We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Quality”

Aberdeen Music Hall
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by architects Archibald Simpson and James Matthews, this historic structure serves as both a major concert hall and an architecturally significant landmark.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Top Quality”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have been to the Music Hall a number of times over the years for music shows, comedians, magicians, and most recently, ceilidhs!

This venue has good quality artists on a regular basis, to suit all tastes. The staff are all highly professional, smartly presented and friendly to talk to. They go out of their way to get everything 100% for you e.g. one bar lady went out of her way to get a particular type of gin my friend wanted by going down into the cellar.

The venue itself is beautifully presented. Including the toilets! There's no scrimping on quality here; you get what you pay for well and truly! Saying that, not all tickets are highly expensive, in fact I went along to a free ceilidh there in June 2014 and the experience was just as fab!

There are balcony seats too for a higher view at seated shows.

If there's an event going on at the Music Hall that tickles your fancy but you're a little unsure.. go! You won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Willowette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    48
    12
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Lovely building”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

A lovely building and great cafe. Popped into the cafe for lunch in lovely surroundings. Well worth a visit if you are in the area. Very reasonable prices and pleasant staff.
Good selection of shows throughout the year.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Purplehazze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Bar service was an embarrassment...”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A lovely concert venue but the bar service at our visit this weekend was just plain embarrassing despite it being quiet....actually the service may explain why the bar was so quiet.

The bar was manned by several very young and seemingly inexperienced girls who obviously need some supervision or training, as they were all very quiet and painfully slow.

For our first round, the girl attempted to squeeze the dregs out of the draught mixer and serve us dead flat drinks. We had to ask for this to be replaced.

Later on, wine was served from beer glasses as they had no wine glasses left- this despite, as I say, the bar being deserted.

Box office needs sorting out, too. I booked numbered front row seats only to find on arrival that tables were actually unreserved and we had to sit near the back.

These things just let's an otherwise great venue down.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank heidotheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Outstanding acoustics”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Apart from being a beautiful interior, the quality of the sound (especially from the balcony) is outstanding. It's worth going to any concert just to hear for yourself.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank WebbyABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb venue”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I have been to see numerous shows here over the years from opera, to school concerts and poetry readings and they have all been run by the hall with the same top notch standards. Everything is very clean and the staff are welcoming and friendly. There is also a lovely café on site.
Parking is difficult, as with many city centre attractions however it is only a 5min walk from the Denburn car park and 10mins from the car park at Union Square shopping centre.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lanarkgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aberdeen Music Hall also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Aberdeen Music Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing