We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not a business hotel”
Review of Macdonald Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Hotels
Ranked #18 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The hotel is located not that far away from the city center. You can go by public transportation to the hotel. The surroundings are very nice and the hotel has the old traditional look.
But as a business hotel, you shall forget this. There is no Wi-Fi in the room, and the Wi-Fi accesable is only in the lobby and partly in rooms around the lobby. The telephone coverage is very poor. I cannot recommend this hotel before something has been done to improve communication in all means.
The food is good, but a bit expensive. This counts also for drinks.
The room is nice and comfortable, but the hot water can sometimes be cold! That is not good for the morning shower!
The staff is helpful and smiling. Use this accommodation for holidays.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

An experience worthwhile with traditional room which was large and modern clean bathroom
bar and dinner staff were very attentive and the standars of breakfast and dinner was good pity was spoiled by the sound of the kitchen staff at the window .. and the terrible background music
santa and aleksandre excelled but to get a smile or a hello from most reception was a chore ... pity its the gave of the hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationerfmsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed staying in our spacious junior suite. I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable dining experience and the team looked after you well.
I am very surprised to hear your comments regarding the front desk team as they are normally very pleasant girls delivering a high standard of customer service.
We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Norwood is great value for money in an overpriced aberdeen, the hotel is lovely with log fires and in a lovely traditional building. The only thing that lets this place down is the standard of service not their friendliness but their attentiveness, and proffesionalism. The team need to be managed better and then the hotel would be excellent. Dinner is lovely but breakfast is good but coked food can be greasy. Team need more training and attention to detail. But team are always happy and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manwering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you for your review, and your constructive criticism regarding the professionalism of the staff. We are currently carrying out refresher training with team members. I hope we will have the pleasure of looking after you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My husband and I have just spent 2 nights at this lovely hotel in Aberdeen. The hotel itself is a gem, I loved it since I walked into the hotel. All the common areas take you years back, it is indeed elegant, historic and sophisticated. All the staff we have come across has been friendly and polite. The girl in the bar was friendly and gave us plenty advise in what to do for the next day, the spanish lady in the restaurant was great, she looked after us very well, polite service always with a smile and she went that extra mile to get a especial dessert for me (I am a fussy eater!) I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loumart9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you for your kind review, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the charms of the wonderful historic house.
Cristina was happy to hear she was able to suggest a dessert that you enjoyed.
Thank you for your recomonadtion and we hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We booked into this hotel via a late room type website as Premier Inn was fully booked in Aberdeen on our visit date, thankfully we did not pay full room rates for our stay.
I cannot criticise the room, it was immaculate and very comfortable. We had nice complimentary toiletries and lovely thick towels.
For me though it was too formal, and the reception area while very stately was also rather gloomy. We paid for breakfast which was very good, with an very good choice and excellent coffee.
If we had to stay again and paid the same price I would be very happy.

Room Tip: Its in a quiet area of the city in its own Parkland our room was lovely, cant advise on a good choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAirey_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you for your kind review, the original house dates back to 1881 which adds to its charm and grandeur.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast selection. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Norwood in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Our daughter Kim chose Norwood for her wedding venue and what a wonderful choice that was. From booking in on Friday to booking out on Monday we were made to feel special. All the staff are friendly, polite and so efficient I am sure they knew what I wanted before I did. Felt more like part of a happy family than guests. Rooms clean and comfy. Great food - lots of options for breakfast and dinner all served by friendly staff. The hotel sits within trees and shrubs which makes you forget Aberdeen city is just minutes away. I would definitely recommend Norwood as a wedding venue and to thank everyone for making the weekend a wonderful stay - and your slippers were a life saver to me !!!! Thank you all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you for your review. The team at Norwood enjoyed looking after your family and friends during your special celebration; I am delighted everyone had a memorable day. We all wish the young couple a happy married life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The hotel is just on the outskirts away from the main City center but only a short drive or taxi ride to the City.The food is exceptional in the main restaurant or for room service with a good choice on the menu. the service is excellent and have always had a warm welcome by friendly staff. Will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: well worth upgrading to the executive rooms as they are some of the best rooms I have came accross.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottMotherwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you for your positive review. Chef was delighted to hear you enjoyed the food from his new menu and you found the team to be efficient and friendly.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Norwood again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,226 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Hotels

Address: Garthdee Road, Aberdeen AB15 9FX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £69 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norwood Hall Hotel was built in 1881 on the site of the 15th Century Pitfodels Castle. This truly magnificent Victorian mansion exudes character and charm, with roaring log fires, sweeping staircases and magnificent interior design. Set in seven acres of secluded gardens and woodlands this four star hotel is the ideal venue to host your wedding,family gathering, business meeting and team away day. Norwood Hall has 73 en-suite bedrooms including junior suites, four poster rooms and superb original house rooms, which include all the luxury and modern facilities of a 4 star hotel, whilst still retaining the history and ambience of days gone by.The new conference centre boasts seven superb conference rooms with state-of-the-art audio visual equipment which, along with the traditional Norwood hospitality and customer service, is guaranteed to make your conference a successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwood Hall Aberdeen
Hotel Norwood Hall
Macdonald Hotels Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing