We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and good value in Aberdeen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Skene House Whitehall
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely and good value in Aberdeen”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We booked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews, and were right to do so.

We booked a suite which included a double room/bathroom, plus lounge and kitchen for the same price as we could get standard hotel rooms in other places in the city - we were only there 2 nights but it was great to have a bit more space, it made it feel more homely.

The staff were great and Lindsay on reception was extremely friendly and helpful (i asked a lot of questions!), and the continental breakfast included was lovely with a great choice. There was a nice communcal lounge next to reception with an honesty bar, which was through a 'hidden' door and felt like an adventure.

The 'negative' I could come up with was that the decor of the room was slightly outdated, and the door bell to the apartment block was loud, but it was in good condition and very clean - and i'd much rather that it was clean, everything worked, and was good value as it was in Skene House, than being in a trendy new, more expensive hotel, that might not take the same care over maintenance.

Summary - if going to Aberdeen, stay here! Thank you to the hotel for helping us to have a lovely trip to the city :o)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damonseyes23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
I was delighted to read that you chose to stay with us based on our Trip Advisor reviews and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Serviced accommodation is a much more comfortable and spacious option in comparison to a traditional hotel room, allowing guests a “home from home” experience.

Our staff pride themselves on providing excellent customer service and both Lindsay and the housekeeping team will be pleased to read that they rated them so highly.

We hope that you will choose to return to Aberdeen again in the future and that you will return to Skene House.

Regards
Beverley Graham
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    127
    34
    5
    1
See reviews for
169
292
31
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of our Scotland trip.
Pros:
Free parking
Friendly staff
Lovely breakfast and they do Gluten Free toast/bagels which is awesome!
Free coffee and tea in the communal lounge area
Complimentary drink from the bar area
Easy walk to main street for pubs/shops
Cons:
If I was being picky it was that the bathroom was quite small and the pillows weren't really comfortable for me.

Would definitely stay here - the main receptionist was great and let us check in early which was very much appreciated. Overall would recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitraveller1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. Guest feedback is an important tool for improving the service we provide.

I am glad you had the opportunity to enjoy our breakfast offering; our continental breakfast provides an excellent selection and we always try to accommodate dietary requirements specified by our guests where possible.

It is always a pleasure to read that our guests would recommend us to others, and we hope to welcome you back to Skene House should you return to Aberdeen.

Many Thanks
Beverley Graham
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Victoria Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

After several weeks on the road this was a great place for a few days - our one bedroom spacious apartment came with washer/ dryer, microwave and cooker. We could really relax in the evening with some ready meals bought at the handy supermarket rather than eat out again! Although our room was on the third floor there is staff available to assist with luggage to rooms. The ground floor lounge with tea, coffee and bar was a nice place to sit and chat with others or play one of the provided games.
The continental breakfast was generous and the range offered wide, including beautiful fresh fruit and locally made bread and pastries. Will stay again when in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of Skene House Whitehall.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with the facilities in your suite. I am sure you will agree staying in a suite is much more comfortable than staying in a hotel room, you really have the best of both worlds. Space to relax with all the facilities of a hotel.

Our suites are located in traditional granite buildings and therefore we do not have an elevators, but we do have staff available 24 hours a day always happy to help with luggage.

Customer feedback on Trip Advisor is very valuable for both accommodation providers are travellers and I am grateful that you have taken the time to post this review. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Very quiet in hectic city. A walk to shopping. There really are not tourist sites in Aberdeen other than the museum so you will need transportation. Extremely large studio. Nicely equipped kitchen. Breakfast very nice. Our bed was horrible. Too bad or it would earn a nearly perfect score.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wondering77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Skene House Whitehall. First and foremost I would like to apologise that you found the bed in your suite uncomfortable, I thank you for bring this to my attention and as a result of your information, this mattress has now been replaced.

I am glad that despite this you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you will choose to stay with us again, if you have the opportunity to return to Aberdeen.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here after a night out with friends - we don't stay locally but didn't want to hike up the cost of our evening out too much. We stayed in a studio suite which had a double bedroom, bathroom and a lounge kitchen. Very clean and comfortable, brilliant staff who sorted out the minor problems we had speedily and courteously. It was a restful stay with a lovely breakfast at a very competitive price. I would recommend this to anyone. One slight niggle was that there was no instructions for heating, light switches etc which is a minor point and didn't really detract from our stay.

Room Tip: Smaller suites are up several flights of stairs so if you find stairs difficult let them know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us.

As you have mentioned, our accommodation is a fantastic alternative to a traditional hotel room; our studio suites are the perfect size for a short stay. I am pleased to see that our staff dealt with issues you incurred to your satisfaction, and I apologise that the in-suite directory providing instructions was not available for your use.

I hope you will choose to stay with us again, please check our website for our latest special offers.

Kind Regards
Beverley Graham
Assistant Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, Maine
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was a great base for our stay in Aberdeen. We were two couples and shared a two bedroom suite. The front desk people were very helpful in giving us driving directions to Balmoral Castle, picking restaurants in Aberdeen, and introducing us to the hotel's facilities. The rooms were spacious, well maintained, and clean. Free parking and wi fi were nice. I would gladly recommend this location for anyone staying in Aberdeen.

Room Tip: We asked for a ground floor because one of our party was having trouble with stairs and they were ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Touchstone04576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
It was fantastic to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff pleasant and accommodating. We are always happy to give advice and provide directions. We are pleased that we are able to offer our guests free car parking, as often this is a chargeable extra in city centre accommodation.

I hope that you will choose to return to Skene House Whitehall on your next trip to Aberdeen.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The staff are the best i have come across in a long time. They are freindly , helpfull and willing to phone around to help out with requests.Room was very nice and quiet. A good thing was that you could open the windows for fresh air weather permiting. I was a single traveler from Australia on work training so it was a nice experiance so far from home.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for affording the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you rated our staff so highly; they pride themselves on delivering the very best customer service.

We are very fortunate to have such a quiet location so close to all the amenities Aberdeen has to offer.

We hope you have an opportunity to return to Aberdeen in the future, and you choose to stay with us.

Kind Regards
Beverley Graham
Assistant Manager - Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Property: Skene House Whitehall
Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Whitehall is the best of both worlds - it's a city centre location with a residential feel. Its only 7 minutes walk to the top end of Union Street, fewer than that to the West End boutiques of Rose and Thistle Street, yet benefits from a more relaxed atmosphere due to its private gardens and proximity to the neighbourhood of Rosemount where delicatessens, friendly pubs, cafes and Sainsbury's are within 5 minutes walk. Whitehall's 49, studio and 1-3 bedroom apartments offer business and leisure travelers a range of eclectic interiors providing a homely feel for short or long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing