We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yes, it is that good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skene House Whitehall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Skene House Whitehall
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Yes, it is that good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Expected a lot after reading the reviews of this set of suites and we were not disappointed in any way. Looks recently refurbished or exceptionally well looked after and provides a much better option than a hotel room. Staff were helpful and polite. Can't ever see myself staying anywhere else in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foxton_russian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am delighted that we lived up to your expectations. It’s lovely to read that we would be your first choice in Aberdeen and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    123
    31
    5
    1
See reviews for
166
286
30
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have stayed at all three locations of the Skene House in Aberdeen over the years and have never been disappointed. Comfortable, clean accommodations, and marvelous staff. They can't do enough for you. Delicious food and love the drinks in the lounge in the evening. Free on-site laundry services for longer stays. We look forward to coming to Aberdeen just to stay at Skene House.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marion5230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
What a delight to read your review and thank you for choosing to stay with us again. Our staff pride themselves in delivering excellent customer service and I am pleased you have had an opportunity to experience this. Our free on site laundry is a great facility especially for guests who have been travelling.

Please check our website for the latest special offers and I am sure there will be something there to tempt you back to stay with us.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Got the most fantastic deal off of Skene House own web page and booked a 1 bedroom for 5 nights.
Arrived late and went into the nice lounge for a lovely bottle of Scottish Dark Beer and G+T for wife as our 3 bags were delivered to our room. Lovely piece of service.
Having the bar area secured behind a nice false door is fantastic.
Good sized rooms with quality double glazing and wonderful beding.
Very quiet rooms with no noise.
Kitchen was full of all the usual tools and a fresh pint of milk was delivered each day. Another nice touch.
Bathroom had a fabulous powerful shower and throughout the apartment all the soaps and condiments were from Scottish suppliers, which is a nice touch.
Continental breakfast was once again a show case for Scottish goods (apart from the marmalade and jams, which I hope will be Scottish sourced soon).
The Famous Aberdeen "Rowie" was available but perhaps some information could be supplied so that visitors understand what it is.
Hotel provides,
FREE Coffee and Shortcakes.
FREE WiFi
FREE Laundry + Powder
FREE First Drink at Bar

Overall the Skene in Whitehall is a bench mark in quality and service. Good work by all.

Room Tip: Use Skene House own web page to book accom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaunScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of Skene House Whitehall. We are very fortunate to have a great team of staff and it’s lovely to read that you consider us a bench mark in quality and service. As you have mentioned it is the little touches such 24 hour service, fresh milk delivery daily that can make all the difference to your stay.

I hope if you return to Aberdeen you will chose to stay at Skene House Whitehall.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stopped only for one night in Aberdeen but I'd definitely recommend for a long stay. The studio flat was brilliant, the staff very patient storing my bicycle and generally very friendly. In sum, very good value for the money spent!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mingo_lucaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
It is always a pleasure to read that guest have enjoyed their stay with us. We have a great team of staff, always happy to help and I am glad you had an opportunity to experience their great customer service. Thank you for your recommendation, feedback is very valuable for us and other prospective travellers.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This was the second time in a year that we stayed at Skene - Whitehall. it is very central, has secure parking and the three bedroom apartments are huge. The staff are great and very efficient.

My only real complaint is that they are starting to look tired and dated. the carpets throughout are now worn and the whole place just needs a refresh.

The continental breakfast is cracking but not worth the extra for the cooked breakfast.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank renniealdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to return to Skene House Whitehall and taking the time to leave a review. We are very fortunate to have a wide range of suites type and as you have mentioned the three bedroom suites are very spacious and comfortable. The team will be delighted to read your review and your comments regarding the continental breakfast are very much appreciated.

Thank you for the feedback regarding your suite, we do have a refurbishment program in place and your allocated suite is scheduled for later this year.

Hopefully when you return to Aberdeen you will choose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was the last stop on our three day surprise anniversary trip to Scotland and it had to be the best. We stayed in a lovely place.in both Edinburgh and Loch Ness, so the pressure was on to wrap up our trip on a high and the Skene did just that.

My wife was impressed when we were escorted to our room by the concierge service who did an excellent job. The rooms were very nice and very spacious to include a full kitchen, living room and a very nice bathroom. But the highlight was the breakfast bar with assorted fresh fruit and baked goods. The decorum was tastefully done and very relaxing.

Lindsey and the crew did and outstanding job in making sure we had the best Scotland trip ever. No doubt we will be back

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coopdeeloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Skene House Whitehall. I am delighted that we could play a small part in your anniversary celebrations. Small touches like 24 hour reception and concierge service are so important and I am delighted that my staff provided the excellent customer service we are reputed for, they will all be delighted to read your review.

I hope you have a chance to return to Scotland and we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed in the Skene Apartments for 3 nights on our annual return to Aberdeen. The apartment was a large 2 bedroom on the 2nd floor with a huge living room and kitchen.

From our arrival and throughout our stay we were treated with nothing but courtesy by very professional and friendly staff, from reception to check out we simply couldn't fault the level of service we received.

Located 5 mins from Union Street, the main street in Aberdeen, the apartments were ideally situated for shopping and access to restaurants and bars, neither of which are in short supply.

The only reason for a 4 star review was a persistent smell of dirty drains that we highlighted to reception shortly after our arrival. Staff did arrive and sprayed air freshener throughout, though this merely masked the smell briefly. No attempt was made to find the source of the smell or address it.

Otherwise a great visit and superb alternative to the hugely expensive hotel market in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markcjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Whitehall and taking the time to leave such a lovely review. Our staff strive to deliver the best customer service possible and they will be delighted to read your review.

I would also like to thank you for bringing the maintenance issue to our attention, we had an unfortunate situation with an external collapsed drain and the actual fault took some time to pin point and I apologise that you were not made aware of this.

I hope that you will choose to stay with us again, should you return to Aberdeen.

Regards
Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Property: Skene House Whitehall
Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#5 Best Value Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Whitehall is the best of both worlds - it's a city centre location with a residential feel. Its only 7 minutes walk to the top end of Union Street, fewer than that to the West End boutiques of Rose and Thistle Street, yet benefits from a more relaxed atmosphere due to its private gardens and proximity to the neighbourhood of Rosemount where delicatessens, friendly pubs, cafes and Sainsbury's are within 5 minutes walk. Whitehall's 49, studio and 1-3 bedroom apartments offer business and leisure travelers a range of eclectic interiors providing a homely feel for short or long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing