We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rooms and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Skene House Whitehall
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
St Brelade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent rooms and helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was our first time visiting Scotland and after a stressful day of delays and travelling, Skene House was a wonderful end to the day. The room, which was more like an apartment, was spacious, bright and homely and served our needs perfectly. The free drink was a lovely touch and the staff could not have been more helpful in helping us and accommodating our needs. Would not hesitate to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skene H, Guest Relations Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing and recommending Skene House Whitehall on TripAdvisor.

After a long day of travelling our relaxing lounge and honour bar provide the best space in which to relax into 'holiday mode'!

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Scotland and we look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House Whitehall.

Kind Regards

Rosalind McClure
Guest Relations
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    124
    32
    5
    1
See reviews for
168
287
30
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

A really nice hotel. It is well located for Union street - a 5 minute walk away which was convenient for the restaurants but away from potential noise. It was also convenient for buses to the Robert Gordon Uni campus.
I unexpectedly had a suite including a lounge and a kitchenette which I didn't use but it was nice to have the option.
The room was clean and light and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The lady on reception in the evenings was particularly helpful giving me advice on bus numbers, directions and restaurant recommendations.
Just to note that one thing that often bugs me in hotels is having bath towels that are tiny, so it was nice to have lovely large ones.
My only issue (and this was not a huge deal) was that I was at the top of one of the buildings which was a long walk up stairs after 3 long days!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachellouiseturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skene H, Guest Relations Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review and recommend Skene House Whitehall.

I was delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations and I will ensure that your comments are extended to the team who made your stay such a pleasurable experience.

Thank you for highlighting the fact there is no lift in our building and we take this opportunity to encourage guests to call us ahead of their arrival if they require a suite on a lower floor or one that is easily accessible without a lift.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House Whitehall

With Kind Regards

Rosalind McClure
Guest Relations
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This was the third time of staying at The Skene House in Whitehall. We were not disappointed with any aspect of our stay. The welcome was warm as was our suite to which we were upgraded. The kitchen facilities are adequate should you wish to prepare a meal or just chill a bottle or two in the fridge for a pre dinner drink.

Our room was very comfortable with plentiful storage space. the bed was nice and firm with good quality bedding. Overall this place is excellent value for money.

Breakfast was plentiful and of the highest standard. if you prefer a full Scottish breakfast as opposed to continental style, then this can be ordered for a nominal surcharge.

In our opinion, it is the staff who really make a difference at Skene House, nothing is too much trouble for them. Special thanks go to Lindsay and Edyta who exceeded our customer service expectations.......Well Done, you guys really made the difference, thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skene H, Guest Relations Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing and recommending Skene House Whitehall on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that we have consistently exceeded your expectations and your kind words about Lindsay and Edyta have been passed to them.

On behalf of the team at Skene House Whitehall, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards

Rosalind McClure
Guest Relations
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I can see why this establishment has won awards, it must surely offer the best value in the Granite City. The reception and staf fmember was very helpful. The suite was more spacious that we expected and very well appointed although we were only there for an overnight stop.
The Buffet Breakfast was plentiful and even although the staff were busy, they were very
attentive and helpful.
The free Wifi and parking was an added bonus , we intend to make Skene House our regular stop now on trips to Aberdeen.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feerie_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skene H, Guest Relations Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Skene House Whitehall and for recommending our hotel to other travellers.

I am delighted to read that we exceeded your expectations in terms of value for money, customer service and amenities. We do our best to listen to the needs of the guest and being a local independent family run hotel means that we are flexible enough to adapt our service offering accordingly, hence our guests have access to free WIFI throughout the hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Rosalind McClure
Guest Relations
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Found this accommodation to be excellent. Check in was quick and staff customer service was very good. The apartment was very spacious and had everything you could want from a hotel. There was an added bonus of a free drink to all guests which we were not expecting. Situated within walking distance of the shopping centers and bars. Breakfast was included which was continental but a hot breakfast was available at a charge. Plenty of variety and good standard of food. Would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone visiting Aberdeen

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skene H, Guest Relations Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review of Skene House Whitehall.

I am delighted to read that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your complimentary welcome drink from the honour bar and the variety on offer during the continental buffet breakfast. The team aim to provide an efficient yet personalised service and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you for recommending us to other travellers.

With Kind Regards

Rosalind McClure
Guest Relations
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

This is an excellent choice for those who prefer their own unit with kitchen and lounge and separate bedroom only 10 minutes walk from the centre of town. The staff were welcoming and we walked to our room along the terrace of what was a series of flats or houses with good free parking at the rear. Free wi fi worked well and the breakfast though continental had plenty of choice. An excellent alternative to the bog standard hotel at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: We were given a suite with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. We could have shared with our friends and sav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skene H, Guest Relations Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing Skene House Whitehall on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate the time it takes for our guests to recommend our services and facilities to other travellers.

We are delighted to read that you rated our services as excellent value for money and conveniently located to the centre of town, and that you enjoyed the varied breakfast selection on offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House Whitehall very soon.

Kind Regards

Rosalind McClure
Guest Relations
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We have stayed in this hotel 5 times and it is excellet. It is done to a very high standard. They even remembered my birtday with a bottle of champagne. The receptionists are very wellcoming, professional and helpfull. Breakfast is excellent. We have booked to come again. Excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyinred222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skene H, Guest Relations Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thanks for reviewing and recommending Skene House Whitehall on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your birthday celebrations with us;we always aim to make our guests feel special and as a loyal guest we couldn't let your birthday pass by without a special surprise from the team.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind Regards

Rosalind McClure
Guest Relations
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Property: Skene House Whitehall
Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Whitehall is the best of both worlds - it's a city centre location with a residential feel. Its only 7 minutes walk to the top end of Union Street, fewer than that to the West End boutiques of Rose and Thistle Street, yet benefits from a more relaxed atmosphere due to its private gardens and proximity to the neighbourhood of Rosemount where delicatessens, friendly pubs, cafes and Sainsbury's are within 5 minutes walk. Whitehall's 49, studio and 1-3 bedroom apartments offer business and leisure travelers a range of eclectic interiors providing a homely feel for short or long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing