We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay”
Review of Northern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Northern Hotel
Ranked #60 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Ballater
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I attended a function at the Northern Hotel. The check-in was easy and the reception staff friendly Whilst the room we were allocated was quite comfortable the on suite bathroom was very dated. The washhand basin had a crack across it, and a leaking hot tap, the bath enamel was chipped and the shower looked grubby and old. However the beds were reasonably comfortable, and the tea & coffee facilities were good, although the only electric socket to boil the kettle was on the opposite side of the room and behind an arm chair. Breakfast was mediocre, although generous in portions it was badlly cooked and presented. Lastly there is only on- street parking available.

Room Tip: It may be that the 2nd floor rooms are better, as the 3rd floor has not been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    44
    25
    8
    24
See reviews for
32
18
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I very much enjoyed my stay at the hotel the food, and rooms were to great standards and it was a short drive from the city center I would recommend to all. There was a few minor issues with a certain staff member with a clear attitude problem and showed no manners at all when serving our food. Luckily I caught his name at the end "Michael" who could not of tried less to earn his wage never mind a tip from ourselves. Overall I'd give the hotel a 4/5 stars and I would like to thank the majority of staff their for making my weekend a good one.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david-Stuart72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Once again back from a long trip abroad and as normal spent a few days in hotel (apartment) Its great to see old faces and new members of staff And as always good fun and a great stay The food is good ( nice steaks ) and everyone friendly and helpfull the cleaning staff are super and chatty and my wife and i would always come back here for a short break WELL DONE

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denzil8963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The beds were ticking hard, no hot water in my shower, what's that all about? The staff were appalling especially a polish man and Frankie cocozza being racist towards me (I'm Asian) breakfast food was ok and great location to travel. Close to bingo too. Wouldnt stay again or recommend

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drasifpaltro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

Sandiacre, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We booked an apartment with 3 bedrooms (1 double, 1 twin & 1 single) & en-suite bathroom & kitchenette at £125 per night (full breakfast included) for 4 nights for 3 adults & 1 child. We thought this to be a fantastic rate for what was in reality 3 rooms + breakfast. Our usual "port of call" when visiting Aberdeen is Premier Inn - they wanted £993 inc. breakfasts for the same stay!!! We paid £500 for 4 nights and decided we wanted to stay for a 5th - no problem they said and they only charged £80 for that!. Our 5th night was a Friday and I don't know if we were charged a special rate but we were not complaining - £580 for 5 nights for 4 people with full breakfast - excellent value! The apartments are situated in what used to be flats next to the main hotel building.

The hotel is well served by frequent bus services into the city centre (no. 17, 18, 23). The rooms were very clean and brightly decorated. The furniture was of a good quality. There was no central heating in our apartment but dimplex heaters were provided in 2 of the bedrooms and a fan heater in the 3rd. As mentioned earlier there was a kitchenette - hotel regulations do not allow cooking but as we were dining out every day it did not cause us any problems. Televisions were provided in all 3 bedrooms and there was also other essentials: hair dryer, trouser press, iron (and ironing board). The kitchenette had a handy fridge and the all essential kettle.

Meal wise we only ever ate breakfast - buffet style with a wide range of cereals, juices, fruit, yoghurts and of course not forgetting the hot buffet which offered all you need to expand your waistline! Try the haggis puddings - lovely!

There is complimentary Wi-Fi but we found the signal a bit weak at times - was okay for surfing the net but not much use if streaming videos.

The hotel staff were very pleasant to deal with.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exiled_Aberdonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Attended a wedding recently and stayed overnight although the rooms were booked the receptionist insisted that we paid even though she was aware that it was a block booking to be paid altogether. The room was a pokey hole on reflection it was smaller than the bathroom. The bed was so small that we couldn't turn without colliding with a dressing table at one side and a locker at the other. Although there was so little space there were still two arm chairs at the side of the bed. Yes a hazzard when getting up in the middle of the night. The breakfast was a fiasco ...... No fried eggs???? What's that about?? If the family were not there it would have been a disaster. As I said to the receptionist if this was being booked by me this hotel would definately NOT have been my choice. Overpriced for the service provided. Well disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I have just returned from staying one night in this hotel and could not fault it.all staff were very helpful. Rooms were clean and well equipped with flat screen television and an iron and ironing board. The rooms were warm and the beds were very comfortable. Our meal in the dinning room was delicious as was our breakfast in the morning.
I would defiantly return to stay

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.7 mi away
Cults Hotel
Cults Hotel
#47 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Mariner Hotel
The Mariner Hotel
#35 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rox Hotel
Rox Hotel
#52 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Aberdeen Airport
1.3 mi away
Carmelite
Carmelite
#44 of 64 in Aberdeen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
2.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#15 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Hotel

Property: Northern Hotel
Address: 1 Great Northern Road, Aberdeen AB24 3PS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family friendly Hotel based 5 minutes from the town centre and 20 minutes on route to the airport. We have 32 on suite rooms, restaurant, bar and function/conference rooms. We pride ourselves on our locally sourced food and friendly customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing