We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, newish hotel in the centre of Aberdeen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ranked #14 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“nice, newish hotel in the centre of Aberdeen”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Ibis Aberdeen is a nice, newish looking hotel in the centre of Aberdeen, next to the Maritime Museum and one block south of Union Street. The Tourist Information is basically across the road and many buses, including the 727 service from and to the airport, stop close by. The maybe not so good thing about the central location is a 24/7 gym, which is situated in the same complex and I found it a little annoying hearing the noise of weightlifting equipment or whatever machinery they use being dropped on the floor next door. Otherwise, the room was clean with a comfy bed, free wifi, coffee and tea. The breakfast was okay, basically what you would expect from an Ibis hotel. Staff have been really friendly and helpful and were happy to explain where to find what. If it wasn't for the noise from the gym, this would have been a five-star review.

Room Tip: try to get a room furthest away from the adjacent gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attila S, General Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
It is always a great pleasure to receive feedbacks from a senior contributor. We are delighted to learn that you were satisfied with your stay. I will discuss the reported noise with the manager of the gym to be able to earn that "5th" star.
Thank you once more, we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    423
    161
    45
    23
See reviews for
107
373
90
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hotel located in the center of Aberdeen, comfortable and not expensive.
A single night it is not enough to evaluate the hotel, but I found the room and the bed nice and comfortable. Only two negative things, in my opinion: 1. towels. Only big worn bath towel, why? 2. You can ask the reception for razor, conditioner, slippery etc... but for 1 pound each. All this things are complimentary in a large part of the world.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luigi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attila S, General Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind feedbacks. It is very important for us to be able to improve the service of the hotel. Your concerns are advised back to the head office and will be dealt with accordingly.
We really hope that you will find positive improvements the next time you are staying in Ibis Aberdeen Centre hotel.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I was in Aberdeen for two days and stayed at the IBIS for two nights. I was very impressed by the room. It isn't large but very well designed, comfortable and the fixtures and fittings were all fine. I ate in the restaurant both nights. Make sure you look at the specials menu because the menu in your room is what is available 24 hours a day and as such is a little limited (though the food on it is tasty). The staff were all keen, from check-in to check-out, to provide a good service. The breakfast was fine although I always have a problem with buffet cooked breakfasts which too often have food that is dried out under the lights to keep it warm. Decent hotels in Aberdeen, especially in the centre are expensive and in comparison with the costs of other hotels in Aberdeen this hotel is good value for money and a real find for me.

Room Tip: Make sure you check what is on the daily specials menu outside the restaurant. Don't just chose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attila S, General Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time and recommending Ibis Aberdeen Centre hotel. Special thanks for the feedback regarding the restaurant. We hope we see you again soon and offering you similar excellent experiences.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

stayed here on Saturday night with the missus as we were having a night out. The hotel is right in the centre of Aberdeen so is perfect for shopping, restaurants, bars etc. We found the room to be a nice size, clean and a comfy bed to boot. The staff were friendly and polite also, and the bar/restaurant was reasonably priced. Overall it was a nice stay and for £60 for the night it was value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerome s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attila S, General Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Jerome,

Thank you very much for taking your time leaving an excellent feedback for us.
I am glad to hear that you were satisfied with all of our services.

I look forward to welcoming you again in Ibis Aberdeen Centre Hotel in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Anita Zsoldos
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a long weekend in the Ibis. We found it clean, warm, and quiet, a little disturbance from other residents on one occasion in the middle of the night but was short lived and didn't lessen our opinion, these things happen! The room was a decent size, bathroom a touch small but the shower was amazing! Internet was a bit temperamental but that was no big deal either. Staff were friendly and was a perfect location for Central Aberdeen. I know where i will be staying next time I am in Aberdeen.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attila S, General Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate the time you have taken to post your feedback about your stay in Ibis Aberdeen Centre hotel. We are delighted that you left with excellent experience. We look forward to welcome you soon.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have yet again found this hotel to be the best hotel to stay in Aberdeen city. Great value,especially when booked in advance. It is clean with comfortable beds and everything you need. Good breakfast also. Best of all , the most helpful, friendly staff I have ever met in any hotel anywhere. Praise where it is due. Not far from union square and other shops and restaurants. Excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attila S, General Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind 5-star comments. My team was delighted to read your excellent feedback. We really hope to see and welcome you again soon with the same experience.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,990 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
0.1 mi away
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
#29 of 65 in Aberdeen
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Aberdeen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Aberdeen Centre

Property: Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Address: 15 Shiprow, Aberdeen AB11 5BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Aberdeen Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Aberdeen Centre is a newly opened hotel, located in the centre of Aberdeen. The railway and bus station are just a few minutes walk away at Union Square. The ferry terminal and Aberdeen Maritime Museum are just opposite our front door.All business locations as well as Aberdeen City Council Headquarters are within five minutes walk together with the shopping and restaurants in the famous Union Street. The Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre (AECC) and Aberdeen Airport are both a short 20 minutes drive away. The A9 and A96 motorways are easily accessible from the hotel together with Market Street, Virginia Street and many more of the city's main attractions, all within the surrounding vicinity of the hotel. Our guests can visit many of the local attractions such as Balmoral Castle, summer home of the Royal Family being one of many famous Castles to be seen in this beautiful Scottish country side. Why not go on the Whisky Trail and try a Speyside malt? Codonas Amusement Park, Aberdeen Art Gallery or any of the amazing golf courses are all close by. The hotel has a fully serviced bar and restaurant, guests can choose from a cooked buffet breakfast or continental breakfast available from 4am till noon, snacks and evening meals are offered 24 hours per day. Rooms are fully en-suite with walk in showers, tea/coffee making facilities, pay per view movies, mp3 connections and free WIFI internet. The hotel is adjacent to the NCP car park and Pure Gym Aberdeen which is open 24 hours per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Aberdeen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Aberdeen Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Ibis Aberdeen Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing