We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skene House Rosemount

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Skene House Rosemount
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed for one night on March 22nd at Skene house Holbein and loved it. We checked in on the afternoon and then helped ourselves to a free coffee which is available in the reception. You are also allowed one free drink from the honesty bar which is a very nice touch. I had asked for a quiet room as I am a light sleeper and the room we got was on the top floor which suited us perfectly. The apartment was spotlessly clean with a nice size sitting room, a small bathroom which looked as if it had been installed quite recently, a small modern kitchen which had fridge microwave, toaster etc and a bedroom with built in wardrobes. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely use them again and the parking is also a bonus.

Room Tip: We had a room on top floor with bedroom as back which was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keeto69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Skene House Holburn after your recent visit.
Your review was posted on the Rosemount page but when I spoke with the team at Holburn they were really pleased to hear that you were so happy with your time with them.
Thank you again and we look forward to your next trip to Skene House.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager (Skene House Rosemount)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    180
    52
    17
    6
See reviews for
158
273
33
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This weekend we had our first stay with skene house suites , it was absolutely fantastic check in was easy and stress free then we went to our suite was more than had anticipated boasted a lovely spacious double bed bedroom which was spacious , airy and comfortable . A immaculate bathroom which was again modern and all you required . Then you had a living room with attached kitchen on open plan modern and fully equipped where you could wind down , cook a meal , grab a coffee and might seem nothing to others but fresh milk was in the fridge was a plus for me too as can't use the uht nonsense found in many a hotel it was overall a home from home and exceptional value the staff were friendly and polite and we would recommend skene house to all our friends will be a return visitor for sure

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Suzieblue74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review after your recent stay at Skene House Rosemount.
I was delighted to read that you found us to be a 'home from home'. We aim to provide this experience for all of our guests and our personal, friendly service is something that we pride ourselves in.
Thank you again and I look forward to meeting you on your next visit.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bebington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

The Suites offered at similar cost to a Hotel 'room' we're spacious, clean, well equipped and overall very good. We realise parking in Aberdeen town centre is not easy, but suite outweighed inconvenience of parking. THANK YOU. I had opportunity to see a suite in Skene House Whitehall which was also outstanding.

Room Tip: Perfect location for exploring. Need to stay more than one night to appreciate facilities on offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doodie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for choosing Skene House Rosemount for your recent visit to Aberdeen and taking the time to write such a lovely review afterwards.
I wasn't sure from your review where you had parked but we do have on-site car parking. The main car park is behind the reception building but we also have an overflow behind the building where breakfast is served. Please do not hesitate to contact reception before any future visits and we will be happy to give you clearer directions. These can also be found on our website.
Thank you again and I look forward to your next trip.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

After longish overnight flight arrived at hotel and suite wasn't ready , but that was our own fault as forgot to ask for early check in , receptionist said she would ask for it to be a priority ,took our mobile number and said she would call, but alas no call was made so we were either forgotten about or the suite couldn't be made ready for us , so we had a 4 hour wait .......when we did get into our suite , it was a big let down, looked nothing like the pictures on website, our suite was very tired looking :(, and needs decorated . The suite itself was very clean and adequately furnished , and could also be done with a chest of drawers (only 2 very small bedside units) and a full length mirror would be very welcome, bathroom adequate but a shelf in there would be good. Kitchenette, small but well stocked.
Although breakfast was included in our suite rate , we didn't try it as it is served in another building And since it was raining and cold we couldn't be bothered to get our coats on and trek down the street when we had a kitchenette to use .

Room Tip: No lifts in these properties , so if you have young children or not good with stairs, you would need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 216Mar2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for choosing Skene House Rosemount for your recent trip to Aberdeen then taking the time to write a review.
I was sorry to read that there were one or two issues during your time with us. I'm not sure which suites you were looking at on our website as there are quite a few different suite types. If you would prefer a particular suite for any future stays please do not hesitate to contact us at reception or reservations and we will try to allocate the best suite for your requirements. We are in the middle of a refurbishment program at the moment which will see us updating a lot of our suites over the next year or so but this will take time.
Thank you too for your suggestion regarding the chest of drawers and the full length mirror. I will pass these along to our Property Services department who are carrying out the redurbishments.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Very convenient location near the city centre. As we were travelling by car, it was great to have such a convenient free car park just outside the back entrance.
The breakfast had an excellent choice of dishes and the staff were most friendly.
The bed was comfortable and the bathroom and kitchenette were kept very clean.
I have no hesitation in recommending these apartments.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brynboru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Skene House Rosemount after your recent stay with us.
It was very nice to read that you were so happy with your time here and enjoyed the breakfast and your suite.
Thank you again and I look forward to meeting you on your next trip.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Booked this via lastminute.com and when I rang to check, was told I'd booked a double rather than a twin. I explained I was travelling with my cousin who has had hip and knee replacements and the lovely receptionist immediately upgraded us!! That set the tone for the whole visit,,,,,,,nothing was too much trouble, all the staff we met were so helpful!
Lovely buffet breakfasts in the dining room.........fruit of all kinds, yoghurts, pastries, even Aberdeen rowies, cheese and cold meat, tea, coffee, toast, and optional cooked breakfast for a little extra cost.
The accommodation was lovely; a twin bedroom, a fabulous shower room and a great living/dining/kitchen area with frige, microwave and 2-ring hob. I would use this again and would thoroughly recommend to anyone

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quine19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review after your recent trip to Skene House Rosemount.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us so much. Our staff really enjoy helping out guests make the most of their time here whether this is with additional information before checking in or getting to know you while you are here.
Thank you again and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

My family hired one of the suites in Skene House, Rosemount Aberdeen for an overnight stay. As we always drive to our stays parking is very important to us. The Hotel website does state that secure parking is available. Entrance to the car park is through a narrow alley with security gate and camera. Staff buzzed us through no problems at all. Plenty of parking spaces at the time of our arrival. Entrance to the reception is gained from the car park as well as the Main Street . This is great as we would have had to trail our luggage onto the street other wise...well done Skene House.

We were allocated an apartment on the top floor of one section of the complex. These buildings are built from Aberdeen Granite and are old( no idea how old) and have lovely cast iron railings up the stair case. No lifts in our building but that didn't trouble us. The flat itself was very clean and nicely furnished and had a flat screen telly in the lounge and both bedrooms. Our kitchen had all the modern appliances you would expect ...kettle, microwave, fridge and dishwasher etc.

On returning from a family evening out we found that there were no parking spaces left on the car park. On street parking at the suites cost money or by local resident permits so this could have been an issue. I managed to park my vehicle on part of the car park that was not a designated space. This would be the only reason I would consider staying elsewhere in Aberdeen.

Breakfast was served in the complex across the road and we were confused as to where it was served to start with but soon worked it out that it was on the very bottom floor . Good selection of continental breakfasting fare and staff very efficient in bringing coffee, tea and toast on request.

Overall a satisfactory stay on all accounts

Room Tip: There seems to be no lifts in the buildings which could be a problem for some
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for choosing Skene House Rosemount then taking the time to write a review.
As you mentioned we do have secure car parking but being a city centre hotel we are not able to provide a parking space for every suite. I'm not sure from your review if you spoke with our reception team when returning from our evening out but we also have an overflow car park behind the building where the breakfast room is. If you weren't made aware of this car park please do not hesitate to ask at reception for any future stays and our staff will be pleased to show you where it is.
It was very nice to read that you liked your suite and the building itself and that you enjoyed your breakfast.
Thank you again for taking the time to review us and I look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
1.1 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#14 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Rosemount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Rosemount

Property: Skene House Rosemount
Address: Skene House 96 Rosemount Viaduct, Aberdeen AB25 1NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#5 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Rosemount 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Hotel Suites set in the cultural quarter of Aberdeen, only a few minutes' walk to the theatre, art galleries and shopping centres. Smart, modern & comfortable serviced accommodation in Aberdeen with additional benefit of hotel services. Interiors have been designed by leading interior designers to offer guests a more minimal, streamline aesthetic - from the duplex penthouses offering bright and airy loft-style living to a more homely environment in Rothko's tequila sunrise hues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Skene House Rosemount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene House Rosemount Hotel Aberdeen
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene Hotel Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing