We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of Rox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rox Hotel
Ranked #50 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We booked the Rox for our wedding in November and I wanted to write a review to express our gratitude to the staff and management.

Firstly, the hotel is stunning. From the immaculate, mirrored, marble entrance through to the restored ballroom, no detail is left out. As the bride, I stayed both on the Friday and Saturday and our room was fabulous. Room 501, executive suite with views out over the harbour. The breakfast on the Saturday that was pre-ordered and delivered to the room was great and very large portions. (thank you Lauren for telling me about this, it saved a lot of time by not going to the restaurant on what was to be a very busy day.)

Our actual wedding day went without a single hitch, Ed the operations manager is superb, I cannot rate him highly enough, nothing is a problem and he certainly was the reason our day ran so smoothly.

Food is terrific and even the night porters who were serving wedding guests at 4am in the bar were of good humour and made us feel unhurried even though the had a mammoth cleaning task from the days events. I cannot rate this hotel highly enough. Thank you for making our wedding day so special.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GCabrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

Arrived mid-afternoon and greeted well, and given executive room No 207 eventully got there, the room had recently been refurbished and was fine the 2 x windows of the room overlooked the patio area (this patio area was later to become the HUB for the smoking and drinking that led to extensive noise into the wee small hours) I would suggest a canopy over this area to contain some of the noise. And also on the Saturday after returning to the hotel from our shopping spree late afternoon to find that our room had not been serviced, my wife contacted reception to inform them of the situation and the receptionest repleyed that she was unaware that room service was done on a daily bases, but she would contact the maid, The maid arrived at the door to say she had been busy all day and she didnt finish till 5pm.and she had forgot. My just asked for the clean towels. Overall we were disappointed and wouldnt recommend staying.

Room Tip: not over looking the patio area at weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Great room in a newly renovated hotel. Short walk to the train, lovely restaraunts and shopping. I really enjoyed my 5 night stay in an executive room.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cacr720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

What a transformation from its' previous humble self. The owners, management team, and designers should feel extremely proud of the quality of new life they have given to this awesome new centre piece for Aberdeen.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i8wrds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

This kind of hotel is the typical standard type you can find in a great city like Roma, Paris, etc. It has very comfortable rooms, but cooled from Ikea-type furniture; this gives you the idea of staying in an impersonal residence. The position is good and horrible at the same type: the hotel is just 5 min walking from the center of the city, located in a parallel street; the problem is the commercial harbor, is near too. If you don’t usually sleep like a bear in a cold winter, you will pass the night with your eyes fixed at the ceiling. The price is very high, like everything in this meaningless city. Don’t you work for an oil company? Really not??! Then go away, there is nothing you can do in this “middle-aged cannibalized from modern architecture” city.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecto77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Spent 3 nights at the hotel with my son and 2 granchildren, very nice staff, very clean hotel, really good food, will be back for sure, The staff made the children feel very welcome, and couldnt do enough for us.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Being the maid of honour it was my duty to organise a nice hotel for the hen party night away and I certainly was not disappointed and neither were the other 11 people I had booked for. This hotel is stunning, a stone's throw from the train and bus station and most importantly for us women...THE SHOPS ! I would like to personally thank Lauren on reception, she was most helpful and very obliging and she also gave us a little tour of the hotel, and also a huge thanks to Ed the operations manager who made it that little bit extra special for my friend by organising a bunch of balloons and a lovely bottle of wine on ice in the room for the bride to be's arrival. We are already discussing dates for our return to this hotel, the rooms were beautifully decorated too. I would most definitely recommend this hotel, good quality and excellent value for money. Thank you The Rox and keep up the good work.

The McNaughton party

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roxhotelops, Operations Manager at Rox Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2011

Hi there Nicola, and thanks for taking the time to review the hotel! Thrilled to see you thought your stay was so enjoyable that it was worth becoming a member of and posting a review on Trip Advisor!

We were absolutely thrilled to have been able to welcome your party to the hotel and are always happy to do whatever we can to make individual stays particularly special, so the wine and balloons were my pleasure.

Lauren will be delighted to see her name in lights on here, too!

Let me know when you've decided on your dates for a return visit.

Many thanks again, and we all look forward to welcoming you back!

Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
2.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
922 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Aberdeen
Residence Inn Aberdeen
#30 of 65 in Aberdeen
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carmelite
Carmelite
#51 of 65 in Aberdeen
681 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#17 of 65 in Aberdeen
422 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#41 of 65 in Aberdeen
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rox Hotel

Address: 17-23 Market Street, Aberdeen AB11 5PY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £49 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rox Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Rox Hotel, one of Aberdeen’s premier hotels located right in the heart of the city centre. The Rox is a stunning new four star hotel combining many contemporary and classical features. With eight floors, 32 luxurious bedrooms, a magnificent grand ballroom, restaurant and dining areas, the Rox is all you would expect of a top quality hotel. From the moment you walk in you will be captivated by the bright airy surroundings, the luxurious marble floors and the magnificent glass balconies. The Rox Hotel is situated in Market Street, Aberdeen close to rail and ferry links and a mere twenty minute drive from Aberdeen Airport. It is on the doorstep of Aberdeen’s latest and largest shopping and leisure complex, Union Square with over 60 shops and a 10 screen cinema just a short walk from the hotel. Guests can relax and look forward to a comfortable night’s sleep in our stylish bedrooms and when it comes to fine dining, the Rox offers a choice of dining areas where guests can choose from our superb menus and enjoy our outstanding cuisine. There are also relaxing bar areas, the perfect setting to unwind with a cocktail or traditional whisky. Our magnificent grand ballroom is a sight to behold and has been designed to stage the grandest weddings, the most impressive banquets, and receptions to make the right impression. The Rox also has meeting and function rooms for conferences, out-of-office meetings and other important business events. Join us at the Rox and enjoy the wonderful atmosphere of this magnificent new hotel where our dedicated staff will make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rox Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing