We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious apartments, much better value than a hotel room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Skene House Whitehall
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Spacious apartments, much better value than a hotel room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Lovely homely and spacious two bedroomed apartment with separate lounge and closed off kitchenette, for the same price as a cramped hotel room! The kitchen was spotless and well equipped, and as there is a table in the living room we chose to eat in rather than try to find a restaurant on a Sunday night (there's a small Sainsbury's round the corner). The staff are all very efficient and friendly. As mentioned in other reviews there is no lift, but this is not a difficulty as your bags will be carried to your room. Also liked the fact that it seems to be a collection of apartment blocks, so there are separate front doors rather than having to always go through the main reception area. Only a short walk from the main shopping street but in a quiet area, so perfect location. Unfortunately it was a short stay so we weren't able to make use of the breakfast, honesty bar or outdoor seating area, so can't comment on those. We will definitely be returning (hopefully for longer next time). I would not choose anywhere else in Aberdeen now.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillG767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for affording the time to leave such a lovely review of your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you found us a fantastic alternative to traditional hotel accommodation. As you mention it is convenient to have the additional space and the option to cook within your suite instead of going out in the evening, for the same cost as a room within a hotel.

Our city centre location means that we are within a quiet area and able to offer private gardens and complimentary onsite parking, whilst being within walking distance of local amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House Whitehall in the future and hope your stay will allow you the opportunity to enjoy all the facilities we have to offer.

Kind Regards

Beverley Graham
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    124
    32
    5
    1
See reviews for
168
287
30
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portrush
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just about to leave Skene House after a 3 day stay here are the pros and cons

Pros

The staff are excellent, nothing too much trouble, very helpful some of the best hotel staff I have encountered.
The apartment I had was very clean.
Free Wi Fi
Good breakfast
Free Parking and good location.

Now the cons are down to my own personal preferences and may not effect anyone else

Cons
Would have liked 2 bathrooms for 2 bedroom apartment.
Tv in the bedroom would be nice.

Would I stay again if in Aberdeen the answer would be yes , great value for money would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. Our staff pride themselves on providing excellent customer service so they will all be pleased to read that you rated them as some of the best you have encountered.

As your review mentions our 2 bedroom suites have only one bathroom, however we have larger three bedroom suites which have two bathrooms, including walk-in shower in one bathroom and over-shower baths in the other.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Skene House in the future. Please check our website for the latest offers and availability.

Kind Regards

Beverley Graham
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Cannot find any fault at all at Skene House Whitehall, amazing staff, beautiful suite which has a loving and homely feel, the suite itself was very well equipped with everything you could ever need.

The location is amazing, 5 minutes into the City Centre and very easy to find.

The staff really made my experience wonderful and the complimentary upgrade was very much appreciated as the space was excellent,the suite had 3 bathrooms including showers so all the girls could get ready individually without having to wait for a bathroom.

The cooked breakfast was to die for, cooked to order with very efficient staff in the breakfast room.

Free wifi, free drink, free laundry room and no hidden charges.

Thank you all so very much for making my experience the best and keep up the hard work because you should all be so proud of all the work you do.

Lindsay

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lindzzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of Skene House Whitehall. We have a wide range of suites, including spacious duplex suites with three bedrooms and bathrooms and I am delighted that you liked the suite that was chosen for you.

As you have mentioned we benefit from an ideal location central yet quiet. We are very fortunate to have a breakfast room serving continental breakfast along with an a la carte cooked menu for a small additional charge.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Skene house in Whitehall is just a 5 minute walk to Union Street (Aberdeen's main street). There is a small parking lot on site but unfortunately it fills early (it's ok to leave the car at night on the curb). The staff was extremely nice and helpful. We had one of the small apartments (1 bedroom plus living area), it was a top floor attic, so it got a lot of sunshine which made it quite warm and little ventilation made it feel stuffy at times. When we checked in we were offered help from the concierge to carry our bags but since we had small wheelies we declined, big mistake, it was located on the third floor, without a lift. The apartment was very spacious, with a very comfortable bed and nice bathroom. The breakfast was very good and complete, plus they provided coffee, tea, and milk inside the apartment. The only inconvenient is the lack of ventilation at the top floor, but would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juli99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Whitehall and taking the time to leave a review. I was delighted to read that you found our staff helpful and would choose to stay with us again. Being located in traditional Granite buildings, we do not have the option to provide elevators, but as you mentioned we have staff available 24 hours a day to assist with luggage.

Hopefully you will have an opportunity to visit Scotland and Aberdeen again in the furture and we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here as a family as we were celebrating graduation time.

The appartment was lovelly, spacious and clean. The concierge was very welcoming and showed us round to the parking and the flat.

Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice (including gluten free) and Emma was a fab member of staff.

Luke on reception couldn't do enough for us.

We'll be back. Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable, I also found your rates good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ganhame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene Whitehall and taking the time to leave a review. We have had a wonderful week watching all the students heading off for their Graduations.
We have an amazing team of staff here and they will be delighted to read your review, especially Luke and Emma.

Lovely to read that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet we have various gulten free options available, something to cater for everyone.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

After traveling for week we needed to spread out and wash laundry! We loved the living room and fresh white linens on bed. The showers were energy savers and not so easy or comfortable. However that was the only frustrating item. We enjoyed the kitchen, living room, lounge area and breakfast. Although there are $$ passes to a workout center, we missed having that available onsite. The breakfast was continental, but we were able to special order also. We mainly spent most days traveling, so this offered a relaxing evening, with plenty of room for everyone.

Room Tip: There are no lifts (elevators), so if you have lots of luggage, try for lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingfamoffive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Whitehall during your travels. Our free guest laundry is a great facility. I apologise that you did not find the showers easy to use or comfortable, we have many suite types available and if you choose to stay with us again I am sure we can find something more suitable.

Please check our website for the latest special offers.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Such a nice place and we had a great stay. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, concierge took us to our apartment, and we were amazed at the size of it. It was a big two bedroom flat with separate kitchen, living room, bathroom and plenty of cupboard space. They even left a pint of milk in the fridge for us. Considering a room in the nearby Holiday Inn is the same price, I think we got excellent value for money. The apartment was spotless and regularly cleaned. It was lovely and quiet during the night so we got a great sleep which is unusual in the city centre of Aberdeen. Guests get a complimentary drink on arrival from an honesty bar which is hidden off the guest's lounge. There's complimentary shortbread too. The apartments have free wifi which was hassle free to connect to. The gardens and parking area are well maintained and there's CCTV too. Unfortunately we couldn't use the chairs and tables to sit in the garden due to the rain, but it would be lovely in nice weather. The breakfasts were amazing - every thing you could ask for. There was a buffet set out which you could help yourself to, or for a small supplement you could have a cooked breakfast. We had this one of the days and it was nice. Our stay was faultless and I'd highly recommend Skene House Whitehall to anyone. Will definitely return soon. Great place and excellent value for money.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JWellingtonWimpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review of Skene House Whitehall. Our staff take great pride in delivering the very best customer service and they will delighted to read your review.

It’s the little touches like fresh milk in the fridge, complimentary tea, coffee and shortbread and of course the welcome drink from the Honour Bar that make all the difference to your stay. We are indeed very fortunate to benefit from quiet, private gardens and hopefully you will be able to
enjoy them on your next stay.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Property: Skene House Whitehall
Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Whitehall is the best of both worlds - it's a city centre location with a residential feel. Its only 7 minutes walk to the top end of Union Street, fewer than that to the West End boutiques of Rose and Thistle Street, yet benefits from a more relaxed atmosphere due to its private gardens and proximity to the neighbourhood of Rosemount where delicatessens, friendly pubs, cafes and Sainsbury's are within 5 minutes walk. Whitehall's 49, studio and 1-3 bedroom apartments offer business and leisure travelers a range of eclectic interiors providing a homely feel for short or long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing