We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Fabulous Wedding Day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rox Hotel
Ranked #51 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Aberdeen
1 review
“Our Fabulous Wedding Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding reception at the Rox Hotel and can't begin to put into words the amazing experience we had. The service provided by all the staff was exceptional and highly praised by many of our guests. The hotel provided a superb attention to detail and made sure that every single request was carried out in a friendly and professional manner. Our photographer, hairdressers and band were also made welcome with requests being happily met. No request seemed to trouble the hotel. We would especially like to thank the Managers Eddie & Scott for making our day everything we would hope it to be, as well as Donna for guiding us through the wedding planning.

This is a fantastic would highly recommend, for any event and especially weddings!!

Steven & Victoria Smith

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    86
    43
    25
    31
See reviews for
26
100
14
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Excellent hotel in Aberdeen we stayed in the junior suites which were amazing and you could see boats in the harbour.
Rooms were huge and well furnished.
Staff were very friendly and helpful
Good location really close to the train station you could walk it if you have no mobility issues
Clean, great location, good value, great food and drinks, great staff

Room Tip: We stayed in the junior suite was great no noise and lots of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizSloman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

First of all the staff were very attentive, cheerful and helpful so noting wrong there! The hotel tries to be chic but sort of misses the point. For example the “dinning” area is more like a works canteen than a chic restaurant all be it a very nice works canteen. Rooms were spacious and comfortable with plenty of space to work and, eventually, sleep. The standard evening meal menu was just that “standard” – nothing local or exciting to whet the appetite and say this is Aberdeen at it’s best! I suppose it conformed to the works canteen ethos!
Despite the cheerful staff and good sized comfortable rooms it was disappointing overall and overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Godfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

I had my 21st birthday at the Rox Hotel.

In aberdeen there is a real lack of quality places that are suitable for such an occasion. My step dad found this as it is obviously a well-regarded hotel. It is a 4-star but feels like a 5-star. We got our own private room for 18 of us to have a 3-course meal. The staff were great, the venue was classy, the food was nice/well presented/all on time and the drinks flowed nicely!

Would thoroughly recommend to anyone who wants an intimate, classy and high quality event for an important occasion! It is dead centre of Aberdeen to was easy to get to and to go out afterwards. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattAitchison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

I was at The Rox Hotel for Afternoon Tea on Saturday 27 April for a 40th Birthday Celebration with 13-15 friends. The table was booked for 7pm - on arrival at 6.55pm, we went to our table which was in darkness and not set up. The table was still dirty from the previous customers but we assumed all would be taken care of. It wasn't. The "waitress" set up the table around the 4 of us that had arrived (without wiping it down). The others arrived by about 7.10pm and we were all left sitting. We weren't even offered a glass of water. With afternoon tea you get a cocktail or glass of prosecco, we finally oredered, then the trays of afternoon tea came out to the table. Still no cocktails. We couold see all of the cocktails lined up at the bar but nobody was bringing them over. Finally after asking, we got them at 7.45pm! One of our group has Celiac Disease and was waiting for her afternoon tea to appear but nothing. When asking the "waitress", she said she knew nothing of this. On booking the table, it was requested as well as a telephone call and subsequent email the week of us attending, so there were 3 instances of this being passed onto the Hotel. Still sitting in darkness, the "waitress" said the Kitchen had not been informed and that it was such a shame "because we do a great afternoon tea for such a diet". This actually made things worse for us all - not better. She finally got a bowl of chilli which she did get free but I would have to say the whole experience was awful from start to finish. Something we were so looking forward to was a complete mess and let down. Not worth the money or the hassle. We grudged paying and couldnt wait to get out of there. Its a shame because the decor is pretty but the staff and service for a 4* hotel is SHOCKING. Thats 15 people that wont be back and 15 people that will tell their friends/colleagues never to go there either.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

After an endless troll to find a venue in Aberdeen that is prepared to flexibly organise a menu,and room, to house our sons 21st Celebrarion dinner, we finally came across The Rox.Don't be put off by it's unassuming frontage,inside houses a chic,clean,modern layout,more suited to cities like Edinburgh and London.
On the night the food and service matched it's aspirations and I recommend it to anyone seeking an Aberdeen venue for a special function.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catriona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed one night in the Rox when on business in Aberdeen. The hotel was clean, fresh and worthy of the 4 star rating. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the staff attentive. Our room was comfortable but having paid £265 for one night dinner, bed and breakfast.... we didn't appreciate being woken at 4am by a member of staff banging the door to the adjacent room badged 'surveillance ?' when collecting a vacuum. Our room was obviously over a door on the floor below with a faulty closer as for the next hour the door was banged constantly by someone moving about - presumably the same member of staff with no consideration for the patrons. Hotel guests often stumble in at all hours and aren't too quiet, but a member of staff should know better!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RNBScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.0 mi away
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
#27 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carmelite
Carmelite
#44 of 64 in Aberdeen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#18 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rox Hotel

Property: Rox Hotel
Address: 17-23 Market Street, Aberdeen AB11 5PY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rox Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Rox Hotel, one of Aberdeen’s premier hotels located right in the heart of the city centre. The Rox is a stunning new four star hotel combining many contemporary and classical features. With eight floors, 32 luxurious bedrooms, a magnificent grand ballroom, restaurant and dining areas, the Rox is all you would expect of a top quality hotel. From the moment you walk in you will be captivated by the bright airy surroundings, the luxurious marble floors and the magnificent glass balconies. The Rox Hotel is situated in Market Street, Aberdeen close to rail and ferry links and a mere twenty minute drive from Aberdeen Airport. It is on the doorstep of Aberdeen’s latest and largest shopping and leisure complex, Union Square with over 60 shops and a 10 screen cinema just a short walk from the hotel. Guests can relax and look forward to a comfortable night’s sleep in our stylish bedrooms and when it comes to fine dining, the Rox offers a choice of dining areas where guests can choose from our superb menus and enjoy our outstanding cuisine. There are also relaxing bar areas, the perfect setting to unwind with a cocktail or traditional whisky. Our magnificent grand ballroom is a sight to behold and has been designed to stage the grandest weddings, the most impressive banquets, and receptions to make the right impression. The Rox also has meeting and function rooms for conferences, out-of-office meetings and other important business events. Join us at the Rox and enjoy the wonderful atmosphere of this magnificent new hotel where our dedicated staff will make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rox Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing