We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland Hotel
Ranked #56 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stay away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

Had an overnight stay in what the highland hotel describes as a modern room, bit of a joke, actually stayed in a run down dated room on the other side of the street for £102 a night, the brentwood hotel is right next door with much better rooms

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaimeAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    34
    15
    11
    26
See reviews for
16
26
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

Don't understand all the bad reviews. Rooms have recently been upgraded and were very comfortable. The bar had a good atmosphere in the evenings with numerous flat screens tv's (even a 3D tv) for watching any sporting events. The food was nice - try the Highland Philly - great value too. For a decent hotel bang in the city centre then the Highland is the place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djorkaeff1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands of SCotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

Have stayed at the Highland on several trips to Aberdeen Now. The rooms have been tastefully re done, Bar and Food is great. All the staff are very helpful (No milk in my room the lady in reception did not have a problem getting me some) Breakfast staff was very good, and chirpy, the manager can be a bit grumfy sometimes but all in all this is an excellant family run hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighlandTerrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

Stayed at the hotel as always through work,all the girls in the bar are great ,cant do enough for you as a rule,only problem was i left an i pod in the room,phoned up reception 3 hrs later (11am) to explain id left item in room and could reception go and check room for my i pod before the room was re let,was told someone will check room,when i phoned back i pod had disappeared,and i was left feeling frustrated that they said i cant have left it or it would be there.i must of lost it some were else,i was told that i would "have to prove i had left it in the room" ,which obviously you never record a hotel room before you leave it,so there was no chance of me being believed,if there are any problems at this hotel,they will never get resolved with this kind iof attitude towards customers,it's a good job the oil industry needs hotels in Aberdeen,as im sure this hotel wouldn't survive to long with out it based on customer satisfaction from this website,after a dissapointing discussion where i was told i was getting a bit upset,which i was ,as id had my sons i pod "vanish" from thin air,then i recieved a phone call from my company saying they would allow me to stay there again as long as i didnt make an issue out of it,a very bad taste in my mouth ,but hey ,who would care!! this hotel could be so much better!!! the choice is yours .

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lost_in_music_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

Most staff friendly food good but have had it better in the past. Check in ok apart from lady eating at the desk as we were checking not a good look when your checking into a hotel. Room clean and tidy. Bar and restaurant people friendly and always happy to help.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidkyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

I was there for one night and that was more than enough. The reception is unmanned and you have to ring for someone to come. After waiting ages a grumpy woman arrived and informed us that she had to man the bar as well and it was basically an inconvenience to come to reception so could we please deal with all our issues now rather than her coming back later.

The hotel stank of old food, dark, dingy and the bedroom was borderline clean. The breakfast was just dried leftovers and when you ask for anything you are made to feel like you are inconveniencing them.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. Only good feature is it's location.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2010

Hi Everyone,
I am a an oil and gas worker in Aberdeen, my friend and I stay in the centre, we visited the Highland hotel / pub just about every evening prior to Christmas, basically every 2nd meal was rubbish, although Aberdeen is a bit of a rip off with the prices our digs were right next to their pub so we kept taking the gamble as it was no distance to walk home.
Any way, January they have a great deal where you get a 2 course meal before 6.30pm for £7.95...Great right...and it was ok by the way (and good service), but...we have a meal plus beers plus 2 bottles of pino every night Monday / Thursday, we went in tonight at 18.40hrs and tried to order at 18.45, the bar manager guy is very nice, but...he came back and said "the chef is a miserable so and so and will not serve you liver as you are to late"....I said, ok, forget the 2 course special, just serve us the liver and even charge us a set menu price (the liver was not on the main menu)...he said he could not as the chef refused to make us liver even though its in the fridge...by the way, the actual restaraunt was empty and the chef was not in the kitchen as he was watching the football on TV, so to recap, we offered more money than the menu said, the place was empty...and the chef refused, so we had a packet of crisps and went somewhere else to eat....would you not sack the chef if this was not your business????? We offered to pay more than the price was for liver and it is quicker to cook than steak, but they refused to make it....the chef enjoyed the football i guess....disgracefull, will be writing a letter of complaint.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unhappyhighland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.0 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#38 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
#27 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
0.3 mi away
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel
0.2 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#60 of 63 in Aberdeen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Hotel

Property: Highland Hotel
Address: 93-95 Crown Street, Aberdeen AB11 6HH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland
Aberdeen Highland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing