We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Hotels
Nearby Hotels
Atholl Hotel(Aberdeen)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ibis Aberdeen Centre(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$115
US$111
Mercure
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skene House Rosemount(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (698)
Filter reviews
698 results
Traveller rating
362
179
68
46
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
179
68
46
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorwood hallbeautiful hotelafternoon teawedding partyrobert gordonwedding receptionjunior suitebar pricesstaff were attentivecourse mealboth morningsroom was largecooked breakfasta lovely staylovely roompublic areasaberdeen city centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
413 - 418 of 698 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Have stayed here a couple of times - have had a lovely stay each time. The attentive staff and beautiful rooms make the stay very enjoyable. The restaurant breakfast and dinner food is of a high standard and the general manager is obviously doing a great job.

Room Tip: Every room I have stayed in has been lovely
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reviewsarehonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review.

The team work hard to ensure guests enjoy a high standard of hospitality.
Our recently appointed executive chef has reviewed our dining options creating a well balanced menu to suit all dinners.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Norwood in the near future.

Kind regards,

Margaret Fraser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as wedding guests on valentines day. I could not fault a single thing! The reception staff were extremely welcoming and friendly, she even checked if other family members had arrived yet. She showed us to the elevator and gave us clear instructions to our room. Room was amazing! Huge comfy bed, fantastic bathroom all spotlessly clean with attention to detail. The food and service at the wedding was outstanding as was our private breakfast the next morning. Very impressed and would most definitely return. Even the housekeeping staff were friendly and said good morning, held doors open for you etc. beautiful hotel with fantastic staff. If I was their manager I would be extremely proud. Well done Norwood!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TAMember4172012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review. The team will be delighted to hear your comments. All departments work hard in providing a high level of hospitality ensuring guests are very well looked after.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Norwood in the near future.

Kind regards

Margaret Fraser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Having recently spent two nights at Norwood Hall Hotel we would like to commend you on a thoroughly enjoyable weekend. The staff were very friendly and most efficient, the restaurant was just superb for dinner and breakfast.Our room was spacious and extremely comfortable. We enjoyed our first evening relaxing by the log fires after a delicious fine dining experience. On the second evening we were delighted to attend the in house entertainment, which was most enjoyable. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and garden which we found most relaxing.
Brilliant weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacqM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

After a lot a let downs in other top country house hotels in Aberdeenshire recently I was actually expecting some mishaps here and there but to be honest for the first time in ages I can find only one thing to complain about ....
The price of alcohol is steep but apart from that the room was clean and up to standard maintenance wise, the food was fantastic, the staff (the receptionist and waitress at breakfast in particular) were lovely
All very helpful and made out visit
Thank you :)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lilymaymunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Our stunning Victorian mansion has been tastefully maintained both inside and out.

Our rosette restaurant, spacious bedrooms, high service standards, warm and cosy atmosphere, beautiful woodland surroundings provide guests with a relaxing atmosphere.

Thank you once again for an excellent review and welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Was taken to Norwood hall hotel as a surprise for valentines day. We only stayed one night but we were satisfied about everything. It's such a lovely hotel staff are very professional and helpful. Our room was lovely, very clean and bed was really comfy, we were also supplied with robe and slippers. We will definitely be back to stay but we will make it longer next time.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us here. I am very happy you chose Norwood to have your very special evening.

The evening was a great success and I am pleased you found all aspects of your stay to the standard that such an evening requires.

Please contact us directly should you wish to stay with us again for a longer period and we will happily inform you of our best rates and provide you with a full up to date restaurant menu.

Once again, thank you.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews