We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over Prices Drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Macdonald Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Hotels
Ranked #15 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Over Prices Drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Was at this hotel for a wedding , Lovely hotel and grounds but they should be embarrassed what the charge for their drinks. My husband bought 7 drinks on arrival and was £42 then he realised he had forgotten my drink he went back to the bar and asked for a whisky (Grouse not even a Malt) and coke and he was charged £7 they have the cheek to charge £4.50 for a 250ml bottle of coke why do these establishments need to do this when we all know the real price shocking total rip off they should be ashamed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scootaboot67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed our wonderful house and our surrounding gardens. Fernando our gardener works hard to maintain the grounds to a high standard. We offer a range of quality branded drinks in our bars which are priced in line with our competitors to ensure we are always competitively priced for a four star hotel in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    161
    63
    42
    40
See reviews for
122
229
25
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I have just stayed at the Norwood Hall Hotel this weekend and I have to say that I was impressed by the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and the standard of accommodation and food was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPirnie151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for your positive review. I am delighted that you received excellent service from our staff and that you were pleased with the quality of accommodation and dining.

I hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I surprised my wife with one night stay here in March '14. It is a relatively large hotel which caters for many weddings etc.
On arrival we were informed we had been given a free upgrade from the 'Standard Double'. I presume this was to an 'Executive Double'. This said however the room (Room 9) was still relatively small. Probably a on a par with a standard double you would find in say a premier inn or equivalent. This may have been due to the age of that part of the building.

The public rooms we're beautiful. Very grand and decorated in dark wood it gave the hotel almost a 'medieval feel'. Unfortunately this was not carried over into the bedrooms. Not to say our room was not nice, it was still decorated to a high standard, but it was a shame to walk up the grand staircase with portraits and deep mahogany, only to enter a rather 'standard style' in the room.

The management very kindly included a fruit bowl with our upgrade, which was very much appreciated. We also enjoyed breakfast in bed and can recommend this greatly. Very nice including the Stowaway Black pudding.

Room Cost: £104 (via Amoma.com)
Cost of two Gin & Tonics: £16

Room Tip: Hard to say. Try requesting a more 'spacious' room rather than going by the hotels terms of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave_Hardacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review and for choosing us as the venue for your anniversary weekend. We offer a variety of rooms in our original house which all have unique features and layouts. I am sorry that you did not feel your upgraded room reflected the beautiful décor throughout the public areas of our original house.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future and showing you some more of the rooms we have available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here for a wedding and it was beautiful it really was,residence bar had no complaints but wedding reaction bar...please watch your drinks! prices vary later on for same drinks?! and nips seem to get less and less with some bar staff!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen2081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted you had an enjoyable wedding and you were pleased with our stunning hotel and grounds. I apologise for any confusion or inconsistency with our function bar service. Our staff mark drinks as 'late drinks' on the receipt, but this does not affect pricing and is for internal filing. I will ensure staff are trained and retrained to pour consistently.

Thank you again for your positive review and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Margaret Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed there as part of a wedding party over a two night stay. Room was immaculate, comfy beds and pristine bathroom. The staff were amazing, so helpful and nothing was a bother for them. Evening meal was lovely and breakfast was a feast. Top marks. Will definitely plan a return visit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Norwood. I will pass on your wonderful comments regarding the cleanliness of our rooms, Caroline and her team will be very proud.

We hope to welcome you back again!

Margaret Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed at the Norwood overnight as my son had a University visit.We were warmly welcomed by excellent staff.Rooms amazing, staff, food and surroundings.Wished we had time to stay an extra night . thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed a high level of hospitality.
I hope your son enjoyed his visit to the university and we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back when you come to visit him during his studies.

Kind regards,

Margaret Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Pleasant hotel. Nice big rooms and free wifi. Room service is very good so is breakfast. Staff are very friendly. Close to a bus route in to Aberdeen city centre, very easy to get to. Nice little country hotel. No pool or fitness centre which would make it a little better.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire2087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review.

Chef will be delighted to hear your positive feedback, breakfast is one of our specialities.

We our known as the country house hotel in the city situated in our 7 acres of woodland and manicured gardens, yet only 3 miles from the city centre giving that rural feeling.

Margaret Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#12 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Hotels

Property: Macdonald Hotels
Address: Garthdee Road, Aberdeen AB15 9FX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norwood Hall Hotel was built in 1881 on the site of the 15th Century Pitfodels Castle. This truly magnificent Victorian mansion exudes character and charm, with roaring log fires, sweeping staircases and magnificent interior design. Set in seven acres of secluded gardens and woodlands this four star hotel is the ideal venue to host your wedding,family gathering, business meeting and team away day. Norwood Hall has 73 en-suite bedrooms including junior suites, four poster rooms and superb original house rooms, which include all the luxury and modern facilities of a 4 star hotel, whilst still retaining the history and ambience of days gone by.The new conference centre boasts seven superb conference rooms with state-of-the-art audio visual equipment which, along with the traditional Norwood hospitality and customer service, is guaranteed to make your conference a successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwood Hall Aberdeen
Hotel Norwood Hall
Macdonald Hotels Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing