We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gigantic suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Skene House Whitehall
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The suite had two bedrooms and bathrooms, a kitchen, dining room, and living room. it was way more than i needed as a single traveler here on business. Speaking of, the wifi only worked in the living room, not in the bedroom, which i suppose is the downside of a gigantic suite. i appreciated the free coffee/tea always available in the sitting room and also the free printing which came in handy for a meeting i had. It's a great value for families. note that there's no elevator so if you are staying on the third floor get ready for some exercise.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Skene House Whitehall. We are very sorry that you had issues connecting to the wifi. Our wifi signal is typically reliable, strong and available in all rooms.

We are so fortunate to have a spacious guest lounge with tea and coffee available 24 hours a day and the guest computer and printer is very useful for many guests. I am gald you had an opportunity to benefit from this service.

Being located in traditional granite buildings we do not have elevators, but we have a 24 hours concierge service, always happy to help with bags etc.

I hope if you return to Aberdeen you will choose to stay at Skene House Whitehall again.

Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (718)
There are newer reviews for Skene House Whitehall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

This property worked well for us. We were conveniently located within the centre of town, and were within walking distance to loads of shopping, restaurants and other sites. The front desk staff were professional, helpful and accommodating. We have a toddler, so the separate living area was fabulous, plus the kitchenette kept all food, restaurant leftovers, etc. The rooms was immaculate and well laid out for us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orlandogal307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Whitehall and taking the time to leave such a lovely review. As you have mentioned serviced accommodation is a much more comfortable option the traditional hotel rooms and ideal if you are travelling with children.

Our staff pride themselves in providing the very best customer service and we are delighted you had an opportunity to experience this.

Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Perfect for any length of stay, we had great service from all members of staff. The apartment was spotless and very well furnished, it had all we needed and more, we were upgraded. There is plenty of parking and for Aberdeen that is a bonus, central location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mgt17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Skene House Whitehall. It was lovely to read that our staff provided the great customer service we are reputed for. We have a wide range of suites available and it was our pleasure to be able to upgrade your suite on this occasion. As you have mentioned, we are very fortunate to have 2 private car parks, offering free parking in the heart of the city centre and we hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Second stay here. Fantastic value at the weekend. Good breakfast and clean, comfortable apartment. Bit of noise from outdoor smoking area at back disturbed us during night. Otherwise, very good place to stay. Staff all helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Rooms above the outdoor smoking area can be a bit noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinlithgowGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your most recent stay at Skene House Whitehall. I am delighted to read that you found our staff polite and helpful, they do pride themselves in delivering the best Customer Service possible.

I do apologise for the noise you faced from the smoking area, our night staff carry our regular patrols and try to contain noise wherever possible and I am sorry you were disturbed.
I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The Skene is worthy of its number one position on trip advisor. We arrived after a long day of travel and couldn't have found a more friendly or helpful person than Luke at reception. He provided first class, professional and friendly service that made us feel welcome. The apartment was roomy, comfortable and very clean. It is a short walk into the CBD passing the Wallace statue on the way. Our stay will be remembered long after the holiday is over and we would recommend Skene House to any traveller visiting Aberdeen.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gipsiduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

It is always a pleasure to read that our guests have had an enjoyable stay and taken the time to leave a review. Luke will be delighted to have had a personal mention. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Scotland.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

This is a 3-4 rating for my opinion. But as usual I am will not give higher rating that easily. If I were to travel with family. This hotel will be one of my top choices. And I would recommend families to look at this place as a very good option.

My experience- Moved out from another hotel(which was in my last review) due to booking made by my agent to stay at Skene House Whitehall. Stayed here for few nights. This is a nice hotel with spacious rooms. I consider this more as an apartment hotel. I have a room with an office attached with a working printer! Place is clean. Unfortunately for a apartment type room I was expecting a washing machine in the apartment - not the case. It was during my stay only available washing machine was on the opposite building. And the laundry room and the machine could have been much more cleaner(or newer). This is one of the things their management might need to look into.
The kitchen in my place was slightly small as I need to close the kitchen door to open the refrigerator. Not an issue as such but a bit of an inconvinient. Toilet was a bit tight for space too.
Living room and bedroom was nice sized. TV was only in the living room.
Overall a nice place to stay. If you need the extra space or if you are travelling with family, I would consider this place.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank IsRazak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Owner at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. I am glad you appreciated the complimentary upgrade you were given into our Home Office Suite. As you noted the workspace includes a printer which is useful for those wishing to work whilst staying with us. We offer a wide variety of suites, some of which do include washing machines within them, as we realise that a communal laundry room is not to everyone’s taste.

As your review mentions, we do offer more space than a traditional hotel room, and we hope you will consider staying with us again should you return to Aberdeen.

Kind Regards
Karen Barbour
Manager - Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Not so far from the station that we could not walk, but not ideal location for shops and restaurants.
ALL staff were friendly and well trained.
We were taken through several doors and across the car park to a ground floor "flat" with a double and single room. Very clean and well decorated.Good kitchen and bathroom.Unfortunately the heating and towel rail timer must have been set badly and they never came back on in the morning.
The mattress and pillows were not of a high standard however, which was a great pity.
The first drink in the well stocked locked honesty bar (near reception)is on the house, how good is that!
The breakfast room is very attractive and food and service fine.
I would return.

Room Tip: Some ground floor, some beside car park, ask for what you need.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to read that you found all our staff to be friendly; they pride themselves on providing excellent customer service.

Once again we apologise for the issue with the towel rail in your suite, unfortunately maintenance issues do occur from time to time, but we thank you for reporting this during your stay. Our maintenance team have now attended and resolved.

We hope you will return on your next visit to Aberdeen.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager - Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 65 in Aberdeen
755 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
3.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Skene House Holburn
Skene House Holburn
#16 of 65 in Aberdeen
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £60 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Whitehall is the best of both worlds - it's a city centre location with a residential feel. Its only 7 minutes walk to the top end of Union Street, fewer than that to the West End boutiques of Rose and Thistle Street, yet benefits from a more relaxed atmosphere due to its private gardens and proximity to the neighbourhood of Rosemount where delicatessens, friendly pubs, cafes and Sainsbury's are within 5 minutes walk. Whitehall's 49, studio and 1-3 bedroom apartments offer business and leisure travelers a range of eclectic interiors providing a homely feel for short or long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing