We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woeful service!.....again!”
Review of Carmelite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carmelite
Ranked #46 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

My company booked me into Carmelite, I did object due my previous visit being a bad experience.
Unfortunately, nothing had changed! Although the hotel decor and rooms are well decorated, the service is woeful! I was left sitting for dinner for 30 mins without anyone approaching to take me order. I gave up in the end. Next morning, again, I was left sitting for 10-15 mins without anyone taking my order. When I eventually placed my order I waited so long (30 mins) that my taxi arrived and I had to leave!
£200 + for a room/night! If it were in any other city except Aberdeen it would be shut!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank neils_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Whilst thanking you in taking the time to write and share your experience of Carmelite Aberdeen, I am very disappointed in not been aware of your initial and follow up return issues. Carmelite does enjoy many repeat and regular visitors, with my team knowing many quite well. We generally have a passion to ensure we try to put things right when things may be going wrong, especially when there are a few adverse things nagging our guest. Would you please contact me personally so we can communicate and I can better understand what was the cause of these shortcomings you experienced. gary.atkinson@carmelitehotels.com
I am confident once we know what happened when, and track things back, we will learn from these issues ensuring you a return visit won't be so woefull.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 675 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

Been here numerous times now for meals, with husband, friends, parents etc. Always had excellent service, always made to feel very welcome and never had to wait long to be seated (although always book in advance) Food is beautiful and very good value for money. Good choice. Only reason I didnt give 5 is I am not keen on the lack of parking spaces round the area, hate parking at Union Square but often have to

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent positive dining experience of Carmelite Aberdeen.

I appreciate you choosing Carmelite, and acknowledge your car parking comments. We actually enjoy having over 4000 car parking spaces within a 7 minute walk as well as many on street parking spaces. That said, being in the busy Merchant Quarter area, with 15 other restaurants and 25 bars around us, the car parking spaces are in high demand.

Thank you fit spending valuable time with us, it's especially pleasing to read when guests and customers have such an enjoyable time.

I sincerely hope the short walk to and from one of the many car parks, when the on street parking is busy will not deter you from returning and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Went for afternoon tea with friends for a birthday as two of us shared the same birthday.
Ordered drinks the tea no choice of brands ie Assam or Dar Jeeling only Tetley or flavoured tea.
Then the tea came but the sandwiches and cakes did not come for at least 10 min by which time the tea was luke warm. and I was expecting to use a cup no it was mugs. So a lot of improvement called for here. Little complaints but they do not help you enjoy your afternoon tea.
So would not go back to the Carmelite or recommend afternoon tea there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank redsargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Carmelite Aberdeen.

Whilst disappointing to read your comments, I welcome the opportunity in reviewing constructive views so we can learn and improve. I can assure everyone we so normally have a full selection of teas, which when questioned my team, these were found.
The team have discussed your and other guests/customers comments, and continue to on a weekly basis to make any improvements - many are made immediately, although some take a little time when requiring to retrain team members.

I sincerely hope you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate such improvements, and we look forward up welcoming you back. Please drop me a line when you have made a booking. gary.atkinson@carmelitehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I was at Carmelite on Sunday the 6th of April for afternoon tea with my husband. I was really looking forward to this but I have to say we were rather disappointed. It took ages for someone to come over to us and take our order for tea or coffee. Eventually someone did and when my husband asked for a soft drink instead it seemed like it was a big deal for her. Then I asked what the sandwiches were and she said Salmon, Egg and Ham. I asked if these could be changed and she said no since we were using a voucher. Since we were not paying the full price for the afternoon that we were not as important that was how it felt. She said she would see if the sandwiches could be changed. Once we got everything the sandwiches (yes they were changed) they were small, really dry and had hardly any filling, how hard is it to make a nice sandwich. Also not once did anyone come back over to see if everything was ok and ask if we needed a re-fill of tea etc we just got forgotten about. The experience in a whole was rubbish and I would not rush back. All I can say is I am glad I paid £10 for a voucher and didn't have to pay the full £20.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahV2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Carmelite Aberdeen.

I'm saddened to read your extensive list is disappointing standards and clearly we did not meet not exceed your expectations. Apologies for these shortcomings.

We serve hundreds of afternoon teas per week, even though the relatively few adverse comments that people place on trip adviser, we so generally get things right.

On this occasion we clearly didn't and I would appreciate you contacting me direct to further discuss how we can regain your loyalty to Carmelite.

gary.atkinson@carmelitehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Visited the Carmelite for afternoon tea on Friday 28 March. Really disappointing, with dried up sandwiches and tiny wee slivers of tray-bakes. The mark-up must be absolutely massive. Lovely service from the waitress, but in terms of value for money a massive thumbs down.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank CatAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your afternoon tea experience. Even though your comments are adverse, and I apologies for these shortcomings, I welcome the opportunity to review and question my team's performance in how we can improve from what our customers tell us.

I'm sorry you didn't receive our normal great advice and food quality. We do many afternoon teas on a weekly basis, but I can assure you we do not sit on our laurels, nor take our customers sharing time and choosing us lightly. I an also assure everyone that an afternoon tea comprising of scone, jam, cream, strawberries, 1 & a half sandwiches, tray ale and cake, tea / coffee at a ex VAT price of £8 does not generate masses of profit. We try to offer all our menus at reasonable and fair pricing, at a good wholesome standard.

I believe we generally please most of the thousands if monthly customers we serve, and acknowledge we may occasionally get things wrong which if advised at the time, we will truely endeavor to put right.

Clearly we did not with your visit and I am truly sorry.

I would appreciate you contacting me direct, whereupon we can discuss ways to regain your loyalty to carmelite.
gary.atkinson@carnelitehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I celebrated my birthday here with 20 of my dear friends, it was the first time I had been and I have to say I absolutely loved it. My experience from making the booking with lovely Lauren, excellent and attentive service from Louise right down to a wee sing song with the piano player as we departed. The place was absolutely buzzing all day, lots of noise and the sound of people having fun to me makes Carmelite stand out from most of the bland restaurants we have in the city. They are thinking outside the box by offering themed "Mad Hatter Parties", afternoon tea at a bargain price of £10. All of my friends really enjoyed the food they ordered and we will definitely be returning very soon!! Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent positive Mad Hatter Tea Party experience of Carmelite Aberdeen. We do set out to be innovative and quirky, and not simply a' link in a chain'.

I appreciate you spending valuable time with us, and it's especially pleasing to read when guests and customers have such an enjoyable time.

Check out our new Waltzer 'spinning booth' fun fair package ideal for 4-8 fun loving diners. ! It's on radio advertising from Tuesday.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This is my 3rd stay here was a little disappointed this time room did not have bath asked to change to one with bath and got another without, noise awful from 6am onwards not a good sleep ended up leaving early

Room Tip: For the price of the rooms you can get just as nice a room at holiday inn or jurys inn for cheaper p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank Kerrie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of a recent visit to Carmelite Aberdeen.

I apologise for what seems like poor listening skills in my team being unable to accommodate your request for a room with a bath. Without knowing further booking details, and times of requests etc, it's difficult to track back to establish if there were reasons as to why we couldn't accommodate your request - ie, maybe there were no rooms with bath available at time of booking or follow up requests. We are a busy venue, and our rooms are very popular.
As you have visited us before, you'll be aware of our different room/suite types, sizes and decor, with about 25% having showers rather than bath and shower.

However, that all said, I am keen to regain your loyalty to Carmelite, and ask you to contact me directly regarding a follow up stay - gary.atkinson@carmelitehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
#43 of 65 in Aberdeen
906 reviews
2.0 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rox Hotel
Rox Hotel
#49 of 65 in Aberdeen
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,038 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmelite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmelite

Address: Stirling Street | Merchant Quarter, Aberdeen AB11 6JU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £54 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmelite 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmelite is neatly positioned in the centre of Aberdeen's Merchant Quarter, which is adjacent to the transport hub of rail, bus, coach stations and harbour. The Merchant Quarter is the "grown up" area of the city, full of independent bars and restaurants, and surrounded by the city's 5 under-cover retail shopping centres. An historical Grade B listed building dating back to mid 1800's, Carmelite has undergone major refurbishment program over recent years, introducing a boutique environment on the ground floor of Carmelite Bar & Grill, whilst the 50 bedrooms offer a mix of "Designer" Suites and rooms on the 1st floor, "Dapper" rooms refurbished end of 2012, on the 2nd floor and comfortable standard rooms on the 3rd floor. These enable attractive rates to suit all budgets. Aberdeen is a commercial city, with limited accommodation mid-week, however weekends offer some fantastic deals making an alternative visitor experience very affordable. The 6 Suites are all different, and very quirky - from round beds in turrets, and gigantic sleigh beds, all designer rooms have cast iron baths, monsoon showers. The "Dapper" rooms have un-cluttered designs with a mix of large monsoon shower rooms, double ended steel baths (some designed with 'no taps'), and black-out window blinds. All the bespoke furniture in these rooms were made by A social Enterprise Company in Dundee, called Dovetail. The 3rd floor standard rooms, although not yet refurbished, offer clean, comfortable accommodation, still with all the usual amenities. All rooms have luxury beds made locally by Social Enterprise Aberdeen Company called Glencraft. Designer "Anatomicals" or "Keiji" bath products, 32/40" LED Samsung Freeview TVs, as well as clocks, iPhone docking stations, tea/coffee making facilities, and most rooms with iron and ironing boards. A room service menu is available during restaurant times.The ground floor also is a boutique environment, quirky with a large open plan lounge and dining area, with informal comfy sofas, a Baby Grand Piano playing at weekends, and a dining 4 Poster Bed. The comprehensive bar menu offers superb cocktails, 12 champagnes, and extensive wine and drinks as well as a bar nibbles food options. Menus cover breakfast and brunch from a "Wake Up till Noon" menu, then an A'la Carte "All Day Menu" available from 12noon through till dinner. There is a Shoppers Menu available till 5pm each day with £8 main courses, and a Market Menu options each evening. There are two event rooms, Library and Balmoral for delegates up to 120, private dining to 50 diners, and Mad Hatter Tea Parties from 20 people. Intoxicating Afternoon Teas are a specialty, as well as Rock & Roll Parties in the 4 Poster Bed. Free wi-fi is available throughout the building, with a PC available for guests' use in the library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Carmelite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmelite Hotel Aberdeen
Carmelite Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing