We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebration lunch in Library”
Review of Macdonald Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Hotels
Ranked #16 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Celebration lunch in Library”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We had arranged, by telephone, to have a private lunch to celebrate a friend's birthday. We were delighted by the high standard of service in helping us to create a personalised menu, decorate the room and provide a very enjoyable event.

All of the staff were most helpful and the room was perfect for our celebratory lunch.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCC010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, Front Office Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us here. We are most pleased that you are happy with the layout of the room and of course the service you received. Above all we are pleased you had a memorable lunch with us.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    169
    64
    42
    41
See reviews for
126
233
26
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, England
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Quite a place.. Visited for 2 nights late November for a wedding and had a fantastic time. Very atmospheric in the old part of the house, supplemented with the obligatory ghosts. Staff were great, couldn't do enough for you and one of the older members of staff spent time explaining the history of the house to us.
We stayed in a junior suite in the new part of the hotel, and it's very good. Food was very good, the wedding was wonderful. All in all a great stay. Bar prices are expensive though so be prepared, but worth it to sit and drink in the Georgian bar on a winter evening with a log fire and in candlelight.
As for the ghosts, well we didn't see any but we did manage to keep a couple of guests awake for entire night by scratching at their bedroom door at the top of the main staircase where the ghost of a lady is reputed to haunt at 2.30am. Their faces at breakfast were priceless.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank weallstoned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, Front Office Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review. We all enjoyed in immensely. From your comments, please find the History of Norwood Hall below. We hope you will return again soon.

THE HISTORY OF NORWOOD HALL

In 1861 the Pitfodels land company sold the property of Norwood Hall to Mrs Helen Morrison, wife of Baillie William Adamson, a London stockbroker.

Mr Adamson had a fancy for the name 'Norwood' and gave the name to the property that he built on the land.

In 1868, two years after the death of Mr Adamson,his widow sold the property to John Taylor of Regents Park, London.

It was then re-sold again in 1872 to Colonel James 'Soapy' Ogston who partially rebuilt the house in 1881 He then moved his family across the river Dee to Blairs and gave Norwood to his mistress.

Norwood is of unique interest in that within the grounds stood the old home of Menzies of Pitfodels. The Pitfodels Castle stood high off the ground, slightly South East of the present house and the foundations of the castle are still there to this day, as they have been for the last fifty years

Norwood Hall is reputedly haunted by two ghosts, one is said to be the apparition of the Mistress of James Ogston. The poor woman despaired after Ogston would not leave his wife. The other is apparently Ogston himself and his apparition has been seen twice in the dining room in recent times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurrieq, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Was here for a buisness trip, From outside the hotel doesn't look like it's anything special but once inside it is beautiful, it has that very classical british feel to it. Room was very large with a huge flat screen tv, comfortable sofa, free internet and very modern highly finished bathroom. I would definately recommend. Bed was very comfortable and I had a very good sleep.

Food portions a bit on the small side, but quality was excellent. Bar prices slightly on the expensive side.

Room Tip: All rooms are very quite and generously sized
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, Front Office Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very kindly for your review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and are grateful to hear such positive reviews from regular business travellers.

Moving into next year we have plans in place to further improve the current high quality interior.

Once again thank you and we looking forward to receiving you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just been fortunate to spend a weekend at The Norwood Hotel. Difficult to see how it is only 4star, should be much better by comparison to other 4star hotels we have stayed in. It looks like a very old,possibly slightly run down place from the outside but appearances can be very deceptive. It is certainly not plush marble everywher, which would ruin such an old building. Once inside we just could not fault it. The rooms are a thing of beauty,very large(we had a super king size bed). Superb bathroom with accessories for bathing,bath robes etc etc.The staff are so polite,friendly,welcoming and knowledgeable. We stayed B&B only but the restaurant was excellent and the breakfast lay out was very impressive. The service was quite exrtraordinary,never seen the like before,even in Italian 4star places Well done all ar Norwood and thank you from Stan & Rosemary Boys

Room Tip: Can not add to the comments. It is a very quiet Hotel whichever side or floor you select. It really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, Front Office Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Stan & Rosemary Boys,

Thank you very kindly for your review. We are very happy you like the building because we really love the character. The environment produces a sense of warmth and classic elegance while the high standard of our restaurant gives you the necessary modernity that our guests appreciate.

We are always working to improve the standard of service. Our team are real customer service people and know how to deliver today's expectations.

We look forward to having you back here with us soon and recommend giving us a call to discuss our Dinner, Bed & Breakfast packages.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We recently held our wedding and reception here (27th October) and from start to finish we could not fault Norwood hall. We booked our wedding back in January and from the very first contact the staff could not be more helpful, friendly or polite. The hotel itself is gorgeous, set in lovely grounds yet still very close to the centre of Aberdeen, the open fires add to the very welcoming feel , particularly nice this time of the year.
The wedding day itself ran like clockwork, very well organised throughout ,all staff worked very hard to make our day special, a massive thanks to Jill and Chris in particular, Jill even came in on her day off just to check everything was going ok and congratulate us, a much appreciated gesture. Chris kept the whole day running smoothly , very professional and ensured everything was done on time which put us at ease. The Pitfodels suite makes an excellent wedding venue, for the ceremony, meal and evening receptions , being transformed each time into a totally different looking room! The whole day flowed very well and the layout of the hotel is perfect for this, guests happily waiting in the reception bar area while the main room was turned around, which didn't take long.
The wedding meal was excellent as were the breakfasts and all our guests seemed to agree!
Another very nice touch is that we were given a room the day before the wedding to store our flowers, boxes of favours, props for the room etc, the day after the wedding we were able to collect all our belongings which had been carefully returned to the room.
We had several family members and friends stay the night of the wedding and all commented on the standard of the rooms and quality of the food.
Special thanks also to Santa who ran the hotel bar after the wedding had finished for putting up with a few guests so well!
The hotel is stunning inside and out and makes for perfect wedding photos, from the main entrance and trees outside to the grand staircase inside, we got some lovely wedding pics.

Very well done and thank you to all at Norwood for making our wedding day so special and memorable, although the hotel is a very popular wedding venue, we still felt very special and were all made to feel very welcome throughout our stay, we were just sorry we had to leave!
We would definately recommend Norwood hall to anyone as a perfect wedding venue, your day is is safe hands with their excellent team.
We can not wait to go back to Norwood and will definately return to stay for our 1st wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kev_N_LouB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review here following your special day.

We take great pride in the high level of service we provide to our wedding guests as we know only too well, just how much importance is placed on such an occasion. Both Jill and Chris are excellent planners and coordinators and work hard and efficiently to ensure the outcome is successful with unique and personal delivery.

Our team have a great deal of experience in this area and work very closely together to provide the communication, timing and efficiency required, all the while ensuring all individual needs are met to provide the "personal touch".

We are very pleased you were happy with our service and cannot thank you enough choosing Norwood Hall to hold your special wedding day.

We look forward to receiving you back on your anniversary.

Thank you and best wishes,

Margaret Fraser
General Manager - Norwood Hall Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Do not stay here!

Cleaning staff take no notice of 'Do not disturb' door hanger. Three times they went/came into my room. Told me it was 'policy'. A complete breach of trust and privacy.

Also, went to have a bedtime shower and the water had stopped working. Toilet would not refill either. Called down to reception, still not fixed after 1 1/2 hrs. Had to brush teeth with bottled water.

I have stayed at some bad hotels in my time, but this is completely unacceptable. I know I will never stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Aelver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, Front Office Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We apologise for the inconvenience of the situation with the hot water. This is one of those rare occasions when something like this happens beyond our control. This was rectified as quickly as possible taking a little under 2 hours. A letter was provided to all guests advising to come and see us at the reception to be reasonably compensated.

Regarding the do not disturb. We place a letter to our guests in the morning to contact us by 2pm for the following purpose:

"Please note that in the interest of Health, Safety and Well-being of our guests, it is a Monument Leisure policy for housekeeping to return and enter your room at 2pm to check on your welfare"

Any guest can let us know before 2pm if they do not wish to be disturbed after that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had our wedding reception at Norwood Hall back in November 2008 and as a treat we decided to go back for our 5th anniversary. On arrival we were greeted by the receptionist who knew it was our anniversary. We were allocated the suite we had for our wedding night. We had a fantastic champagne afternoon tea in the bar. Dinner in the restaurant was one of the nicest meals we have had in a long time. All the staff were very friendly and excellent at the jobs. It was great to enjoy the hotel and relax as our last visit was our wedding and was a bit hetic and didnt get to really enjoy the hotel. All in all a fantastic stay in a fabulous hotel. Would recommend it highly.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dazza276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, Front Office Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review following your anniversary visit.

We are very pleased you returned to us for your anniversary and were only too happy to make your stay relaxed and enjoyable. We will always do what we can to place you in the same room as your wedding day so you can remember that special day you had with us.

We are also very happy our service was to the same expectation as your wedding day and hope you will return to us again one day in the future.

We wish you both the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,090 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 65 in Aberdeen
742 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Hotels

Property: Macdonald Hotels
Address: Garthdee Road, Aberdeen AB15 9FX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norwood Hall Hotel was built in 1881 on the site of the 15th Century Pitfodels Castle. This truly magnificent Victorian mansion exudes character and charm, with roaring log fires, sweeping staircases and magnificent interior design. Set in seven acres of secluded gardens and woodlands this four star hotel is the ideal venue to host your wedding,family gathering, business meeting and team away day. Norwood Hall has 73 en-suite bedrooms including junior suites, four poster rooms and superb original house rooms, which include all the luxury and modern facilities of a 4 star hotel, whilst still retaining the history and ambience of days gone by.The new conference centre boasts seven superb conference rooms with state-of-the-art audio visual equipment which, along with the traditional Norwood hospitality and customer service, is guaranteed to make your conference a successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwood Hall Aberdeen
Hotel Norwood Hall
Macdonald Hotels Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing