We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for beginers”

Bennachie Hill Walks
Ranked #1 of 19 Tours in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A series of hiking trails through the scenic landscape surrounding the city.
peterhead
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“great for beginers”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

great walk fantastic views oor the grampians very pleasent walk heading up to the mither oh taps will be going back great day out

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank oman987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    27
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckie, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

offers a fantastic accessible outdoor getaway. Trails/paths are well constructed and signposted and you can make the walk as long or short as you like but still be varied. Some great features too due to the varied terrain and woodland, different ages of archeology, with the pictish fort being a great site to visit with the bonus being the views.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank jammiecowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pearl of Scotland”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We visit with my 7yo son Bennachie Centre twice last year, with walk up to Mither Tap. And we're in love now. Very quiet, clean area, with maybe not the best marked way to it (but still 8/10). Visitor Centre in very pleasant building, nicely hidden between trees. Bit of old equipment, but mostly they done a great job. Very kind, well informed staff. No problems with maps, but routes are really well-marked. We twice chose 'demanding route' straight to Mither Tap, but wasn't really hard. We had passed really small kids, as well as grannies. Anyway, even slow walk with lots of rests, will pay. Fantastic woods, interesting colony's remainders and incredible fort's ruins at the top with wonderful views. I would like to find much more information about fort itself, whether on top or in centre. It's my son's favourite place now, and we cannot wait to visit it again. And we definitely will. Aye, and don't forget to take some food, that's sore point of centre.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank solda80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hike, great views”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

My husband and I along with our 8mo old son wanted to get outdoors on a beautiful day and we were not disapointed. There were a few trails to choose from based on skill level so we chose the moderate one. It was a pretty level walk most of the way through and your surrounded by trees and brush. It finally opened up and all the trees and brush were cleared away and then the trail took more of a vertical climb. It got rather steep at the very top and since my husband had our son strapped to his chest we stopped about 20 yards from the top. Even where we stopped near the top the views were amazing. There's also a cafe at the bottom so you can have a rest and something to drink when you're done.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jax525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A great walk fantastic views”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

A great walk through forest areas and then a good hike to the top makes it all worth it for the view

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank DuskAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bennachie Hill Walks also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Bennachie Hill Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing