We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Single stay”
Review of Carmelite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carmelite
Ranked #48 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Axtell, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Single stay”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

While I was in Aberdeen I stayed at the Carmelite. The staff were really great and very helpful. I plan to visit Aberdeen again soon and will stay at this hotel. I have been all over the world and this stay was one of the best.

Room Tip: Really close to train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmelite1, Manager at Carmelite, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thanks, we hope we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    184
    122
    96
    74
See reviews for
61
250
44
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We booked the antique suite and pamper package for parents 40th wedding anniversary. Their first impressions were "wow". This did not stop the whole of their stay. All staff made them feel welcome and could not of been happier. One member of staff kindly parked their car in the off street parking too. Room gorgeous (lots of photos taken :-) very friendly atmosphere and staff, and ambience of entire hotel made their anniversary their most memorable one to date. Thank you all at carmelite. :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmelite1, Manager at Carmelite, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
I am so glad we helped to make your parents Ruby anniversary something special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My partner and I have now stayed over in the carmelite twice and both times have loved it. The rooms are beautifully decorated and so clean. Staff are so attentive and your never left waiting for service which always comes with smile. Even more welcoming that staff remembered us the second time round and even what drinks we had. Next time we come through to aberdeen for any occasion we will definitely be back at the carmelite.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmelite1, Manager at Carmelite, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Gerat to read your comments, I am sure it wont be too long before we are welcoming you back to enjoy our hospitality again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We recently organised a hen afternoon at the Carmelite. We wanted something outwith the normal packages on offer (although the packages are fab with some quirky options) and the events team worked with us to make sure we got exactly what we wanted. On the day, service was fab. Nothing was too much trouble and there was always someone on hand if we needed them. Fab food, great cocktails and a lovely private room (The Best Suite). Thanks to Gary, Lauren, Alan and the team for a great afternoon. Can totally recommend the Carmelite. I am planning a return visit for the fun fair package! Great buzz in the hotel on a Saturday afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleRedRascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmelite1, Manager at Carmelite, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for the review, its great to read the efforts we have put in to trying to provide something out side the norm are appreciated. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

As with most old buildings it reflects on the size of the rooms. Although a double room it was by modern standards small.
Location is very close to the city centre, but what stands out is the Excellent food, really is second to none in the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank postnote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmelite1, Manager at Carmelite, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for the review, our Head Chef Jamie will be delighted to read the comments about the food. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Although there was an initial mix up with reservations, this was quickly and professionally dealt with and we stayed in the suites, which are clean, spacious and well furnished.

We had a company event there during the day and the food, service and hospitality were great throughout.

Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The suites are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spencet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmelite1, Manager at Carmelite, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review, Great to read the team handlesd the initial hic up well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Excellent afternoon tea at the CarmeliteHotel in Aberdeen. Would recommend it and Layne our waitress was brilliant. Great atmosphere! Thank you. Great selection of sandwiches, delicious scones and home bakes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMair75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmelite1, Manager at Carmelite, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your great review, Layne wil be delighted to read your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
#29 of 65 in Aberdeen
408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rox Hotel
Rox Hotel
#53 of 65 in Aberdeen
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,031 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
994 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmelite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmelite

Property: Carmelite
Address: Stirling Street | Merchant Quarter, Aberdeen AB11 6JU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmelite 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmelite is neatly positioned in the centre of Aberdeen's Merchant Quarter, which is adjacent to the transport hub of rail, bus, coach stations and harbour. The Merchant Quarter is the "grown up" area of the city, full of independent bars and restaurants, and surrounded by the city's 5 under-cover retail shopping centres. An historical Grade B listed building dating back to mid 1800's, Carmelite has undergone major refurbishment program over recent years, introducing a boutique environment on the ground floor of Carmelite Bar & Grill, whilst the 50 bedrooms offer a mix of "Designer" Suites and rooms on the 1st floor, "Dapper" rooms refurbished end of 2012, on the 2nd floor and comfortable standard rooms on the 3rd floor. These enable attractive rates to suit all budgets. Aberdeen is a commercial city, with limited accommodation mid-week, however weekends offer some fantastic deals making an alternative visitor experience very affordable. The 6 Suites are all different, and very quirky - from round beds in turrets, and gigantic sleigh beds, all designer rooms have cast iron baths, monsoon showers. The "Dapper" rooms have un-cluttered designs with a mix of large monsoon shower rooms, double ended steel baths (some designed with 'no taps'), and black-out window blinds. All the bespoke furniture in these rooms were made by A social Enterprise Company in Dundee, called Dovetail. The 3rd floor standard rooms, although not yet refurbished, offer clean, comfortable accommodation, still with all the usual amenities. All rooms have luxury beds made locally by Social Enterprise Aberdeen Company called Glencraft. Designer "Anatomicals" or "Keiji" bath products, 32/40" LED Samsung Freeview TVs, as well as clocks, iPhone docking stations, tea/coffee making facilities, and most rooms with iron and ironing boards. A room service menu is available during restaurant times.The ground floor also is a boutique environment, quirky with a large open plan lounge and dining area, with informal comfy sofas, a Baby Grand Piano playing at weekends, and a dining 4 Poster Bed. The comprehensive bar menu offers superb cocktails, 12 champagnes, and extensive wine and drinks as well as a bar nibbles food options. Menus cover breakfast and brunch from a "Wake Up till Noon" menu, then an A'la Carte "All Day Menu" available from 12noon through till dinner. There is a Shoppers Menu available till 5pm each day with £8 main courses, and a Market Menu options each evening. There are two event rooms, Library and Balmoral for delegates up to 120, private dining to 50 diners, and Mad Hatter Tea Parties from 20 people. Intoxicating Afternoon Teas are a specialty, as well as Rock & Roll Parties in the 4 Poster Bed. Free wi-fi is available throughout the building, with a PC available for guests' use in the library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmelite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmelite Hotel Aberdeen
Carmelite Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing