We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had my wedding here!”
Review of Carmelite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carmelite
Ranked #48 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Had my wedding here!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I live in Aberdeen and really enjoy coming here for drinks and also for meals because it's one of the places in Aberdeen for tasty food that isn't a chain restaurant. It's a really quirky place which I absolutely love and because of this, this is where my husband and I decided to hold our wedding!! Had an absolutely fantastic day - all of the staff were so lovely and helpful (especially Lane Caine, she's an absolute hoot and I even invited her through for a dance in the evening which she accepted!) I've been back a couple of times since and alot of the staff remembered me which is great!!
Every time I've been the food has been fantastic - can't fault it. Great selection of drinks, whisky and cocktails! I think alot of people are put off because of the layout and that dining, reclining and reception is all in one place but I think that adds to the charm of the place.
Rooms are great - some are normal and some are themed. I've only ever stayed in the themed and I would recommend paying more to have a themed room! I stayed in the Best Suite the night before my wedding - it's huge and absolutely loved it. I think we'll stay here when we return for our anniversary! On our wedding night we stayed in the Japanese Suite and again, it's lovely!
Been back since for Afternoon Tea with cocktails in teapots - I'd recommend the Carmelite for this as I've been too other places for the same and its just not as good!
Overall I'm a massive fan of this hotel, it's the first place i suggest for nights out with friends and if people are in Aberdeen visiting I'll take them here for a meal and I can truthfully say I'm never dissapointed! It's smack bang in the city centre so very handy for shopping or nightlife. Parking wise I think there are only a few spaces they have which you have to book but Union Square is just around the corner and you can park there overnight!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    182
    121
    96
    73
See reviews for
60
247
44
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Carmelite, the room we stayed in was pretty funky and different to your usual hotel style - which we liked very much!! Its central location was perfect, only a short stroll back from all the nightlife!! The breakfast we had delivered to our room was tasty, and all staff were great.
I would certainly stay in this hotel again, and if you like something that little bit different then Carmelite is good for you!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfindlay22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed her the first weekend in December, no complaints about staff, very polite & helpful. also our suite was perfect,
But... We arrived at 2.15pm, for our room not to be ready, was told 20minutes, came back at 3.45pm, for it still not to be ready?! It was after 4pm before we got into our room.
Next problem was the noise volume coming from the party downstairs, I know it's the Christmas period & staff night outs etc, but it was extremely loud! Carried on till past 2am! My last problem was the parking, when I booked the room the person I spoke to never mentioned once that I needed to book a parking space or that I had to pay for parking, which worked out quite expensive! Overall I did enjoy my stay and the Hotel is ideal for walking distance to shops :)

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Very disappointed with this venue for our Christmas party. The place was absolutely mobbed with people not quite sure where they were going. Fortunately there was staff on hand to direct us to our table but unfortunately we were separated by different booths and not sitting next to the rest of our group.

We were seated in the lobby, next to the DJ and the bar but the booths we were in were quite wobbly, and every time someone behind us moved, the whole thing shook. I don't know if that's because it wasn't permanent seating and only put in the lobby for the party night but it was a bit of an annoyance.

The meal was really disappointing. I felt as if the salmon rilette had been bought in and thawed out and served. The vegetables in the main course, particularly the parsnip was completely undercooked and the mashed potato was tepid and tasteless. The dessert dry and the cream with it had melted by the time it got to us and was swishing around the plate.

When the meal had ended and the entertainment started, it almost impossible to hear what the person next to you was saying. It was so loud that we had to leave early as my partner was developing a headache.

After an enjoyable Christmas night a few years ago, we had hoped our party this year would be just as good but we feel that the venue was being too greedy by trying to cram as many people as possible into various places in the hotel. Although it appears to be quite upmarket, everything seems really cheaply done. I don't think we will be coming back here any time soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MishImpossible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We unfortunately booked our Christmas night out at the Carmelite for 35 people, the venue was absolutely packed, there was no space to move and our table was blocking people from getting easily to the toilets, consequently our staff sitting at those seats were constantly being knocked into by people pushing past. We were told that as it was so full the table service would be slow and we would be better to order bottles of sprits, however they did not have any diet coke!!. A big fight broke out midway through the evening, I can only think that it was due to overcrowding, the only saving grace was there wasn't a fire as there is no way that crowd would have gotten out safely.
It smacks of abject greed to cram the dance-floor and what is normally the reception area with extra tables in order to make a quick buck, however they have lost a lot of return business and I will be advising anyone I know not to go this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Was here for Christmas lunch recently. Food I must say was far from the best I have experienced. The starter and sweet were ok, but the main course consisted flaky and chewy roast beef with undercooked and hard vegetables.
Impolite, inefficient and bad mannered is how I would describe some of the bar staff, and not how I as a paying customer expects to be treated.
Don't expect I will be returning here at all again.
Some of the bar staff could certainly take a few lessons in courtesy and service to customers.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turriff
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a few times while I've been visiting aberdeen. Have no problem with the service or the lay out of the hotel. I'm quite fond of the hotel, hence why I keep returning. Only problem I've had is upon arriving at the hotel, I paid for the room. A couple of days later I noticed that I had been over charged (only £20) phoned up the hotel and was answered by someone rather absurd. The phone call lasted about 30 seconds and I was told I would be refunded the money.. this was a couple of months ago, still no refund to be seen. £20 isn't a big miss but I thought I'd get what I was due! I'm staying back here at the new year, just hoping my bank account doesn't get dipped in to!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeighV94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments from your recent stay with us at Carmelite. Thank you too for your valued repeat custom and loyalty. It is pleasing to read you enjoy our service and product, however I apologise for the abrupt response you received via telephone when querying your account. Of course we will refund any mistake we have made. Will you please email me direct with your name and date of stay, where we can review your account and refund any overcharges. We look forward to welcoming you back to Carmelite in the New Year. gary.atkinson@carmelitehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
#29 of 65 in Aberdeen
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rox Hotel
Rox Hotel
#52 of 65 in Aberdeen
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,983 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
983 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#43 of 65 in Aberdeen
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmelite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmelite

Property: Carmelite
Address: Stirling Street | Merchant Quarter, Aberdeen AB11 6JU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmelite 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmelite is neatly positioned in the centre of Aberdeen's Merchant Quarter, which is adjacent to the transport hub of rail, bus, coach stations and harbour. The Merchant Quarter is the "grown up" area of the city, full of independent bars and restaurants, and surrounded by the city's 5 under-cover retail shopping centres. An historical Grade B listed building dating back to mid 1800's, Carmelite has undergone major refurbishment program over recent years, introducing a boutique environment on the ground floor of Carmelite Bar & Grill, whilst the 50 bedrooms offer a mix of "Designer" Suites and rooms on the 1st floor, "Dapper" rooms refurbished end of 2012, on the 2nd floor and comfortable standard rooms on the 3rd floor. These enable attractive rates to suit all budgets. Aberdeen is a commercial city, with limited accommodation mid-week, however weekends offer some fantastic deals making an alternative visitor experience very affordable. The 6 Suites are all different, and very quirky - from round beds in turrets, and gigantic sleigh beds, all designer rooms have cast iron baths, monsoon showers. The "Dapper" rooms have un-cluttered designs with a mix of large monsoon shower rooms, double ended steel baths (some designed with 'no taps'), and black-out window blinds. All the bespoke furniture in these rooms were made by A social Enterprise Company in Dundee, called Dovetail. The 3rd floor standard rooms, although not yet refurbished, offer clean, comfortable accommodation, still with all the usual amenities. All rooms have luxury beds made locally by Social Enterprise Aberdeen Company called Glencraft. Designer "Anatomicals" or "Keiji" bath products, 32/40" LED Samsung Freeview TVs, as well as clocks, iPhone docking stations, tea/coffee making facilities, and most rooms with iron and ironing boards. A room service menu is available during restaurant times.The ground floor also is a boutique environment, quirky with a large open plan lounge and dining area, with informal comfy sofas, a Baby Grand Piano playing at weekends, and a dining 4 Poster Bed. The comprehensive bar menu offers superb cocktails, 12 champagnes, and extensive wine and drinks as well as a bar nibbles food options. Menus cover breakfast and brunch from a "Wake Up till Noon" menu, then an A'la Carte "All Day Menu" available from 12noon through till dinner. There is a Shoppers Menu available till 5pm each day with £8 main courses, and a Market Menu options each evening. There are two event rooms, Library and Balmoral for delegates up to 120, private dining to 50 diners, and Mad Hatter Tea Parties from 20 people. Intoxicating Afternoon Teas are a specialty, as well as Rock & Roll Parties in the 4 Poster Bed. Free wi-fi is available throughout the building, with a PC available for guests' use in the library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Carmelite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmelite Hotel Aberdeen
Carmelite Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing