We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carmelite
Nearby Hotels
Atholl Hotel(Aberdeen)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$94
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$112
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skene House Rosemount(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craighaar Hotel(Aberdeen)
US$101
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (691)
Filter reviews
691 results
Traveller rating
197
187
128
100
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
187
128
100
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjapanese suiteantique suitequirky hotelfour poster bedroll top bathcentral locationsingle roomunion squarestayed here for one nightlovely roomjengaplugsfunctionscotland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
575 - 580 of 691 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We booked the Carmelite as we were having a night out in Aberdeen for my wifes birthday. We made the booking including breakfast and in all cost £109 which we thought was not too bad, when we arrived at hotel we were told it was going to be very noisy till 0100 - 0130am as the xmas parties were being held in hotel, we asked about off street parking and was told there was secure parking at the cost of £10 a night! When we were given our room we were shocked at just how little space we had in it, considering when you read the hotel website it makes you think of something bigger ( premier inn was double the size of room ) we also were told we had booked a room with roll top bath and seperate shower cubicle.....well unless we had to bath in the basin we were short of 1 x roll top bath! Coffee and tea making facilities were nowhere to be seen and you have to call reception for someone to bring up tea and coffee when required....on the plus side the room was clean as was the bed linen etc but you just have to be the size of a mouse to move around the room with ease.
We thought in the morning that once we have our breakfast it would make up for the room but we were sadly mistaken....when our scottish breakfast came the sausages were not fully cooked throughout and this kind of summed up our visit to this hotel....kind of a half hearted attempt to be something its not.
At checking out time we made our grievances clear and had our parking and drinks knocked off the bill along with breakfast so at least they tried to make up for discrepencies.
All staff were very helpful and friendly throughout our visit and im sure were doing their best at a busy time of year

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davelindscraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We booked for our family in advance and could only get rooms on different floors, yet when we checked in the owner realised what the situation was straight away and, without being asked, offered us adjoining rooms, which were excellent. The hotel is boutique'ish with a vibrant bar and grill downstairs. Atmosphere is good, food is excellent, staff are really chatty and helpful, and the whole stay was really enjoyable.

Room Tip: Request a parking space when booking your room and you will be taken to an excellent underground car park. Advise reception of your exact room requirements when you check in, and they may be able to accommodate you better.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scruntfuttock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

been at this hotel before it was not bad but this time thought that rooms might be updated,got room201 oh dear ! bath chipped tiles broken .in dire need of repair but the tv oh well old it was ancient an old ferguson on stand very hard to see as it was grainey but believe or not had sky sports! the staff at the carmelite are very good from the managers to the waiting staff we had a good deal for the room so felt it was all bearable please update the rooms!!!!

Room Tip: ask to see what kind of room you are getting and of course your tv
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonjonandbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

A colleague and I booked 2 single rooms when travelling for work. Although on different floors,both our rooms faced the front of the hote. Mine was directly above the main doors to the car park/smoking area where there was a wedding reception being held. As you can imagine, it was rather loud. I didn't sleep much at all - I would have been as well pitching a sleeping bag outside a nightclub! My colleague was at the other end, and her room was opposite a pub, so she still had the music/shouting/singing/fighting etc from the wedding party, but also noise from the pub across the road. Location is good, less than 5 mins from union square shopping centre/bus/train station. Rooms and beds very small, what you'd imagine from a small single room in an old B&B or guest house, especially with the decor. I'd been looking forward to breakfast, as the restaurant downstairs looked lovely (we arrived to late to eat there) but we were disappointed. There is nothing for vegetarians on the cooked menu, just scrambled eggs and toast, which arrived cold. It was £50 each for our rooms (I think it's cheaper at the weekends), and although there are more expensive rooms and suites available i'd be too worried about the noise to spend any more money! Travelodge/holiday inn do it better, and for that price you can get a large room with double beds. Won't be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back (not facing the front of the hotel, as it's very noisy here!).
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spinelli101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Recently stayed here for 4 nights and overall the hotel especially the room are in need of some tender loving care.

The entrance, resturuant and bar are fine and modern it just a shame the rooms have been somewhat forgotten. On a plus point the rooms were clean even if smelling a little off and muskie

Food in restaurant was fine on both occasions and reasonable priced.

Hotels best attribute is it's location - very central with easy access to all central spots

Parking in the surrounding streets is free from 20:00 to 08:00

Overall the hotel is central, clean but is looking dated and in need of zoom tender loving care. Would certinally use again if for central location alone

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris-Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews