We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Comfortable”
Review of Rox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rox Hotel
Ranked #51 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The accommodations at the Rox were surprisingly comfortable and unusually large for the expected UK lodging which can be quite restrictive and "cozy" feeling. My room had a kingsize bed and plenty of pillows. The bed was firm and allowed me to fall quickly asleep. I had 2 windows that saw over the rooftops front he 4th floor and even across the dock which was entertaining. The room had a coffee pot which took some getting used to but after a failed trial run I got the hang of it and made a successful cup of hot chocolate.

The breakfast was a typical scrambled eggs, hash browns, roasted tomatoes, sautéed mushrooms, and ham. The coffee was strong and full of flavor, delicious.

Its located only a few blocks from the Union Square and the dock. And although I was told that I shouldn't go through the docks at night, I would return if had the chance. ----Who goes through the docks at night, anyway?!----

Room Tip: request a room looking over the dock or the market street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

198 - 204 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

Booking made for 22 people for friends 50th birthday was awful. Service was unorganised and uncoordinated, leaving our party frustrated and dis satisfied. Party were split up, shortage of scones for all party, tea arrived one hour after food....management completely unprofessional. What should have been special day was ruined by this establishment.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Had my 40th here in March and was fab. Good service, nice and clean and plenty space. Good central location. Tea was fine but more selection of cakes would be better. Scones and sandwiches were fine though!! Would recommend this for a get together with friends in the afternoon!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jacksno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is the 2nd time in months since my sister and I have been to Rox Hotel for a cocktail after a days shopping and decided to have something to eat, we both ordered Fish and Chips which was fabulous, best Fish and Chips in years, combined with excellent value and friendly service a definate 10/10. Compliments to the Chef.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great central location but the room was facing the main street outside which was very noisy with traffic and bars below.

The hotel is stunning on the inside but the decor in the room did not live up to expectations - it was fairly standard.

Everything was clean, the bed was comfy and staff were welcoming.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Receptionist was not a very happy looking person seemed as though it was a problem to do things. Room was just ok 2 windows high up so could see nothing outside at all. Damp patch in bathroom so reported it and all we got was an oh ok. Went to bar and the guy behind the bar was so sour and hardly took us on at all. Breakfast was just ok but nothing great definitely wouldn't stay here again

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 4 days during induction/training process with my company.I found the rooms,food and service excellent.Courney and the rest of the girls in reception could not have done more for us and also the waiting staff.
Loved the room and it was very well finished off.

Hopefully return for another visit and would recommennd to anyone who is looking for a cracking,central hotel.

Room Tip: ......if not comfortable just ask Courtney...lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.1 mi away
Carmelite
Carmelite
#49 of 65 in Aberdeen
676 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Aberdeen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
1.5 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,259 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#19 of 65 in Aberdeen
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rox Hotel

Address: 17-23 Market Street, Aberdeen AB11 5PY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £89 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rox Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Rox Hotel, one of Aberdeen’s premier hotels located right in the heart of the city centre. The Rox is a stunning new four star hotel combining many contemporary and classical features. With eight floors, 32 luxurious bedrooms, a magnificent grand ballroom, restaurant and dining areas, the Rox is all you would expect of a top quality hotel. From the moment you walk in you will be captivated by the bright airy surroundings, the luxurious marble floors and the magnificent glass balconies. The Rox Hotel is situated in Market Street, Aberdeen close to rail and ferry links and a mere twenty minute drive from Aberdeen Airport. It is on the doorstep of Aberdeen’s latest and largest shopping and leisure complex, Union Square with over 60 shops and a 10 screen cinema just a short walk from the hotel. Guests can relax and look forward to a comfortable night’s sleep in our stylish bedrooms and when it comes to fine dining, the Rox offers a choice of dining areas where guests can choose from our superb menus and enjoy our outstanding cuisine. There are also relaxing bar areas, the perfect setting to unwind with a cocktail or traditional whisky. Our magnificent grand ballroom is a sight to behold and has been designed to stage the grandest weddings, the most impressive banquets, and receptions to make the right impression. The Rox also has meeting and function rooms for conferences, out-of-office meetings and other important business events. Join us at the Rox and enjoy the wonderful atmosphere of this magnificent new hotel where our dedicated staff will make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rox Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing