We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carmelite
Nearby Hotels
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$115
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn(Aberdeen)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Inn by Radisson Aberdeen(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Aberdeen Centre(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (698)
Filter reviews
698 results
Traveller rating
199
188
130
101
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
188
130
101
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjapanese suiteantique suitequirky hotelfour poster bedroll top bathcentral locationsingle roomunion squarestayed here for one nightlovely roomjengaplugsfunctionscotland
Filter
Updating list...
463 - 468 of 698 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Coming off the train at Union Square we looked for a quiet relaxing restaurant to eat before returning to our home. We found this at Carmeilte. As soon as we entered the building we felt at ease. We loved the menu and the service we received from our waitress and especially from the manager Marek. He was busy doing several tasks but he worked with such skill and calmness. We had 2 coures beautifully prepared and presented.The area may have been a little dark ( I believe there has been a refurbish since) but it was quiet enough so we could converse over the table.
We then went to the Bar area for coffee until out taxi came for us
We were tired and hungry on arrival but felt refreshed by the time we had coffee.
We were well looked after and made feel special by Marek
We will return maybe on a night they have music
I can recommend this Restaurant for all ages

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ladytraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmelite1, General Manager at Carmelite, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

So glad ou enjoyed your time with us, I am sure we will be welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We were in town for a magic night at the Lemon Tree and scored a great price on a "room only" deal at the Carmelite. We have eaten there before and the food was really good so we were expecting a nice room even though we were paying a very cheap price. We were not disappointed. The room was very spacious with a king sized bed a flat screen TV with "Freeview" and very clean. The bathroom was also very large and the shower was brilliant, plenty of power and very controllable. We had the kitchen vent outside our window but the noise from the extractor was not too intrusive. Road noise, for a city centre hotel, was also infrequent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank varisian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmelite1, General Manager at Carmelite, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for your review, Hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This was our second enjoyable visit to the Carmelite . My husband and I lead very busy lives and a night away without the children is a real treat for us. Being able to relax, unwind and feel pampered is what we dreamed about and certainly what we got.
Marie ( she calls herself the night porter but she is far far more valuable than a run around) made us feel so very welcome from the moment we arrived. She took particular interest in the fact we were just travelling a few miles form home to escape the kids and went out of her way to make us relax and feel like we were having a special night. It was her attention to the little details that prompted me to write a review and thank her for all her efforts.
The manager was equally friendly, ensuring we were looked after....even joining us for a drink and conversation which we enjoyed.
I can recommend the restaurant for a great menu....lovely to dine while someone plays the piano.
Our rooms were comfortable and stylish and an issue with a sloping bed was dealt with so quickly it cant even be classed as inconvenient.
If you want to escape for a night....relax, drink cocktails, listen to music and just feel pampered then I recommend the Carmelite and the ever so lovely Marie x We will be back x

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disgruntled C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmelite1, General Manager at Carmelite, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for your comments, so glad we could make a night away from the kids so relaxed & enjoyable. Hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Having been stranded in Aberdeen because my job had been delayed I booked into the Carmelite. It is dead central in the city literally 2-3 minutes walk to the station and all the major shopping malls and round the corner from the office.
The place is nicely appointed with a good décor. The staff were all very pleasant and willing to help. There is a pianist singer playing in the main hall/bar which is so unusual these days and very enjoyable. The food was good and steak cooked as you like it, so many places cannot do steak as requested.
The bedroom had everything you might expect and was clean. The bathroom was a surprise with a roll top bath and a rain shower coming down from the 12ft ceiling. If there was any criticism, it was that there was only one socket in the room situated under the dressing table which made it difficult to plug in the kettle, computer or whatever. The wi-fi worked well.
I shall definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can get a bit noisy with night revellers. Traffic is minimal.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmelite1, General Manager at Carmelite, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for your review, so glad to read you enjoyed the surroundings and the pianist on an evening - it is something we have been building up over the last year or so and yes it is unusual these days to have a live pianist. The room you were in was part of the 1st phase refurb, we learned a lot on the design front and when doing the next phase ensured we put in more sockets and such like.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We arrived earlier than planned, so our room wasn't ready. So we had a wander around Aberdeen, which is a lovely city. When we got back to the hotel our room was ready,the staff are amazing nothing is to much trouble for them. We had the Bullnose Suite, it was beautiful, from the roll top bath to the super queen size bed. All the little touches ie: the sweetly machine with the dish of pennies tiger the sweets out. I would have just stayed in the room all weekend and watched the 42'' tv on my big bed. But I ad to go out to the many friendly pubs in the area. Loved it, money well spent. Can't wait to go back

Room Tip: The hotel has limited private parking so book in advance, £10 for 24hrs.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Latedealers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmelite1, General Manager at Carmelite, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Glad you enjoyed both the hotel and Aberdeen as a city, hopefully we can invite you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews