We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Way To End A Romantic Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skene House Whitehall
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was the last stop on our three day surprise anniversary trip to Scotland and it had to be the best. We stayed in a lovely place.in both Edinburgh and Loch Ness, so the pressure was on to wrap up our trip on a high and the Skene did just that.

My wife was impressed when we were escorted to our room by the concierge service who did an excellent job. The rooms were very nice and very spacious to include a full kitchen, living room and a very nice bathroom. But the highlight was the breakfast bar with assorted fresh fruit and baked goods. The decorum was tastefully done and very relaxing.

Lindsey and the crew did and outstanding job in making sure we had the best Scotland trip ever. No doubt we will be back

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Coopdeeloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Skene House Whitehall. I am delighted that we could play a small part in your anniversary celebrations. Small touches like 24 hour reception and concierge service are so important and I am delighted that my staff provided the excellent customer service we are reputed for, they will all be delighted to read your review.

I hope you have a chance to return to Scotland and we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed in the Skene Apartments for 3 nights on our annual return to Aberdeen. The apartment was a large 2 bedroom on the 2nd floor with a huge living room and kitchen.

From our arrival and throughout our stay we were treated with nothing but courtesy by very professional and friendly staff, from reception to check out we simply couldn't fault the level of service we received.

Located 5 mins from Union Street, the main street in Aberdeen, the apartments were ideally situated for shopping and access to restaurants and bars, neither of which are in short supply.

The only reason for a 4 star review was a persistent smell of dirty drains that we highlighted to reception shortly after our arrival. Staff did arrive and sprayed air freshener throughout, though this merely masked the smell briefly. No attempt was made to find the source of the smell or address it.

Otherwise a great visit and superb alternative to the hugely expensive hotel market in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank markcjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Whitehall and taking the time to leave such a lovely review. Our staff strive to deliver the best customer service possible and they will be delighted to read your review.

I would also like to thank you for bringing the maintenance issue to our attention, we had an unfortunate situation with an external collapsed drain and the actual fault took some time to pin point and I apologise that you were not made aware of this.

I hope that you will choose to stay with us again, should you return to Aberdeen.

Regards
Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The room we had was excellent value for money ideally located in the centre of Aberdeen. The hotel is a 10minute walk from union street in a lovely quiet residential area. The room we had included kitchen, bathroom, living room a double bedroom and single bedroom, unbelievable value. There is secure on site parking also. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Clark86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

It is always a pleasure to read that guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We are very fortunate to have a lovely quiet location within the city centre, including private gardens and parking.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Booked a last minute stay here, we had a two room executive suite. Room was very clean, parking was very good as we were parked just a few meters from the entrance to our suite. We took our own travel cot although the hotel can provide these but we did request a high chair, unlike a lot of others the chair we had in the room and also in the breakfast room were very, very clean and not at all grubby.
We were not aware however that the hotel can provide a bottle warmer, steriliser and baby spoons and bowls until we arrived, we were also offered these at breakfast the next day, although a lot of people would prefer their own but to know the hotel can provide these is just an extra bonus if you forget something. The double bedroom had plenty of space for the travel cot next to the bed, the kitchen was small and compact but had everything we needed to have a take-away and wash, sterilise and make up the bottles for the next day.

We found the room warm but it was a very hot weekend in the middle of summer, we called reception to see if they had a spare fan and one was delivered to the room 10 mins later.

We were also entitled to a free drink from the bar, this was a nice touch.

Location was brilliant not far from the Bon Accord centre or the retail parks either.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of Skene House Whitehall. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you have mentioned we are a very family friendly option and we can provide many extras to make your stay more comfortable.
We pride ourselves in delivering the best customer service possible and I am delighted that you had an opportunity to experience this and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at Skene House Whitehall on Saturday 19th July 2014 and we couldn't have had a better stay. The suites are brilliantly equiped, tea and coffee and our own little carton of 'proper' milk! We even had a complimentary drink in the hotel before we headed out and the breakfast was lovely! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Owner at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review of Skene House Whitehall. It’s the little touches like fresh milk in the fridge, complimentary tea, coffee and shortbread and of course the welcome drink from the Honour Bar that make all the difference to your stay.

I am delighted that you would chose to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager - Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Was in Aberdeen for two nights in July and stayed at Skene House Whitehall. Got a quiet room at the back on the 1st floor which was clean and spacious. Single and double bedrooms, living room, kitchen and bathroom. Nice soap and shampoo in the small bathroom. Good to have a fridge and stove. Very welcoming front desk and lovely seating area with tea, coffee or a complimentary drink. Wonderful continental breakfast with great variety. Large parking lot which is a great benefit in a city. Close to Union Street and the main shops. Recommend this hotel especially if you are traveling with family.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbieM1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with the facilities in your suite. I am sure you will agree staying in a suite is much more comfortable than staying in a hotel room, you really have the best of both worlds. Space to relax with all the facilities of a hotel.


Customer feedback on Trip Advisor is very valuable for both accommodation providers are travellers and I am grateful that you have taken the time to post this review. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager - Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel was extremely roomy and clean. The only problem was the parking lot was really hard to get to. It was convenient to restaurants and the main street in Aberdeen. The staff were very friendly and helpful which also made the stay in Aberdeen fun.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tym K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

I would like to thank you for choosing Skene House Whitehall and for taking the time to leave a review. I am delighted to read that you found our accommodation roomy and clean and found our staff friendly and helpful; they all take great pride in their work.

I hope you will have an opportunity to return and stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager - Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#6 of 65 in Aberdeen
761 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
2.3 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,257 reviews
6 mi away
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West
0.4 mi away
Skene House Holburn
Skene House Holburn
#18 of 65 in Aberdeen
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £300 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Whitehall is the best of both worlds - it's a city centre location with a residential feel. Its only 7 minutes walk to the top end of Union Street, fewer than that to the West End boutiques of Rose and Thistle Street, yet benefits from a more relaxed atmosphere due to its private gardens and proximity to the neighbourhood of Rosemount where delicatessens, friendly pubs, cafes and Sainsbury's are within 5 minutes walk. Whitehall's 49, studio and 1-3 bedroom apartments offer business and leisure travelers a range of eclectic interiors providing a homely feel for short or long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing