We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st trip to Aberdeen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Skene House Rosemount
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“1st trip to Aberdeen”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed 14/12 for one night, location perfect, staff friendly, breakfast great. What let it down was partying either below or next to us, although at times, sounded like they were in the same apartment, intermittently through the night from about 1am till 9am! doors were slammed, music played, singing, laughing loudly (they were enjoying themselves yes).
Obviously we should have phoned reception, but to be honest we thought someone else would, plus it would go quite enough for us to fall asleep till they partied again.

We didn't think the room was superior, more like a student flat, very basic, with very uncomfortable beds. Room and apartment size is good though. But Nothing like the photos supplied on website.

Room Tip: Ask if the room you're allocated is recently refurbished and check there are no large parties of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A130alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for choosing Skene House Rosemount for your recent trip to Aberdeen and then taking the time to write a review.
I was sorry to note that you were interuppted by less thoughtful guests in an adjacent suite. Our night concierge team do carry out regular walk-rounds of the site but on this occasion they may have missed the problem. Hopefully this issue won't happen again but please do not hesitate to contact reception directly and our night concierges will be happy to deal with the problem.
For any future bookings please do not hesitate to contact reception or our reservations team directly. We can then go through your requirements for a suite and allocate you something more suited to your tastes.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    183
    56
    17
    6
See reviews for
164
277
34
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

As I booked this at the last minute I wasn't sure what to expect. What we got was superb value for money and really nice staff. The apartment was clean, well-equipped and very central. The continental breakfast, included in the price, was excellent and the staff working in the restaurant were so helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend these apartments to anyone visiting Aberdeen.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyJScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Skene House Rosemount after your recent stay.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and found the service so helpful and friendly. I will make sure your comments are passed along to our breakfast team in particular.
Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I was initially booked at another location for 2 nights for my graduation and due to unfortunate circumstances they cancelled just a few days before arriving in Aberdeen. I frantically looked for alternative accommodation (something very difficult, if not impossible, during graduation week) and Skene House Rosemount was thankfully available. Location is simply perfect! Sad i had never come here before! Only 3 minutes form RGU schoolhill campus/Bon accord centre. We had a superior double suite (one double and one twin room) which also had a lovely sitting room with tv, ironing board, internet cable connection, wifi, a lovely kitchen with fresh milk every morning and tea & coffee making facilities. The bedrooms were quite spacious and very nicely decorated - clean and modern but not too much. The bathroom was also lovely and clean - only thing is that one bathroom between four people was a little bit challenging. Nonetheless, quite manageable. Breakfast was continental but very varied, more than enough really and Im a full scottish breakfast lover! Reception staff were equally helpful and courteous. Highly recommended - honestly nothing bad to say.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maltabackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Congratulations on your graduation. It was nice to hear that we could play a small part in your special day in making sure that you and your family had somewhere to stay.
I will make sure all of our staff get a chance to read your lovely comments.
For any future visits please be aware that we do have some suites with two bathrooms which may make it a bit more comfortable if you are staying with a few others. Please do not hesitate to contact our reservations or reception teams directly to request this.
Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Never book this place if you are a group. Made to feel like second class citizens from the moment we arrived. We where given a whole list of does and donts that if broken would void our deposit.£150 deposit taken because we where a group. Money was initially returned to us after our room was inspected, only to be told hours later that the tv had mysteriously developed a small dent in our absents. Deposit was then taken from our account without any proof of damage. I don't claim to be a hotel inspector but pubes in the shower on arrival are not to the highest of standard. Iron in room was faulty and took over 2 hours to replace.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 80buddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferMLindsay, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for your comment we appreciate your feed- back as this is the best way we can continue to improve our customer service.
All large bookings are subject to a deposit notified at the time of booking, as per our terms and conditions. On departure if there is no damage or complaints this is refunded in full. All our guests are treated with the same level of customer service and we do not discriminate against groups. I have checked our records and your deposit was refunded in full and no money has been taken from your account for any damage caused.
Our housekeeping department work extremely hard to maintain our high levels of cleanliness throught our hotel, your complaint will however be investigated thouroughly.

If you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to get in touch with me.

Kim Honey
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We were so excited to come and stay at Skene apartments, we had recently had a second baby and were given this stay as a gift to relax and have a break. The apartment we were given looked very much like a student flat, paint work chipped and curtains were all marked and stained, had an absolutely beautiful bathroom although slightly dusty and the toilet roll holder was so squint the roll fell off, after my shower my husband didn't have enough water to have a hot shower which was disappointing. The décor was not very nice and I found the double bedroom quite chlostraphobic. We didn't really mind though until we went to bed, it was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever had to try to sleep in, no spring in the matress, we both had aching backs and necks by the next day and barely slept at all. You know a bed is uncomfortable when a mother of a 4 year old and an 8 week old who hasn't had more than 4 hours sleep for months can not sleep! There was also a lot of noise from within the building and our door was tried on more than one occasion, another couple actually came and tried to get in the room saying they had checked in to it (same room number) so I don't know how that happened. We were so disappointed. The breakfast was just brilliant and Alex who seated and served us was really attentive and friendly. When I checked out the receptionist didn't ask how our stay was so I didn't bother complaining. Looking at the pictures on here our apartment was not of the same standard as others and I wish I had taken photos to post. Our rate was £66 so I guess you cant expect much however the rack rate for this room was £200 ish and this was not a £200 room! We would certainly have been far more comfortable in a travel lodge style hotel because at least the be would have been comfortable. There were limited parking spaces available which was very handy - if you got one.

Room Tip: Avoid block 59 for sure, I presume other apartments in this block were like ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matchstick17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Skene House Rosemount after your recent visit. I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy your time here at all.
The suite you were allocated is already roomed off for our painter to do some work in this week so I do agree that this was needed. Please accept my apologies for the uncomfortable bed. We will have this looked at too.
I am not sure what happened with the other couple who tried to get into your suite but I will discuss this with our reception team to try to find out.
It was very nice to read that even with the other issues you were able to enjoy your breakfast. Alex will be delighted that he made such a wonderful impression.
Again, please accept my apologies that your stay was not up to our usual standards. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to make another booking and we will make sure we allocate the best suite for your needs and hopefully your next stay will be a happier one.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

What a brilliant place to stay, we arrived a bit early to check in so were asked to go into the lounge n have a cuppa & in no time our room was ready. Rooms were lovely & very cosy, heating was on all night, didnt have to worry about waking in the middle of the night to a cold room. Breakfast was fantastic, came away from it seriously stuffed. Staff are so friendly & welcoming. All in all we will never stay any where else but Skene house when staying in Aberdeen. 10 out of 10, couldn't fault you even if i tried.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for choosing Skene House for your recent trip to Aberdeen. I was delighted to note that you were so happy with your time here.
It was good to hear that you were cosy in your suite and that you enjoyed your breakfast so much. It can be difficult to get the temperature correct at this time of year so this is good to know.
Thank you again and we look forward to your next trip.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here quite some times now and can reccommend this hotel as one of the top 10 in Aberdeen. Nice staff, clean and big comfortable rooms - more like suites. Central in the city center and Union street.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kvalsvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Skene House Rosemount after your most recent stay.
It was great to note that you think of us as your second home. We aim to provide a 'home from home' experience for all of our guests so it was nice to hear that we succeeded.
Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
3.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 65 in Aberdeen
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,993 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Rosemount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Rosemount

Property: Skene House Rosemount
Address: Skene House 96 Rosemount Viaduct, Aberdeen AB25 1NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#5 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Rosemount 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Hotel Suites set in the cultural quarter of Aberdeen, only a few minutes' walk to the theatre, art galleries and shopping centres. Smart, modern & comfortable serviced accommodation in Aberdeen with additional benefit of hotel services. Interiors have been designed by leading interior designers to offer guests a more minimal, streamline aesthetic - from the duplex penthouses offering bright and airy loft-style living to a more homely environment in Rothko's tequila sunrise hues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Skene House Rosemount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene House Rosemount Hotel Aberdeen
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene Hotel Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing