We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice old but updated Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Macdonald Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Hotels
Ranked #15 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice old but updated Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights and was impressed by the size of the rooms. I was here on business and noticed a wedding took place on Friday. The staff were nice and helpful when needed. I found the prices of food and drink in the bar were a bit high. But I guess that's what you have to expect when staying in a fancy hotel in Aberdeen. Overall very comfortable stay, clean rooms, an awesome lobby with the wood burning fireplaces and amazing workmanship. I would recommend people to stay here.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms were hard to find ...kinda like being in a maze
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank detour97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    161
    63
    42
    40
See reviews for
122
229
25
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in a suite. The room was very spacious, comfortable and traditionally decorated but with all mod cons. Comfy bed, large TV, tea and coffee making facilities, ironing board etc. Lovely big bathroom with bath and separate shower.
Breakfast was very good, big choice of cooked or continental. We also had dinner one night in the restaurant and the food and the service could not be faulted.
We will definitely return and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riad_Safran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

My wife and I got a room with breakfast and a 3 course evening meal for both of us for £99
The room was new a good size and the bathroom was great.

The meal was ok, nothing special but when included in the room price you really cant complain. Drinks in the bar are pricey. We received excellent service from the staff extremely helpful.

Will be going back

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zippyboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We booked the restaurant for a party of 10, because we wanted to celebrate a special event. I asked the reception that we wanted a private room but what we got was a table at the far end of the restaurant.
The whole place was so dated and had little to no charm left. The staff were reasonably helpful but quite incompetent.
The waiter asked us what we wanted to drink without even providing us with a drinks menu, he then got our order wrong.
The food was nothing more than sub standard a tasteless affair. I have no idea about the hotel rooms but if the ambience of the restaurant was anything to go by I would give it a miss.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

As soon as they get your money they are not intrested in provinding service or helping with any issuses with after care. The hotel relys on the looks of the building which is nice but is starting to look tatty rather than old i.e holes in pictures on the walls parts of the coving missing in reception.Staff have poor customer service skills Waited over 20 mins for breakfast as no one was taking care of the room, check in took 10 mins once you finally got to the desk as the 1 person on answers the phone rather than dealing with paying guests. Water dripping from what looked like a smoke sensor in the event hall was not a good sign.

Room Tip: Go else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guest79963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Stayed here recently and was blown away by the decor, Victorian oak panelling and high plasterd ceilings. The bay windows are surrounded by some of the best wood detailed work I have seen anywhere and a marvel just to sit and look at, thick deep pile carpets, drapes that must be a century old,
The suites are sumptious and grand, oozing class and take you back to a by-gone age of decadance and granduer that is a pleasure to sink into.
Resaurant is devine with food that makes your mouth water when you read the menu. I started with Pigeon breast on black pudding with baby beetroot, succulent and melted in the mouth, Main was corn fed chicken with mash and a broth of vegetables which looked just too good to eat but was devoured and I could have licked the plate clean, cheese selection followed and the mouldiest but tastiest cheese I have ever tasted was accompanied by sweet dry crackers. One of the best dining experiences I have had made better by the service of the young staff working there.
All in, l very highly reccomend a stay here if you care about or want to impress someone you hold dear.

Room Tip: Any room is an experience worth paying for
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graemeholmes69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

Got a great Groupon deal for Norwood Hall and went with my boyfriend for our anniversary. Norwood Hall is in beautiful grounds, and the reception is just mindblowing (open fire, luxurious decor). Our check-in was pleasant, and our junior suite was very beautiful. Open, airy, clean and comfortable, we were especially pleased with the large bathroom and comfortable bed. We went down for afternoon tea and thought it was delicious, and was very pleased to get a hot chocolate especially made for me by the very attending waiter!

We had a very comfortable night's sleep, had a lovely warm shower and had delicious Scottish breakfast the following morning.

The only problems we had was with room service. When we went down for afternoon tea, we asked reception if we could get our ice bucket filled. When we came back, this hadn't been done, but when I asked again in reception they did this very quickly. Later in the evening I ordered a bottle of Prosecco from room service. I was told it would be up in 15 minutes as they were going to chill it. Half an hour later, the door knocked and a room service lady asked if we needed anything. I explained we'd ordered wine, and she went to investigate. 5 minutes later she returned with desserts. I explained we hadn't ordered these, but ordered wine, and she seemed to not believe me! About 15 minutes later the wine finally arrived, but it cost £30.50! To give some context, the hotel has 'mini bar packages'. The platinum package, which includes a bottle of Prosecco, beers, vodka, gin, tonic, cans of coke, crisps and chocolate is only £28.00. How one bottle of Prosecco was so expensive, I'll never know.

After discovering how expensive the wine was, we decided we might as well order the Platinum package. However when I called down they said it was unavailable. I asked what in particular was unavailable, and the desk clerk merely repeated 'it's unavailable'.

Like I said, a very comfortable night's sleep, although we were woken by a leaf blower under our window at 0800, which isn't the best way to wake up!

Norwood Hall is a lovely hotel, but I can't help but think that if their service got an extra touch of sparkle, it'd be a very special place to stay.

Room Tip: Take your own drinks! Ask for a junior suite. Get a room on the East wing of the building, away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelchick000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#12 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Hotels

Property: Macdonald Hotels
Address: Garthdee Road, Aberdeen AB15 9FX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norwood Hall Hotel was built in 1881 on the site of the 15th Century Pitfodels Castle. This truly magnificent Victorian mansion exudes character and charm, with roaring log fires, sweeping staircases and magnificent interior design. Set in seven acres of secluded gardens and woodlands this four star hotel is the ideal venue to host your wedding,family gathering, business meeting and team away day. Norwood Hall has 73 en-suite bedrooms including junior suites, four poster rooms and superb original house rooms, which include all the luxury and modern facilities of a 4 star hotel, whilst still retaining the history and ambience of days gone by.The new conference centre boasts seven superb conference rooms with state-of-the-art audio visual equipment which, along with the traditional Norwood hospitality and customer service, is guaranteed to make your conference a successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwood Hall Aberdeen
Hotel Norwood Hall
Macdonald Hotels Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing