We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas ”
Review of Northern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Northern Hotel
Ranked #59 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
2 reviews
“Christmas ”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Had a ball! Party night and stayed over! No faults with either. Good Hotel that gives you what. Staff were happy to help when I didn't have phone charger and provided me with one. Would go back tomorrow but Xmas only comes once a year! See you next year Northern Hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank letukno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    44
    25
    8
    24
See reviews for
32
18
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We had been for Sunday lunch (carvery) earlier in the year that was generally good with all the trimming, although the gravy is more like soup. Service was not the best but on our latest visit standards had slipped even further.

On entering the restaurant you are greeted by a sign “wait to be seated” although plenty of tables were available we had to wait for over 5 minutes and watching staff ideally gossiping.

Once seated we ordered drinks and asked for a menu. 3 drinks to over 15 minutes to arrive and when they did we received incorrect order.
We then ordered 3 meals, 2 adults and 1 child. After a further 35 minute wait (and no bar service for another drink) our meals finally arrived incorrect!!

This is one of the only times I have left a restaurant due to the quality of the service, we kindly asked the waitress to take the incorrect orders back and cancel our order.

Unfortunately I leave a review for food quality that was average at best… defiantly won’t be back and one to miss!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Visited with friends for Sunday Lunch in the bar restaurant. starter took ages to come 3 Cullen Skinks and broth soup. After asking what had happened to our starters only 2 soups arrived, a cullen skink 3 of us were finished our soup before it arrived and it was more like potato soup they had run out of the cullen skink and the replacement had no added cream, That was returned after the manager had come to note our complaints.
Everytime you go in it is different staff . The prices are high but the service standard has dropped.
It appears a lack of experience staff and no leadership from the top.
You used to have to book for a table at the Northern Hotel for Sunday Lunch but you can walk in and there is plenty of empty tables now.
Needs to have the management look into the staffing and employing some experienced staff to help the younger ones get to grips with the job.
Will be looking for better recommendations before going back to the Northern for a meal.
On that display I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redsargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Not living far from the northern hotel and never having been I decided to go in for a coffee with my girlfriend. First impressions were good nice clean lounge however they could do with painting the celing as it's yellow with decades of smoking punters. Friendly staff and served with a smile, coffee was good but £3.50 is a bit steep, still to decide if I will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank IainABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This hotel The Northern Hotel great northern road Aberdeen Scotland as ruined my wedding and did not put out all the food I payed for I'd people who was sat at tables we feel we have been ripped off by this hotel my wife spoke with manger and all she got was we are really sorry no one offered us anything back for the amount of money we paid for our wedding this hotel has really upset me and my wife we lost out in a lot of money because of them

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MICHAELRogers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Although the building outside is dated inside it is well furnished, staff very pleasant on reception, bedrooms need updating, was located on the side of the hotel and kept awake until after midday due noise outside from pub below. The buffet breakfast needs to be better prepared, there was no hot water, limited fruit selection and the hot buffet needs to be better presented. as a regular business traveller will not put this on the top of my hotel list in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel is outside of the city centre (about £8-£10 in a taxi) but well located for the university being a fifteen minute walk to the campus.

The check in was not the smoothest I've ever seen but the service was always helpful and polite. The room was lovely, little touches could improve it, a low cost option would be to have a soap dispenser at the sink so you don't have to walk to the shower to wash your hands. A mid cost improvement would be to invest in some larger televisions but these are minor points as the room was lovely and the bed comfortable.

The hotel has a bar as well as a restaurant, however the bar was not a welcoming place for the ladies in our party, we then moved to the restaurant and we found the staff less than welcoming when we asked if we could enjoy a drink in. Here which was dissapoining as the place was half empty.

In the end we did eat there and had the breakfasts, the food was okay but nothing special. I would consider the hotel in future but o Bly if I needed to be at the university, otherwise I would look for something mor central.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnotherGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.7 mi away
Cults Hotel
Cults Hotel
#47 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Mariner Hotel
The Mariner Hotel
#34 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rox Hotel
Rox Hotel
#52 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Aberdeen Airport
1.3 mi away
Carmelite
Carmelite
#44 of 64 in Aberdeen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
2.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#15 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Hotel

Property: Northern Hotel
Address: 1 Great Northern Road, Aberdeen AB24 3PS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family friendly Hotel based 5 minutes from the town centre and 20 minutes on route to the airport. We have 32 on suite rooms, restaurant, bar and function/conference rooms. We pride ourselves on our locally sourced food and friendly customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing