We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free upgrade for anniversary. Lovely public spaces”
Review of Macdonald Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Hotels
Ranked #16 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Keith, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Free upgrade for anniversary. Lovely public spaces”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I surprised my wife with one night stay here in March '14. It is a relatively large hotel which caters for many weddings etc.
On arrival we were informed we had been given a free upgrade from the 'Standard Double'. I presume this was to an 'Executive Double'. This said however the room (Room 9) was still relatively small. Probably a on a par with a standard double you would find in say a premier inn or equivalent. This may have been due to the age of that part of the building.

The public rooms we're beautiful. Very grand and decorated in dark wood it gave the hotel almost a 'medieval feel'. Unfortunately this was not carried over into the bedrooms. Not to say our room was not nice, it was still decorated to a high standard, but it was a shame to walk up the grand staircase with portraits and deep mahogany, only to enter a rather 'standard style' in the room.

The management very kindly included a fruit bowl with our upgrade, which was very much appreciated. We also enjoyed breakfast in bed and can recommend this greatly. Very nice including the Stowaway Black pudding.

Room Cost: £104 (via Amoma.com)
Cost of two Gin & Tonics: £16

Room Tip: Hard to say. Try requesting a more 'spacious' room rather than going by the hotels terms of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave_Hardacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review and for choosing us as the venue for your anniversary weekend. We offer a variety of rooms in our original house which all have unique features and layouts. I am sorry that you did not feel your upgraded room reflected the beautiful décor throughout the public areas of our original house.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future and showing you some more of the rooms we have available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    169
    64
    42
    41
See reviews for
126
233
26
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here for a wedding and it was beautiful it really was,residence bar had no complaints but wedding reaction bar...please watch your drinks! prices vary later on for same drinks?! and nips seem to get less and less with some bar staff!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen2081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted you had an enjoyable wedding and you were pleased with our stunning hotel and grounds. I apologise for any confusion or inconsistency with our function bar service. Our staff mark drinks as 'late drinks' on the receipt, but this does not affect pricing and is for internal filing. I will ensure staff are trained and retrained to pour consistently.

Thank you again for your positive review and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Margaret Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed there as part of a wedding party over a two night stay. Room was immaculate, comfy beds and pristine bathroom. The staff were amazing, so helpful and nothing was a bother for them. Evening meal was lovely and breakfast was a feast. Top marks. Will definitely plan a return visit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Norwood. I will pass on your wonderful comments regarding the cleanliness of our rooms, Caroline and her team will be very proud.

We hope to welcome you back again!

Margaret Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed at the Norwood overnight as my son had a University visit.We were warmly welcomed by excellent staff.Rooms amazing, staff, food and surroundings.Wished we had time to stay an extra night . thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed a high level of hospitality.
I hope your son enjoyed his visit to the university and we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back when you come to visit him during his studies.

Kind regards,

Margaret Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Pleasant hotel. Nice big rooms and free wifi. Room service is very good so is breakfast. Staff are very friendly. Close to a bus route in to Aberdeen city centre, very easy to get to. Nice little country hotel. No pool or fitness centre which would make it a little better.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire2087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review.

Chef will be delighted to hear your positive feedback, breakfast is one of our specialities.

We our known as the country house hotel in the city situated in our 7 acres of woodland and manicured gardens, yet only 3 miles from the city centre giving that rural feeling.

Margaret Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights for a family wedding.
The hotel is set in a quiet location on the outskirts of Aberdeen.
The original part of the hotel is of great historical interest and the extension to the hotel has been well thought out by Macdonalds as it blends in very well.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable.
The food choice and quality is excellent.
This is the best Macdonalds hotel we have stayed at.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review, the team are delighted you have voted us the best hotel in our group. We are all very proud of the hotel having so much character and history behind it.

Our newly appointed Executive Chef, Kenny McMillan is working on new exciting food options. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to sample some of his new dishes.

Margaret Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Bedrooms very spacious, food excellent and ALL the staff very friendly, and attentive. The hotel has so much character. Set outside all the hussle and bussle of the town, but easy to get to if you wish.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazyladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we are very proud of our wonderful hotel. I am delighted you were well looked after by the team and enjoyed chef's food.

We hope to welcome you back again soon

Margaret Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,090 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 65 in Aberdeen
742 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Hotels

Property: Macdonald Hotels
Address: Garthdee Road, Aberdeen AB15 9FX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norwood Hall Hotel was built in 1881 on the site of the 15th Century Pitfodels Castle. This truly magnificent Victorian mansion exudes character and charm, with roaring log fires, sweeping staircases and magnificent interior design. Set in seven acres of secluded gardens and woodlands this four star hotel is the ideal venue to host your wedding,family gathering, business meeting and team away day. Norwood Hall has 73 en-suite bedrooms including junior suites, four poster rooms and superb original house rooms, which include all the luxury and modern facilities of a 4 star hotel, whilst still retaining the history and ambience of days gone by.The new conference centre boasts seven superb conference rooms with state-of-the-art audio visual equipment which, along with the traditional Norwood hospitality and customer service, is guaranteed to make your conference a successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwood Hall Aberdeen
Hotel Norwood Hall
Macdonald Hotels Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing