We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style and atmosphere in one”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
Ranked #29 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed in the apartments attached to the hotel for four nights whilst visiting relations. Great location in the centre of town and walking distance of the harbour, theatre and shops. The apartment was stylish and very clean with all amenities. We had our meals in the hotel restaurant and the menu was varied and appetising. The staff were very courteous and friendly and we really felt welcome. Malone's Bar was lively with good music and craic. We will definitely stay there again when we return to Aberdeen.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pauline67kky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Staff good, but hotel rough at the edges and not good value at £167 per night in a "superior" double room. No aircon on v. hot day, so had to query and offered a fan (Argos ?). Had to open windows, which were filthy with seagull poo, seagull perched expectantly outside, ugh ! Dirty grey net curtains, unwashed white originals ! Paint touched up in blobs on 4 th floor landing. Overall a nasty place in a smelly area. Breakfast OK. Bathroom clean but those awful telltale black mould bits infiltrating the sealant.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank canoesrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here several times in the last 6-8 weeks and found the staff to be helpful and friendly which is not the norm for hotels in the Scottish Oil Capital. The quieter rooms are at the back of the hotel on level 1 and 2 although some the room lay outs are just plain wrong with the TV behind the couch or so high up the wall one ends up with a stiff neck!
However my complaints aside this is still my first choice hotel if staying for a night or two in Aberdeen

Room Tip: If possible do not have a room over the side street as there is a pub with noisy drunks at kicking o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at the Douglass while visiting Dunnattor Castle, my partner's ancestral home. We found the Douglass to be an extremely hospitable and comfortable hotel and seemed to us to be just the sort of hotel you think of when you think of visiting Scotland. The staff were all extremely welcoming and friendly, providing detailed directions and suggestions when asked. The restaurant staff accommodated my requests for glasses of ice to take back to our room cheerfully, even when they were busy. When my partner used all the towels for her shower (she has long hair) the housekeeping staff provided extra towels without being asked for them the next day.

The Douglass lobby is larger than most European hotels and is furnished with old prints and groupings of comfortable sofas, chairs and tables. The sleeping floors ramble on seemingly forever, taking turns, and leading you through doors to yet more turns and surprising nooks where the owners have arranged chairs and tables that guests can use as little reading areas or as a place to sit and rest or look out of a window. The hotel is under renovation but I didn't see any signs of renovation in the parts of the hotel that we used.

The rooms themselves are the usual size for hotels in cities. The bed was very comfortable and the window opened a small amount This was important for us because the Douglas, like many Scotland hotels, has no air conditioning. Our room was equipped with an electric tea pot and a flat screen TV with a range of BBC and other UK channels.

As an in the city hotel the Douglas offers some noise hazards, some normal and others unique. Friday nights are karaoke night at local clubs, of which at least one is very near the hotel. The couple accompanying us had a front of the hotel room and had difficulty sleeping until the noise died down. We had a room in the rear of the hotel and found that sea birds like to congregate on the nearby roof tops. They keep up a constant chorus in the early morning hours until they leave for work on the nearby harbor.

We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant one evening. The food was traditional Scots food that was served efficiently and quickly. Seating is a little tight in parts of the room. There is a full bar service with lots of beers and a range of wines. The Douglass also has a pub, located one floor down from the restaurant. The pub is smaller and seems focused on beverage services. It was full to overflowing the night we looked in as the World Cup was in its final matches.

The Douglass is very central to everything downtown in Aberdeen, which admittedly is somewhat limited. It's a short walk to the harbor and about 5 minutes to the train station or bus station. If you leave the hotel and make a right Aberdeen's down town is about a two block walk. There is a shopping mall directly across the street from where Market street (the hotel location) meets Union Street. The mall includes a Marks and Spencer, a Gap, and a number of local shops. The Marks and Spencer has an extensive food hall on its lower level that is a full service grocery store.

Turning left on Union will take you into Aberdeen's down town section which is very viable despite the fact that there are at least 2 urban malls in the down town area (the other is at the train station and is larger and more diverse than the one mentioned above. There is also an interesting old cemetery and a large park on Union street.

Closer to the hotel there is a 24 hour convenience store (across the street from the Douglas) that carries a range of grocery items (cookies, crackers, soda pop, and so forth) as well as a limited variety of alcoholic beverages. There is also a health food store across the street from the hotel. There do not seem to be a lot of restaurants in the down town area. Cab service is available through the front desk.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BizDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed in one of the apartments of the Douglas Hotel. As soon as we arrived to reception, the staff were friendly, very helpful and had a smile on their face. One of the receptionists walked us straight to the front door of our apartment. The room itself was very clean and had all the essentials and more! We went to an event in the main function room and again everything was better than what you would expect. There's a nice bistro attached named Molly's which does excellent food and Malones bar also attached which is perfect for a few drinks. Buffet breakfast in the morning was delicious and and again got a big smile on checking out. Definitely worth a stay!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eugene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Overall i had an excellent stay , i sometimes work offshore and i spent a few nights staying there .They have an excellent irish bar (Malones i think it was called) attached to the side of the hotel which is well worth a visit for anyone who's not familiar with Aberdeen. The food overall was excellent and a special mention to the staff who were excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CSWEENEY69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

booked this hotel for the night before my sons graduation, we arrived in pouring rain and the duty manager came out to the car park with umberellas and help carry our bags in,
were booked in adn shown to our rooms which were well appointed and very clean.
we then visited mollys bistro for our dinner where we had a lovely meal which was beautifully presented, the staff in the bistro were most attentive.
overall the experience was much enjoyed, thanks for making it part of a very memorable day

Room Tip: well appointed spacious room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank michael u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn
Jurys Inn
#8 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,050 reviews
1.5 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carmelite
Carmelite
#49 of 65 in Aberdeen
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Douglas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Douglas Hotel

Address: 43-45 Market Street, Aberdeen AB11 5EL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £64 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aberdeen Douglas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aberdeen Douglas Hotel has been welcoming guests since 1848 and in recent years has re-established itself as one of Aberdeen's premier hotels. As an independently owned, family-run business with friendliness and efficiency at it's heart - our experienced staff will do everything to make your stay in the Granite City, now Oil and Gas Capital of Europe, a truly enjoyable experience. The hotel is located in the heart of the city centre, just a stones throw away from Aberdeen Bus Station and Aberdeen Train Station. Close to the whirl of city life, just off Union Street in the Merchant Quarter area - The Aberdeen Douglas Hotel is the perfect location to enjoy the very best of Aberdeen whether visiting for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Aberdeen Douglas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing