We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Skene House Rosemount
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed for a long weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Ideal location, the apartment was spotlessly clean & we got daily maid service. The staff were all friendly without imposing. We ate out but there is a kitchen with all you could ask for including a dishwasher! Plenty to choose from at breakfast time. Will book this fabulous hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnzoEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Assistant manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. It was very nice to read that we were able to play the smallest part in helping you celebrate your anniversary.
Our staff will be very happy that their hard work and friendliness was noted too.
Thank you again for taking the time to post the review and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Aberdeen.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    181
    53
    17
    6
See reviews for
159
275
34
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

Came in April as a group of three, the apartment was great. Much more personal than a hotel room. The staff were friendly and well presented. We were with a young man with Aspergers syndrome and the staff were chatty and friendly with him and he really enjoyed his stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondeday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Assistant manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review after your recent visit. I was delighted to read that our staff had made you and your friends feel so welcome. They really enjoy meeting our guests and finding out about more about them.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kilbride
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

My husband & I booked our one bedroomed suite for an overnight visit to Aberdeen. The location of the Skene house was excellent - only a 5-10min walk to Union Street. All of the staff that we came into contact with very pleasant & extremely helpful. Our suite was on the 1st floor, based in the building beside the one that the reception is situated in. The apartment was well equipped although we never actually used our kitchen area, quiet and very clean. The provision of private parking was very beneficial and saved us having to pay on road parking costs.

The continental breakfast provided lots of choice and everything was very fresh.

We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennymcknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Assistant manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review after you stayed with us recently. It was very nice to read that you were so happy with your time here and that our staff made such a wonderful impression.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

My husband and I along with my brother stayed one night on our trip around Scotland and were all surprised at how spacious the apartment was. Also very clean, great location and the staff were very helpful, helping with te luggage, giving us a few local tips. Couldn't fault it in any way. Definitely stay again if ever back this way.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Assistant manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for your lovely review of Skene House Rosemount. I was delighted to read that the three of you enjoyed your time with us.
Our staff work hard and really enjoy helping our guests enjoy their time at Skene House and in Aberdeen so it is always nice when the guests are happy enough to comment on the help they get.
Thank you again and hopefully we'll see you again when you are next in Aberdeen.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moray
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

The welcome from staff was excellent.Our 2 bedroom suite was reached by climbing a few flights of stairs - worth mentioning if this would be a problem when booking. The apartment was bright and airy. Unfortunately someone had forgotten to empty our bin, and the remains of the previous guests' take away were still inside - a bit off putting! our breakfast provisions were left in our fridge. A wee bit uninspiring - a selection from the spar shop nearby? Nevertheless we slept well and enjoyed the space, and excellent location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinah67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Assistant manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Skene House Rosemount after you stayed with us recently.
I hope the stairs did not cause you to much trouble but please do not hesitate to contact reception to request a lower suite for future stays if that would make things easier for you. Although we can't always guarantee a lower floor we have concierges on site 24 hours a day and they would be more than happy to help you with luggage or shopping or anything else you might want to take up to your suite.
I was very sorry to read about the bin. This obviously should not have happened and I can only apologise. I will certainly discuss this with our housekeeping department.
From your review I wonder if you might have prefered one of our superior suites. These suites come with deluxe continental breakfast included in the rate and, as with all suites, cooked breakfast is available at a small extra charge. This may be more to your tastes than the provisions we put into the suites.
Thank you again and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed in penthouse apartment 604 which is the building next door to the main reception building. Lift in building. Split level one bedroom apartment, with bedroom and bathroom upstairs with open stairs to living and kitchen area. Apartment very clean with daily housekeeping service. No noise issues, very quiet. Free car parking available. This apartment has a super king sized bed which was very comfortable. Excellent modern bathroom with shower, no bath. Kitchen has a combi oven/microwave so maybe not best for doing much oven cooking. Kitchen quite basic, usual plates/pots/glasses etc but some apartments have some items of food, so take everything you think you'll need if you plan to cook, ie cooking oil, butter etc. Not too far from Union Street area. I'd recommend these apartments and would stay again.

Room Tip: Penthouse apartment like 604 nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissRubyAyr_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Assistant manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a nice review after you stayed with us recently at Skene House Rosemount. I was delighted to read that you liked the suite so much.
I noted from your review that you may have been more comfortable with a full kitchen with an oven. Should this be the case please do not hesitate to contact either reception or our reservations department to request this for any future bookings. The building you were in only has the kitchens with the combi microwave oven but our main buidling has superior suites with full kitchens.
Thank you again and hopefully we will see you back at Skene House soon.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Me and my partner had decided to spend the night away for her birthday, and upon entering the reception we were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff, off to a good start, we were then advised of private "secure parking" which again was a great touch. We stayed in the superior suites which were directly across the road from the reception and were very pleased with the room and building, very clean and very well decorated, there was a definite feeling of comfort and ease. Although the building was seperate from the main reception it seemed to be very secure and you needed your room key to access most parts of the building. We spent one night in the superior suite and whilst i went out to the car to grab a cigarette i noticed to the left of the main car park door, secure car parking may i add, there was what appeared to be a used needle, i at once thought that maybe someone had dropped it from a first aid kit etc; however once i glanced down there seemed to be empty syringe wrappers, i alerted the staff at main reception and they were very helpful, yet at the same time there response seemed to give the feeling that they were used to this and it was not an unusal occurence, quite frankly a wonderful night away ruined, not only is the building as secure as first thought but the sheer thought that whilst there were children in the property they could have accidentally stood on this or touched it and the consequences may have been catastrophic, i sincerely hope that this was a one off as i would hate to think that skene house were aware of this problem and refused to do anything about it, i have emailed the address provided on there website and was given a prompt response saying that they are dealing with it and the general manager would be in touch, i do hope they provide me with the very least some information regarding why this happened and what they are doing to stop it. I would like to add that this is not the fault of the staff and have been very clear of this, yet as a 4 star hotel i expect to be able to walk around there grounds without the risk of pricking myself with a needle.

No doubt in my mind that this hotel would have definitely recieved more visits from myself and my partner and a more pleasent review if it were not for this incident, however the severity and level of disgust that this incident brought has most certainly tainted my view of skene house and the chances of us returning are slim, untill i recieve answers as to what has went wrong. A very nice hotel aesthetically and wonderfull staff but that is all as far as we are concerned. Very dissapointed and very shocked.

Room Tip: We were on the groundfloor of the superior suites building, definitely not somewhere we would recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMedley, General Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Mr Cumming,
I thought it best to respond by repeating my email to you of yesterday.

Your email following your stay here last Saturday has been passed onto myself. My apologies for not answering earlier but I wanted to carry out some investigation before responding.

I was extremely sorry to hear that you found a syringe needle outside the door leading to the car park and thank you very much for bringing this immediately to the attention of my staff. I was pleased to hear that they acted quickly to remove the needle, which this morning was taken to the local medical centre for correct and safe disposal.

Whilst we do not have many occurrences of needles being left on our premises we do have a procedure in place where in particular our night concierges check the car parks and outside areas around Skene House as part of their night time security checks. If they find syringes and needles there is a risk assessment and procedure in place. We have special gloves to use for picking up the needle which is then deposited into a special receptacle for disposing of sharp items. The containers are then delivered to the local medical centre.

The car park is monitored by cameras and therefore this is not an area where this type of incident would take place. We are though currently checking through the recordings to see if we can identify a culprit and have alerted the police.

I am very sorry that this incident has upset your otherwise pleasant stay at Skene House Rosemount.

Thank you very much for bringing this incident to our attention, I can assure you that we take such incidents very seriously and matters have already been taken to ensure this does not happen again.

Regards
Peter Medley
Director and General Manager
Skene House HotelSuites, Aberdeen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
3.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Rosemount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Rosemount

Property: Skene House Rosemount
Address: Skene House 96 Rosemount Viaduct, Aberdeen AB25 1NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#5 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Rosemount 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Hotel Suites set in the cultural quarter of Aberdeen, only a few minutes' walk to the theatre, art galleries and shopping centres. Smart, modern & comfortable serviced accommodation in Aberdeen with additional benefit of hotel services. Interiors have been designed by leading interior designers to offer guests a more minimal, streamline aesthetic - from the duplex penthouses offering bright and airy loft-style living to a more homely environment in Rothko's tequila sunrise hues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Skene House Rosemount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene House Rosemount Hotel Aberdeen
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene Hotel Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing