We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay with a warm welcome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skene House Rosemount

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Skene House Rosemount
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great stay with a warm welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

Lovely suites with a great central location near all city attractions. Good continental breakfast and good service. We've stayed here once before and again enjoyed our stay . Very good rates for a weekend stay (a bit of Christmas shopping).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraser M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Skene House Rosemount again for your trip to Aberdeen and for taking the time to post a review afterwards.
It was very nice to read that you found our customer service was good and that you enjoyed your breakfast in the morning.
Thank you again and hopefully we will see you back soon (maybe for the January sales?)
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    180
    52
    17
    6
See reviews for
158
273
33
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

Been here twice on business trips and they have always been consistent about service and cleanliness. Walking distance to Union Street, enough parking space. breakfast is conveniently made available in the suite which helps when you have to begin your day early. A very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jithin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Thank you very much for choosing Skene House Rosemount for your trips to Aberdeen. And for taking the time to write a review afterwards. It is always nice to hear from our returning guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

Apartment style hotel, with a small reception area, parking at the rear and a separate breakfast room across the street.

the room I had consisted of a large double bedroom with TV, Lounge with TV & internet connection and a separate kitchen. The property consists of a number of large 3 storey terraced houses each with their own front door and 5 or 6 individual apartments in each house. Breakfast has a decent continental style range of food included in the price I paid, with an extra charge if you wanted a cooked breakfast.

Location is reasonably close to the main centre: 5-7 minute walk to the main shopping area of Union street, close to the Theatre

All in all functional without being fancy and good value for the Aberdeen market

Room Tip: No lifts and steep stairs, so if you find climbing stairs difficult insist on a ground or first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dino2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Rosemount and for taking the time to review us.
It was very nice to read that you found what you needed in our suites and that you enjoyed your breakfast.
Our reception and reservation teams are happy to take any special requests for your stays, low floors etc. so please feel free to give them a call either to make the bookings or to make the special requests after booking.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Wow! This is what places should be more like. The staff that greeted us were most helpful, and very pleasant. We were told we were staying in a very nice suite and she was not wrong. We went next door with the butler and shown to our apartment, 604. A beautiful wee sitting area, lovely modern kitchen and up stairs to a very comfortable super king bed, and fab shower room. The room price included breakfast which was served in the ground floor. The continental section was all very delicious, granolas, yoghurts, hams, cheeses and hard boiled eggs, etc. The staff were most attentive, and the whole place was immaculate. We will definitely be back.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MScott18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you very much for choosing Skene House Rosemount and then taking the time to write such a wonderful review.
I have to agree with your comments about 604. It is one of my personal favourites. Unfortunately there is only one suite like it so get your special requests in early if you would like to book that one again!
It was also really nice to read your comments about our staff. They work hard and enjoy making sure our guests have everything they need and will be very happy to hear your comments.
Thank you again and hopefully we will see you both again soon.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

This was a trip with my 86yo mother... we asked for a ground floor suite and were on the third floor. No elevator. The fire doors are rediculous!! we had to prop them open to move about. Rooms are small and the staff was semi-helpful... hot and cold with various questions and requests. All-in-all an OK hotel.

Room Tip: If you have any problem with stairs, make SURE you are given a lower floor - no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gsoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review after your stay at Skene House Rosemount.
I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the problems you encountered during your time with us.
I tried to have a look at your booking but I have not been able to work out what name this may have been under. I would be happy to hear from you with regards to this so I can do some further checking and possibly carry out some more staff training. I can be contacted at Skene House Rosemount Monday to Friday.
I do understand that the fire doors can cause quite some inconvenience, unfortunately these have to be self closing so we can reach our health and safety standards.
As you can see from most of our reviews our customer service is usually commented on as being of a very high standard. I'm not sure what hapened this time but as I say if you could let me know what name the booking was under I will certainly look into this further.
Thank you again and I hope that you will choose to give us a second chance in the future.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

Went to Aberdeen on a work trip without any previous experience of this hotel. I was EXTREMELY happy with both the staff and the suite itself. It may be some truth to the thin walls mentioned in another review, but I had no noisy neighbors, and just loved the stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steinar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Skene House Rosemount after your stayed with us recently.
I was very happy to read that you were so happy with the suite and the service from the staff you met.
We are looking into our options for improving the sound-proofing between the suites at the moment. Most of our guests don't cause any problems but if you do happen to hear any noise our reception and concierges teams will deal with this immediately.
Thank you again and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

The apartments are well used, but clean and functional. There is loads of space and they are well enough equipped. Not quite as convenient as a hotel in terms of add on facilities like room service etc. But I would have no hesitation in staying in them again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you very much for choosing Skene House Rosemount for your trip to Aberdeen.
It was good to know that the suite had the space and supplies you needed.
Although we do not have a restaurant to provide room service our reception team would be more than happy to order takeaway to be delivered to your suite. If you choose one of our partner restaurants the bill for this could then be added to your bill here. I would also be happy to hear of any further suggestions you may have for improving our services.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
3.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Rosemount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Rosemount

Property: Skene House Rosemount
Address: Skene House 96 Rosemount Viaduct, Aberdeen AB25 1NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#5 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Rosemount 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Hotel Suites set in the cultural quarter of Aberdeen, only a few minutes' walk to the theatre, art galleries and shopping centres. Smart, modern & comfortable serviced accommodation in Aberdeen with additional benefit of hotel services. Interiors have been designed by leading interior designers to offer guests a more minimal, streamline aesthetic - from the duplex penthouses offering bright and airy loft-style living to a more homely environment in Rothko's tequila sunrise hues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Skene House Rosemount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene House Rosemount Hotel Aberdeen
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene Hotel Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing