We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Skene House Rosemount
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

I have recently returned from a weekend at Skene apartments. This was not the first time we have stayed and again it was an excellent stay. From the moment of arrival to departure the staff were extremely helpful. We were provided with a complementary bottle of prosecco in our suite on arrival. The suite was very clean and very we'll equipped. The breakfast is very good, with an appropriate selection of foods.

We would certainly recommended this to others and will be back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Skene House Rosemount after your recent stay. It is always good to hear from our return guests.
Our staff really enjoy making sure our guests enjoy their time here so they will be delighted to hear that you found them so helpful. I will also pass your comments along to our housekeeping and breakfast teams.
Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    182
    54
    17
    6
See reviews for
160
276
34
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Polis, Cyprus
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Perfect central location.
Spacious and comfortable suites.
Nourishing breakfasts.
Friendly staff at the reception and at the atrium-thumbs up to Alex!
Will return when the occasion arises.
Constructive criticism: espresso-based coffees should be prepared on request as well and not just filter coffee.

Room Tip: Choose one on the third level, which is on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YAP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Skene House Rosemount after your recent visit. It was very nice to read that you enjoyed your time here. I will pass your comments along to Alex too.
It is interesting that you should mention the coffee too. We are in contact with a few suppliers at the moment to find out about all of our options for providing a more individual coffee service. Hopefully you will be able to enjoy coffee more to your taste for future visits.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights for work. My room was on the 6 floor and had an excellent view of HM theatre and was very pretty as the sun was coming up. Rooms were clean. A few times I'd left my dishes to do the next day and when I came back housekeeping had done them for me! I didn't have much contact with hotel staff - just the breakfast staff and 1 lady in particular stood out and was always very cheery and friendly. It's only a short 5-10 minute walk from union street which is great for shopping, theatre and restaurants. Overall a great hotel and I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemmaO1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Rosemount for your recent work trip to Aberdeen.
It was great to read that you enjoyed your time here. Although the top floor doesn't suit everyone there are definite perks to being there. The Aberdeen skyline and the peace and quiet are two of them.
Our housekeeping team and our breakfast staff will be very pleased to hear that you found them so helpful and cheery. I'm never quite sure how the breakfast team manage it so early in the morning!
Thank you again and hopefully we will see you soon.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meaford
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Brilliant concept and execution! This apartment hotel offers lovely, spacious, clean apartments complete with full kitchen, bath (shower only but a good one), 2 bedrooms and a living room, two flat screen TVs and complimentary buffet breakfast with meats and cheeses, beautiful homemade bread, croissant and all the usual goodies. Reception was friendly and fast (and we got upgraded) both checking in and out. Great central location - you can walk anywhere - and very helpful staff. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeafordVickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review after your recent stay with us at Skene House Rosemount.
I was delighted to read that everything seems to have been just right for your time here. However, if you would prefer a bath for any future visits please do not hesitate to contact us directly so we can allocate the best suite for your preferences.
I will make sure all of our staff get a chance to read your lovely comments and I will also make sure these are passed along to The Breadmaker. They are a local bakery giving adults with learning difficulties a chance to get into the workplace and we source a lot of our baked goods from them.
Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Was on a business trip for a few days and found this hotel on booking.com got a really good deal.
The hotel suite was lovely very spacious and comfortable, like the fact it had a small kitchen.
Bed was very comfortable room excellently prepared.
Will be back again as I am often in Aberdeen for business.
Staff very helpful and friendly, parking was secure and free.

Room Tip: Was on the 1St floor was very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinRouge79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Skene House Rosemount after your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time here.
Our staff are always happy to hear that their customer care was appreciated so I will make sure I pass your comments along.
Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My brother and I had to travel to Aberdeen to visit a relative in hospital. It was to be a flying visit and frankly we were horrified at the hotel prices there. Obviously a shortage of rooms so there were simply no last minute offers as no-one undercuts the high prices. 2 rooms were going to cost us at least £200 each, most without breakfast too! At the last minute he found Skene House and we couldn't have been more pleased with our 2-roomed apartment and 2 bathrooms! Continental breakfast buffet had good selection of food and if we return again this will be the first place we try.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of us at Skene House Rosemount.
It was good to read that you liked the suite and breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you both back again, hopefully under better circumstances.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed 14/12 for one night, location perfect, staff friendly, breakfast great. What let it down was partying either below or next to us, although at times, sounded like they were in the same apartment, intermittently through the night from about 1am till 9am! doors were slammed, music played, singing, laughing loudly (they were enjoying themselves yes).
Obviously we should have phoned reception, but to be honest we thought someone else would, plus it would go quite enough for us to fall asleep till they partied again.

We didn't think the room was superior, more like a student flat, very basic, with very uncomfortable beds. Room and apartment size is good though. But Nothing like the photos supplied on website.

Room Tip: Ask if the room you're allocated is recently refurbished and check there are no large parties of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A130alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for choosing Skene House Rosemount for your recent trip to Aberdeen and then taking the time to write a review.
I was sorry to note that you were interuppted by less thoughtful guests in an adjacent suite. Our night concierge team do carry out regular walk-rounds of the site but on this occasion they may have missed the problem. Hopefully this issue won't happen again but please do not hesitate to contact reception directly and our night concierges will be happy to deal with the problem.
For any future bookings please do not hesitate to contact reception or our reservations team directly. We can then go through your requirements for a suite and allocate you something more suited to your tastes.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
3.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Rosemount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Rosemount

Property: Skene House Rosemount
Address: Skene House 96 Rosemount Viaduct, Aberdeen AB25 1NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#5 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Rosemount 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Hotel Suites set in the cultural quarter of Aberdeen, only a few minutes' walk to the theatre, art galleries and shopping centres. Smart, modern & comfortable serviced accommodation in Aberdeen with additional benefit of hotel services. Interiors have been designed by leading interior designers to offer guests a more minimal, streamline aesthetic - from the duplex penthouses offering bright and airy loft-style living to a more homely environment in Rothko's tequila sunrise hues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Skene House Rosemount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene House Rosemount Hotel Aberdeen
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene Hotel Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing