We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Macdonald Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Hotels
Ranked #18 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed many of times over the last 3 years, It is a lovely hotel with a family run felt vibe.

The reception area is a nice mix of modern mixed with old and the log burning fire, rooms are just flawless. Comfy big beds, big TVs and huge bathrooms.

If you order food you will asking for more because it taste so nice.

My only negative is the price of soft drinks, its cheaper to drink alcohol in the hotel.

If this had some sort of annex for a gym or small spa this would make this the perfect hotel in Aberdeen.

Would highly recommend

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nattybuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the atmosphere, food and accommodation we provide.

We have just recently carried out a competitive analysis and confirm our drink prices are in line or cheaper than other local 4* hotels.

The hotel is constantly being developed with our major new kitchen extension almost completed. Our final development will be a luxury spag which will complete our facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    164
    64
    42
    41
See reviews for
123
232
26
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We had a great stay, beautiful hotel, and our room was very comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was awesome, the women managing the hot breakfast buffet was charming. I wish I had asked her name. All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IAlwaysWantToGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind review. We take great pride in our hotel and are delighted you enjoyed our stay and felt welcomed by our staff. I will be delighted to pass on your compliments to Helen, our breakfast supervisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had a wonderful large well appointed room and porter showed us to our room.
We attended a wedding there which was a wonderful experience. The only down side was the huge cost of the bar drinks. The wedding was we'll run and there was a beautiful breakfast served in the hall and that kept the whole wedding party together which I thought was an excellent as it gave us all time to chat over the previous day of celebrations

Room Tip: Room number 418 was right beside the lift and the porter said it was the best room in the hotel, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saintcombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room to exceed your expectations. We also offer a selection of luxury feature suites that offer a truly unique experience within the original 1881 mansion.

Regarding the bar costs, we offer a selection of premium brand beverages with a range of pricing. Our pricing is in line with all other four star establishments in the local area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked a 2 night stay at Norwood Hall Hotel using Itison vouchers having stayed here a few times in the past. The hotel is in a peaceful setting yet is only minutes from the City Centre and the main A90 route. We were very impressed with the welcome we received from the receptionist, and Craig (the Concierge) was friendly and knowledgeable. Our package included champagne and cupcakes - the bottle was chilling in our room but the cupcakes were delivered within minutes of our arrival, along with fresh milk and homemade shortbread. The attention to detail and these extra touches make all the difference.

Our room was huge, with a sitting area comprising of a sofa and armchair, a desk, and a TV cabinet concealing the LCD TV. The bathroom was also huge and had a bath with seperate shower enclosure. Bathrobes, slippers, luxury toiletries and free wifi were also included.

We ate in the Tapestry Restaurant on both evenings and couldn't fault the food or service. The range of dishes on the set menu was excellent as was the selection available on the wine list.

Breakfast was superb with an extensive cold buffet selection, with the hot items being cooked to order and brought to your table, along with tea/coffee and toast.

We found all of the staff to be friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere in the hotel was entirely conducive to a relaxing break in a country house hotel.

Despite the fact that there was a wedding taking place on the Saturday afternoon we were never made to feel as if we were 'in the way' and the noise from the function room was not intrusive after 10 pm.

We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing break in a country house hotel and we definitely hope to return again in the near future.

Room Tip: From our experience, all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queenshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guests, thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are delighted you received such a warm welcome and I will pass on your comments to Craig and our concierge team. We always strive to provide every guest with a VIP service and it is very rewarding to know you had a positive experience from arrival to departure.

Thank you once more and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A brief note to thank you and your staff for an excellent stay at Norwood Hall which we both enjoyed over the last two days.

From the original welcome by Lauren on reception to Craig the Concierge, Helen in the restaurant and in fact all your staff, we were treated royally and immediately felt at home.

The room was first class, the food and wine excellent, and ..... we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Go for the Junior Suite - loads of space and excellent value for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimOag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I will be happy to pass on your compliments to Lauren, Craig and Helen as well as the rest of our staff for providing you with great service.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at the Norwood for two nights this weekend for my sisters wedding. I would have ranked 5 out of 5 for everything had it not been for the price of drinks (soft and alcoholic) and food (fish and chips in a wee room - £15). That said, Margret and the team were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble whether it was a guest or the bride herself :-) thanks for a great "mini-break" 7 miles from my home :-) :-) my sisters wedding went without a hitch - with all the guests day and night having a great time. The 4 for the rooms is due to the fact that anyone staying with a child is charged £15 per child per night - there are no "family rooms" at all

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnMGerrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your five star review. I am so glad you and your family had an enjoyable experience and that the wedding went perfectly. Our drinks are priced in line with local competitors and our food is sourced from high quality suppliers using top quality sustainable produce. Our Junior Suites can accommodate additional children’s beds at an additional Bed and Breakfast charge for children aged 5 – 15, children under 5 are complimentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Was at this hotel for a wedding , Lovely hotel and grounds but they should be embarrassed what the charge for their drinks. My husband bought 7 drinks on arrival and was £42 then he realised he had forgotten my drink he went back to the bar and asked for a whisky (Grouse not even a Malt) and coke and he was charged £7 they have the cheek to charge £4.50 for a 250ml bottle of coke why do these establishments need to do this when we all know the real price shocking total rip off they should be ashamed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scootaboot67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed our wonderful house and our surrounding gardens. Fernando our gardener works hard to maintain the grounds to a high standard. We offer a range of quality branded drinks in our bars which are priced in line with our competitors to ensure we are always competitively priced for a four star hotel in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,075 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
2.7 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 65 in Aberdeen
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Hotels

Property: Macdonald Hotels
Address: Garthdee Road, Aberdeen AB15 9FX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norwood Hall Hotel was built in 1881 on the site of the 15th Century Pitfodels Castle. This truly magnificent Victorian mansion exudes character and charm, with roaring log fires, sweeping staircases and magnificent interior design. Set in seven acres of secluded gardens and woodlands this four star hotel is the ideal venue to host your wedding,family gathering, business meeting and team away day. Norwood Hall has 73 en-suite bedrooms including junior suites, four poster rooms and superb original house rooms, which include all the luxury and modern facilities of a 4 star hotel, whilst still retaining the history and ambience of days gone by.The new conference centre boasts seven superb conference rooms with state-of-the-art audio visual equipment which, along with the traditional Norwood hospitality and customer service, is guaranteed to make your conference a successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwood Hall Aberdeen
Hotel Norwood Hall
Macdonald Hotels Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing