We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing like the photos worst bed I have even (not) slept in!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skene House Rosemount

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Skene House Rosemount
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nothing like the photos worst bed I have even (not) slept in!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We were so excited to come and stay at Skene apartments, we had recently had a second baby and were given this stay as a gift to relax and have a break. The apartment we were given looked very much like a student flat, paint work chipped and curtains were all marked and stained, had an absolutely beautiful bathroom although slightly dusty and the toilet roll holder was so squint the roll fell off, after my shower my husband didn't have enough water to have a hot shower which was disappointing. The décor was not very nice and I found the double bedroom quite chlostraphobic. We didn't really mind though until we went to bed, it was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever had to try to sleep in, no spring in the matress, we both had aching backs and necks by the next day and barely slept at all. You know a bed is uncomfortable when a mother of a 4 year old and an 8 week old who hasn't had more than 4 hours sleep for months can not sleep! There was also a lot of noise from within the building and our door was tried on more than one occasion, another couple actually came and tried to get in the room saying they had checked in to it (same room number) so I don't know how that happened. We were so disappointed. The breakfast was just brilliant and Alex who seated and served us was really attentive and friendly. When I checked out the receptionist didn't ask how our stay was so I didn't bother complaining. Looking at the pictures on here our apartment was not of the same standard as others and I wish I had taken photos to post. Our rate was £66 so I guess you cant expect much however the rack rate for this room was £200 ish and this was not a £200 room! We would certainly have been far more comfortable in a travel lodge style hotel because at least the be would have been comfortable. There were limited parking spaces available which was very handy - if you got one.

Room Tip: Avoid block 59 for sure, I presume other apartments in this block were like ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matchstick17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Skene House Rosemount after your recent visit. I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy your time here at all.
The suite you were allocated is already roomed off for our painter to do some work in this week so I do agree that this was needed. Please accept my apologies for the uncomfortable bed. We will have this looked at too.
I am not sure what happened with the other couple who tried to get into your suite but I will discuss this with our reception team to try to find out.
It was very nice to read that even with the other issues you were able to enjoy your breakfast. Alex will be delighted that he made such a wonderful impression.
Again, please accept my apologies that your stay was not up to our usual standards. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to make another booking and we will make sure we allocate the best suite for your needs and hopefully your next stay will be a happier one.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    180
    52
    17
    6
See reviews for
158
273
33
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Keith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

What a brilliant place to stay, we arrived a bit early to check in so were asked to go into the lounge n have a cuppa & in no time our room was ready. Rooms were lovely & very cosy, heating was on all night, didnt have to worry about waking in the middle of the night to a cold room. Breakfast was fantastic, came away from it seriously stuffed. Staff are so friendly & welcoming. All in all we will never stay any where else but Skene house when staying in Aberdeen. 10 out of 10, couldn't fault you even if i tried.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for choosing Skene House for your recent trip to Aberdeen. I was delighted to note that you were so happy with your time here.
It was good to hear that you were cosy in your suite and that you enjoyed your breakfast so much. It can be difficult to get the temperature correct at this time of year so this is good to know.
Thank you again and we look forward to your next trip.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here quite some times now and can reccommend this hotel as one of the top 10 in Aberdeen. Nice staff, clean and big comfortable rooms - more like suites. Central in the city center and Union street.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kvalsvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Skene House Rosemount after your most recent stay.
It was great to note that you think of us as your second home. We aim to provide a 'home from home' experience for all of our guests so it was nice to hear that we succeeded.
Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed here for the weekend and were amazed at what you get for the price!! A home away from home.
About a 10 min walk to city centre, very quiet area.
Free wifi, breakfast, toiletries, kitchen with cooking facilities, living room with flat screen tv, bedroom with massive bed wardrobe and tv.
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sam31782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review after your recent stay at Skene House Rosemount.
It was great to hear that we provided everything you needed for your visit.
Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed four nights here and really enjoyed the accommodation. It was quietly situated and the secure parking was useful. The rooms were clean and well equipped. The staff were helpful and professional. The breakfast were simple but offered a reasonable choice. It was a short walk to Union Street, which was useful as no transport is needed. I will stay here again when I am next visiting Aberdeen.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Rosemount for your recent trip to Aberdeen.
I was very pleased to note that you were happy with the suite and our service.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Yes, I really do make this many trips to Aberdeen!

This time I am back in Skene House Rosemount, where I have stay many times before. These are located in what was traditionally a residential part of the city centre. In fact, most of their apartment are refurbished "tenement" flats, but don't let that put you off.

The reception (despite its rather funereal external colour scheme) is staffed by some of the most friendly and enthuiastic staff you will find in Aberdeen.

The traditonal apartments are reasonably well furnished and equipped, even if perhaps in a somewhat old-fashioned style, and you are provided breakfast provisions or can buy breakfast for a mdest cost in a nearby buiding. That building also houses more modern, slghtly more expensive and (in my view) rather more comfortable apartments. If you stay in these breakfast is free. However, I need to give you a warning about the breakfast - unless you have a very good appetite any porridge should be ordered in a small size.

Two free car parks, one of which, despite being immediately behind the building, is very, very difficult to find.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aberphobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Skene House Rosemount after your recent stay with us.
It is always good to get reviews from our regular guests as sometimes there are different comments from staying with us so often or over a longer period of time.
Our reception team are really pleased by the friendly and enthusiastic comments, they genuinely enjoy meeting people and making sure their time with us is enjoyable.
We have also recently changed our breakfast service and continental breakfast is now included with all suite types. There is also a new menu in place so please let us know what you think of this when you are next with us.
Thank you again for your lovely comments.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Only stayed one night but wish we were staying longer. We had a 1 bed apartment which is beautifully decorated and fully equipped. Breakfast is included in the price which was a nice surprise, choice of cereal, pastries, bread, yoghurt and fruit.

Excellent value for city centre accommodation.

Can't wait to come back

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Skene House Rosemount for your recent visit to Aberdeen. I was delighted to read that you were so happy with our facilities.
We have recently made changes to our breakfast service. All suites now include continental breakfast in our Park Room and we have also updated menu. I don 't think this was in place for your last visit so you can try our new selection next time.
Thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to your next trip.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
3.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Rosemount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Rosemount

Property: Skene House Rosemount
Address: Skene House 96 Rosemount Viaduct, Aberdeen AB25 1NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#5 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Rosemount 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Hotel Suites set in the cultural quarter of Aberdeen, only a few minutes' walk to the theatre, art galleries and shopping centres. Smart, modern & comfortable serviced accommodation in Aberdeen with additional benefit of hotel services. Interiors have been designed by leading interior designers to offer guests a more minimal, streamline aesthetic - from the duplex penthouses offering bright and airy loft-style living to a more homely environment in Rothko's tequila sunrise hues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Skene House Rosemount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene House Rosemount Hotel Aberdeen
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene Hotel Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing