We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved It” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skene House Whitehall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Skene House Whitehall
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Loved It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here for the first time and it wont be the last. This place was wonderful - couldn't fault anything. Tried a few hotels in Aberdeen but this is the best by far. Service was first class and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Granderbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of Skene House Whitehall.

It was a pleasure to read that you found us wonderful and couldn’t find any fault.

The team take great pride in their work and strive to deliver the best possible service in all departments.

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming your wife and yourself back to Skene House Whitehall in the near future.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager - Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    123
    31
    5
    1
See reviews for
167
286
30
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Lovely overnight stay here. Spacious, clean rooms, well equipped, warm and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful, excellent breakfast without having to buy the cooked option. Lovely extras like fresh milk and a ground coffee in the apartments.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review of Skene house Whitehall.

It was a pleasure to read your review and I am delighted you enjoyed your spacious, clean and well equipped suite. It is always a pleasure for me to read that my team are maintaining the great Customer Service levels we are reputed for and it is reviews like this that keep the team
motivated.

I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager - SKene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Love staying at Skene Whitehall, staff are friendly, check in very easy, had our suitcake taken to our room. Breakfast is amazing, really don't need lunch during the day after it. 5 mins walk away from top of Union st, its ideal for a stay in Aberdeen, great to have an appartment to yourself rather than a room. we will not stay anywhere else now that we have found Skene Whitehall.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Skene house Whitehall, it was lovely to welcome you back.

Our concierge staff are always happy to assist with luggage. We are very fortunate to have this 24 hour service to help look after our guests.

We have recently re-launched our breakfast buffet and it’s lovely to hear that the new additions on our buffet are being well received.

As you have found, serviced accommodation is great for any length of stay, its lovely to have extra space to relax.

I am delighted that you will not stay anywhere else in Aberdeen and we look forward to seeing you next time.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager - Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Skene House Whitehall, Aberdeen for 3 nights whilst visiting a relative in hospital.Bus number 3 from the city centre stops near by.Good location.On arrival we were shown the communal lounge & told a complimentary drink was available in the lounge area which is a cosy area with stylish decor,armchairs with free coffees, teas&scottish shortbread.Then the breakfast room where cereals,a variety of breads, fruits, croissants, yogurts, meats, cheeses,teas&coffees are included in your stay.Waiter service&self service combined.If cooked breakfast is required there is a charge.
Conceirge calkec for smartly dressed porters to take us to our room&carried our bags.
We had a two bedroom apartment in with a shower room,kitchen&lounge.All essentails included-toilet rolls,shower gel&body cream,towels, washing up liquid,salt n pepper, I mean everything.Cleaniless was to a very high standard.
Skene House is a Scottish chain of apartments for busines&pleasure.
Fantastic value for money&really friendly staff.Definitely would stay here again,5 Stars!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocci66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
It is always a pleasure to read that guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We are very fortunate to be able to offer a 24 hour concierge service and to have a spacious Lounge for guest to enjoy.

Skene House is a privately owned family business and who take pleasure in supporting local businesses and investing in training and progressing staff from within the business.

Our staff genuinely enjoy their roles and take pride in delivering the very best customer service possible.

I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

I stayed in the hotel for 4 days. Nice reception on arrival, the concierge helped me with my bags. Suite is very spacious. The staff are very focused and can do anything to help customers. I requested a late check out and later in the evening, they left a letter in my room allowing me check out whenever I want and a new room key.

The only issue I has was with Wi-Fi as it used to drop frequently.

Room Tip: Rooms above reception are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imtiaz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
We are delighted you have had the opportunity to experience the customer service we pride ourselves in delivering on a daily basis.

We are happy to accommodate late check outs wherever availability allows.

Thank you for bringing the wifi issue to our attention, this issue has now been resolved.

I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Aberdeen.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here many times for short and long stays and every visit has been a wonderful experience. The staff, without exception, are focused on doing anything they can to help make your stay as comfortable and without complication as they can. They consistently demonstrate an exceptionally strong personal commitment to the Skene House reputation. The suites are very comfortable, spotless, and very well maintained. The breakfast has lots of options, and is always well presented and well served. The location provides great access to work, downtown and lots of restaurants without the noise and ruckus you might get elsewhere. Very highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
As a regular guest at Skene House Whitehall your feedback is greatly appreciated; it is lovely to read that our staff’s commitment is recognised, they are our greatest asset and will be delighted to read your review.

We look forward to your next stay.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel for one night. Nice reception on arrival. Shown to my room door, and offered if I wanted any help with my bags. Lots of space in the suite and very clean. Free wifi is also included. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I would recommend it to anyone

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
It is always a pleasure to read that guests have enjoyed their stay with us. As you have found we offer a 24 hour concierge service, always happy to help.

Word of mouth is an invaluable resource and we thank you for any recommendations you have made.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Property: Skene House Whitehall
Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Whitehall is the best of both worlds - it's a city centre location with a residential feel. Its only 7 minutes walk to the top end of Union Street, fewer than that to the West End boutiques of Rose and Thistle Street, yet benefits from a more relaxed atmosphere due to its private gardens and proximity to the neighbourhood of Rosemount where delicatessens, friendly pubs, cafes and Sainsbury's are within 5 minutes walk. Whitehall's 49, studio and 1-3 bedroom apartments offer business and leisure travelers a range of eclectic interiors providing a homely feel for short or long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing