We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ACE... Will come again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Skene House Whitehall
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“ACE... Will come again!”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in Aberdeen. We were very impressed. Will come again if we ever visit Aberdeen. Good comfortable bed and very clean, my wife was very pleased with my last minute booking. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akhiabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skene H, Guest Relations Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing Skene House Whitehall and I am delighted to read that your wife was impressed with your choice of hotel!

We look forward to seeing you both again soon,

Kind Regards

Rosalind McClure
Guest Relations
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    128
    34
    5
    1
See reviews for
172
291
31
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is our second stay at these apartments and again I couldnt fault them.Staff very friendly and efficient. Ideal location for walking into town to shops, pubs and cinema. Great choice for breakfast considering its continental. Free drink on your first night stay. Free parking. Would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: have stayed in 2 different studio apartments and both were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazza73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skene H, Guest Relations Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to recommend Skene House Whitehall to other travellers on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you found our staff to be friendly and efficient and I will make sure that your comments are communicated to them. Our front of house teams have participated in a world-class training programme and take great pride in delivering exceptional customer service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House Whitehall.

Kind Regards

Rosalind McClure
Guest Relations
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I stayed at Skene House hotel suite (Whitehall) recently and was impressed with the set up and facilities of the apartments. It has all the functional facilities of a hotel but lounge, kitchen, bathroom and shower room! Give you a more homely and comfortable stay than your average room only hotel! It is also great for larger group stays such as our hockey club, our needs were all catered for at the highest standard - we even got our strips washed and dried! There is also free wifi available throughout the establishment - no hidden charges unlike other chain hotels! A highly enjoyable stay with a good night sleep, polite friendly staff and a great selection for breakfast. Only slight downside is that there is limited number of free on site parking spaces however I would recommend Skene house for any trip or holiday!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skene H, Guest Relations Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Skene House Whitehall on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you and your group were impressed with our services and facilities and indeed, due to the space, flexibility and comfort on offer we are very popular with groups and families. For groups of over 10 people we provide, free-of-charge, a groups' coordinator who will ensure that your trip runs smoothly from the moment you arrive at our property.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again Skene House Whitehall.

Kind Regards

Rosalind McClure
Guest Relations
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Although i have stayed at Whitehall several times now, this was the first time i have tried their Studio Suite and i was pleasantly surprised. It was a lot more spacious than i expected and also finished to a high modern standard. For the price of a standard room at a budget hotel, you get a different class of accommodation altogether. Please note however that the studio rooms are about 4 floors up, so if you struggle with lots of stairs book a standard room instead on a lower floor.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skene H, Guest Relations Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Skene House Whitehall on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that our studio suite exceeded your expectations and we greatly appreciate your recommendation to other travellers' regarding the stairs. We aim to do our best to allocate guests to the most suitable suite type according to their needs and we urge anyone travelling with children or requiring a lower level floor to get in touch before arrival.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House Whitehall.

With Kind Regards

Rosalind McClure
Guest Relations
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

On a flying visit to Aberdeen, I stumbled on this on Laterooms.com and was delighted at what I found. I usually visit Aberdeen on business at short notice and end up staying in a Travelodge or something similar. Hopefully, never again. This is an oasis among the plethora of hotel chains that fleece you in this city. Although I spent very little time there (8 hours sleep in 2 nights), I was very comfortable and will certainly be using them again. The staff were excellent and brought up a breakfast tray as I had to leave before breakfast on departure. The rooms were immaculately clean too and very comfortable.

By way of constructive criticism, they would have scored 5 out of 5 if the bath was not so small and the bedding of a higher standard.

Thank you and Skene House and see you again soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwilko51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skene H, Guest Relations Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review of Skene House Whitehall.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your short stay and your comments regarding the bath and bedding have been noted.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Rosalind McClure
Guest Relations
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Was very impressed with the standard of the suite. Spotlessly clean, roomy and good quality. . Staff were welcoming and efficient. A very relaxed feel within the reception/breakfasting room. Would stay here again.
Would like it to include some pet friendly accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Family186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Skene House Whitehall, I am delighted that my team were welcoming and efficient. Unfortunately we no longer accept pets and I hope this did not cause too much inconvenience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corbridge, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed for one night at the Skene Whitehall in Aberdeen and found it very comfortable. My room was actually two bedrooms, a bathroom and a living room with a small kitchen. I paid £130 for a Monday night.

The apartment was spotlessly clean, warm and quiet. The Skene Whitehall is a bit more off the beaten track than the other two Skene places but you are still only five minutes’ walk from Union Street. If you want to get round the city by bus then you are about three minutes walk from a very frequent service into town (or, going the other way, to the hospital).

What I like about the Skene hotels is that you have complete flexibility, with a few of the practicalities of home thrown in. If you don’t want to eat out, then you can just chuck something in the microwave or oven and eat in your room. There’s an honour bar by reception and your first drink is free. Wireless internet works fine and the price includes a very good continental breakfast.

I have stayed at all three Skene hotels and would happily recommend any of them. The service is consistently good. Some apartments are newer than others but they all seem to be well maintained, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AA_Corbridge_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
As a regular guest at Skene House your feedback is greatly appreciated; it is lovely to read that our staff’s commitment is recognised, they are our greatest asset and will be delighted to read your review. We look forward to your next stay.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 65 in Aberdeen
742 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,990 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Property: Skene House Whitehall
Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#3 Best Value Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Whitehall is the best of both worlds - it's a city centre location with a residential feel. Its only 7 minutes walk to the top end of Union Street, fewer than that to the West End boutiques of Rose and Thistle Street, yet benefits from a more relaxed atmosphere due to its private gardens and proximity to the neighbourhood of Rosemount where delicatessens, friendly pubs, cafes and Sainsbury's are within 5 minutes walk. Whitehall's 49, studio and 1-3 bedroom apartments offer business and leisure travelers a range of eclectic interiors providing a homely feel for short or long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing