for family celebrations in Aberdeen. We take great pride in making our guests' feel special and I am delighted to read that you found the team's attention to detail 'second to none'.

We look forward to your next visit,

With kind regards

Rosalind McClure
Guest Relations
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 65 in Aberdeen
742 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,990 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Property: Skene House Whitehall
Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#3 Best Value Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Whitehall is the best of both worlds - it's a city centre location with a residential feel. Its only 7 minutes walk to the top end of Union Street, fewer than that to the West End boutiques of Rose and Thistle Street, yet benefits from a more relaxed atmosphere due to its private gardens and proximity to the neighbourhood of Rosemount where delicatessens, friendly pubs, cafes and Sainsbury's are within 5 minutes walk. Whitehall's 49, studio and 1-3 bedroom apartments offer business and leisure travelers a range of eclectic interiors providing a homely feel for short or long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing