We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skene House Whitehall
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Avoca Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We were given an upgrade to a ground floor two bedroom suite. This is the best place I have ever stayed. If my own home were as tastefully decorated and as well maintained, I would be proud. Everything has been thought of, the service is good, and the value is exceptional. There is no restaurant, and it's a few blocks walk to find one, but you could always use the immaculate little kitchen to prepare your own food.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fufan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Whitehall and taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I was delighted to read you consider us the best place you have ever stayed.

Our staff pride themselves in delivering the very best customer service and I am glad you had an opportunity to experience this.

Please check our website for our latest special offers and I am sure there will be something to tempt you back to stay with us again.

Regards
Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    124
    32
    5
    1
See reviews for
168
287
30
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Over the last few years I have stayed at each of the three Skene House establishments in Aberdeen. Mostly at Rosemount, but also at the others. This time I am back at Whitehall.
The set-up is much the same - there is a reception area on the street and the apartments are within adjacent/nearby traditional Aberdeen tenement buildings.

At Whitehall the staff were friendly and helpful (as is always the case at Skene House, I should say), there is a reasonably attractive lounge area with an honesty bar, and a breakfast room (with good breakfasts). My apartment was in what appeared to be a promisingly building, but was in fact a bit of a disappointment. It was all just too bland. A leaflet explained that Skene House was established in 1979 - 35 years ago. My apartment had clearly been fitted out and decorated somewhat more recently than that, but in a very out-dated style that lacked any oomph.

Ok for a couple of nights but it would be pretty depressing for a long stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aberphobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I am delighted that you chose to return to stay at Skene House. Our staff pride themselves in providing excellent customer service and I am glad you had an opportunity to experience this.

I am however disappointed that you found your suite bland and in need of an update. We have many different interior design schemes all in keeping with our traditional Granite buildings.

Should you chose to return in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me and I am sure we can find a suite to suit your taste.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour – Manager
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Expected a lot after reading the reviews of this set of suites and we were not disappointed in any way. Looks recently refurbished or exceptionally well looked after and provides a much better option than a hotel room. Staff were helpful and polite. Can't ever see myself staying anywhere else in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxton_russian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am delighted that we lived up to your expectations. It’s lovely to read that we would be your first choice in Aberdeen and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have stayed at all three locations of the Skene House in Aberdeen over the years and have never been disappointed. Comfortable, clean accommodations, and marvelous staff. They can't do enough for you. Delicious food and love the drinks in the lounge in the evening. Free on-site laundry services for longer stays. We look forward to coming to Aberdeen just to stay at Skene House.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marion5230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
What a delight to read your review and thank you for choosing to stay with us again. Our staff pride themselves in delivering excellent customer service and I am pleased you have had an opportunity to experience this. Our free on site laundry is a great facility especially for guests who have been travelling.

Please check our website for the latest special offers and I am sure there will be something there to tempt you back to stay with us.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Got the most fantastic deal off of Skene House own web page and booked a 1 bedroom for 5 nights.
Arrived late and went into the nice lounge for a lovely bottle of Scottish Dark Beer and G+T for wife as our 3 bags were delivered to our room. Lovely piece of service.
Having the bar area secured behind a nice false door is fantastic.
Good sized rooms with quality double glazing and wonderful beding.
Very quiet rooms with no noise.
Kitchen was full of all the usual tools and a fresh pint of milk was delivered each day. Another nice touch.
Bathroom had a fabulous powerful shower and throughout the apartment all the soaps and condiments were from Scottish suppliers, which is a nice touch.
Continental breakfast was once again a show case for Scottish goods (apart from the marmalade and jams, which I hope will be Scottish sourced soon).
The Famous Aberdeen "Rowie" was available but perhaps some information could be supplied so that visitors understand what it is.
Hotel provides,
FREE Coffee and Shortcakes.
FREE WiFi
FREE Laundry + Powder
FREE First Drink at Bar

Overall the Skene in Whitehall is a bench mark in quality and service. Good work by all.

Room Tip: Use Skene House own web page to book accom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaunScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of Skene House Whitehall. We are very fortunate to have a great team of staff and it’s lovely to read that you consider us a bench mark in quality and service. As you have mentioned it is the little touches such 24 hour service, fresh milk delivery daily that can make all the difference to your stay.

I hope if you return to Aberdeen you will chose to stay at Skene House Whitehall.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stopped only for one night in Aberdeen but I'd definitely recommend for a long stay. The studio flat was brilliant, the staff very patient storing my bicycle and generally very friendly. In sum, very good value for the money spent!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mingo_lucaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
It is always a pleasure to read that guest have enjoyed their stay with us. We have a great team of staff, always happy to help and I am glad you had an opportunity to experience their great customer service. Thank you for your recommendation, feedback is very valuable for us and other prospective travellers.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This was the second time in a year that we stayed at Skene - Whitehall. it is very central, has secure parking and the three bedroom apartments are huge. The staff are great and very efficient.

My only real complaint is that they are starting to look tired and dated. the carpets throughout are now worn and the whole place just needs a refresh.

The continental breakfast is cracking but not worth the extra for the cooked breakfast.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank renniealdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to return to Skene House Whitehall and taking the time to leave a review. We are very fortunate to have a wide range of suites type and as you have mentioned the three bedroom suites are very spacious and comfortable. The team will be delighted to read your review and your comments regarding the continental breakfast are very much appreciated.

Thank you for the feedback regarding your suite, we do have a refurbishment program in place and your allocated suite is scheduled for later this year.

Hopefully when you return to Aberdeen you will choose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Property: Skene House Whitehall
Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Whitehall is the best of both worlds - it's a city centre location with a residential feel. Its only 7 minutes walk to the top end of Union Street, fewer than that to the West End boutiques of Rose and Thistle Street, yet benefits from a more relaxed atmosphere due to its private gardens and proximity to the neighbourhood of Rosemount where delicatessens, friendly pubs, cafes and Sainsbury's are within 5 minutes walk. Whitehall's 49, studio and 1-3 bedroom apartments offer business and leisure travelers a range of eclectic interiors providing a homely feel for short or long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing