We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
Ranked #29 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here for Easter Sat.
Service: Excellent - lovely front of house staff - very welcoming and chatty
Value: Great Value for Time of year
Sleep: Was out like a light. Very comfortable bed
Clenaliness: Good - could do with more detail being paid to the corners once in a while
Location: Central Aberdeen - only issue is there is limited parking - if its full you get a discount on a different parking spot but its still pricey
Rooms: Decent Size, nicely furnished. We couldnt hear traffic/noise from outside (which is sometimes an issue with city centre hotels)
Breakfast was prompt, hot and tasty

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sksligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here on a business trip, April 2014. Found staying in this large hotel a rather joyless experience -- room felt rather drab and soulless, but it had an excellent (recently refurbished?) bathroom, and the breakfast buffet was nicely done, with pleasant staff -- I found the breakfast experience a bit more cheering. The quality of the food in the adjoining restaurant was just so-so, and I imagine that there are better places to eat nearby. Seemed expensive for what it was, but perhaps not compared with similar hotels in Aberdeen, which seems to be quite a pricy place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarthaOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Aberdeen Douglas Hotel was selected by the ASA of Malta for the Maltese Water Polo team's stay in Aberdeen throughout the 2014 C'wealth Championships. All the contingent was extremely well taken care of. All services were well beyond expectations and all staff made the stay a truly pleasant one. Thanks to all and we will gladly revisit on the next opportunity.
Marco Manara
General Secretary- ASA of Malta

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Having stayed in this hotel for many times in the past, always find it very welcoming and home away from home.Hotel is going through massive refurbishment,impressive copper canopy at entrance,most of the bedrooms has been refurbished and to a very good taste with modern colors and furnishing. Mollys Bistro serves the hearty homemade food,also homemade bread with the bowl of soup is divine.Irish pub downstairs is always busy with locals, during my last visit around St Patrick's Day hotel pub was buzzing. Breakfast served in open room is tasty and fresh and always welcomed by attentive, professional staff. Very close to all shops, bus, train station and cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tyronne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I really could not find fault with this hotel. Friendly staff on reception when we checked in and when we let ourselves into our room we found it was not only spacious but also had plenty of wardrobe and drawer space as well as a huge dressing table. We stayed for two nights bed, breakfast, one evening meal and one lunch which were part of the Irish weekend we were on. Needed to find somewhere to eat on the Saturday evening and after finding the restaurant full and the bar over road giving the worst customer service (thankfully nothing to do with the hotel!) we decided to give room service a try. Not only was the service fast it was also very good food and we were more than happy with it. I would love to be able to return to this hotel again in the future as all meals were great as was the service. Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

On arrival at the Aberdeen Douglas Hotel,we were greeted with smiling faces at reception..which was lovely! The room was nice but the bathroom was even better,obviously not long had a refurb..it was quiet even though the location of the hotel is central..the room is equipped with everything you might need,although the duvet was pretty thin so i was a bit cold through the night..the breakfast was fab too.You are right in the heart of Aberdeen so close to all the shops,restaurants and nightlife...we really enjoyed our stay. They do have very limited parking so get there as close to check in time as poss ..2pm.(charge of £5).or you will need to park in the ncp car park which is more expensive but if you are staying in the hotel you get a discount. I would be happy to return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hellrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The hotel is quite large, centrally located near the quays with a small private car park and a public multi-storey car park a short walk away. The room was a good size, a "family room" which was large with two doubles and a single bed, nicely decorated with a large bathroom.
The staff seemed friendly and the bar good. I was attending a business function in the ballroom which was fine for the purpose and the buffet food provided tasty enough.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn
Jurys Inn
#8 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,280 reviews
1.5 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.1 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,072 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carmelite
Carmelite
#50 of 65 in Aberdeen
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Douglas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Douglas Hotel

Address: 43-45 Market Street, Aberdeen AB11 5EL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £62 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aberdeen Douglas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aberdeen Douglas Hotel has been welcoming guests since 1848 and in recent years has re-established itself as one of Aberdeen's premier hotels. As an independently owned, family-run business with friendliness and efficiency at it's heart - our experienced staff will do everything to make your stay in the Granite City, now Oil and Gas Capital of Europe, a truly enjoyable experience. The hotel is located in the heart of the city centre, just a stones throw away from Aberdeen Bus Station and Aberdeen Train Station. Close to the whirl of city life, just off Union Street in the Merchant Quarter area - The Aberdeen Douglas Hotel is the perfect location to enjoy the very best of Aberdeen whether visiting for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aberdeen Douglas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing