We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ferryhill House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 102 Aberdeen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Great food, value, service & atmosphere at a recent family dinner. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyjdAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    72
    20
    5
    10
See reviews for
50
71
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
burntisland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Normally when in Aberdeen on business i tend to go for the Premier Inn just off Union Street which is perfect as most of the meetings we have are in the city centre, however this trip was a bit rushed so we couldn't get a room. Turns out it was a blessing in disguise as we booked this fantastic wee place on Bon Accord Street.

The Ferryhill House Hotel is a 9 bedroomed privately run hotel which is about a 10 minute walk from Union Street. We arrived there at 4pm and were immediately impressed by the large amount of free car parking in the grounds - as anyone who has visited Aberdeen knows free parking is a welcome bonus.

We were welcomed by some extremely friendly reception staff who went through the usual drill of meal times, breakfast etc. I was allocated a room on the second floor which was spotlessly clean and very spacious. I was also impressed by the large LCD television with sky sports free of charge - excellent stuff!

We decided to eat in the restaurant and the food was fantastic - i had lobster ravioli followed by rock turbot - with fast efficient service from the waiting staff. We then retired to the bar to watch the Chelsea game and stumbled upon a great selection of malts - i'll worry about that later when the bill arrives at work!

All in all a great wee find in the granite city and a hotel which i will use on future trips. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinsoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cruden Bay
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2010

On Sat 3rd July 2010, we booked the hotel to cater for a small family wedding, (18 Guests). We had a fantastic day, and all the staff gave us 100% plus in service and friendliness, the meals were faultless with huge helpings, and they even made a special desert for the Bride, they reserved tables for us in the Malt Bar so we could continue our celebrations and we got the same superb service from all the bar staff.
We had 3 rooms booked and they were lovely. The next morning at breakfast was also very good. All in all the Ferryhill House Hotel made the Wedding a very happy and memorable day, and we the Grosvenor Family would like to thank them again for everything.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGGCrudenBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraserburgh
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

I cannot praise this hotel enough. Ok the rooms are a bit bright, but the bar, food and staff are exceptional. This was our first stay since my wife had abdominal surgery. This has resulted in her being able to eat a proper meal for the first time in 12 years. The Ferryhill did itself proud. My wife realy enjoyed her meal and so did I. Without a doubt this is a hidden gem in Aberdeen hotels and its even better in the summer when you can sit outside.
Thanks Folks

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grant79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2009

Recently spent a night here. A beautiful room, delicious meal, friendly staff. Only thing I didn't like was the fact that there isn't a seperate reception area, but this didn't detract from a great experience. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toffeepops08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Nice young lady was most friendly and helpful in the morning when we asked for advice.
Nothing was a problem to her, as is to be said for all the staff. The same young lady served us our meal in the restaurant on the evening before, and once again smiling and helpful, when we asked about the menu. The hotel was very busy, and we couldn't find fault at all. Great atmosphere and we've recommended the Ferryhill House Hotel to other friends, when visiting Aberdeen. Well worth a visit when you are greeted by such a lovely team of staff, nothing is a problem to anyone. To the nice young lady in the morning, keep smiling you made our day!!!!!! We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trishsmith33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

We stayed three nights on a short trip to Aberdeen to see a stage show, as treat for wedding anniversary and do some shopping. Hotel had good location. Not noisy. Bar and restaurant were busy. Hotel has only 9 rooms. Food in restaurant lovely. Breakfasts good too. Staff will do just wee bits more than needed to help you. 99% treated you a bit like friends. Beds were brilliantly comfortable. Our room was a good size.
Flatscreen TV in our room. One SMALL downside to this was they did not have BBC News 24 and we would have liked some radio channels via set too. Radio 4 and Scotland to name two.
Carpark space might be a problem in evening, if you came back/arrived in mid evening (say 5pm -10pm). But all in all - Ferryhill is very good.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webpostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.8 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 65 in Aberdeen
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,937 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hannah's Guest House
Hannah's Guest House
#1 of 102 in Aberdeen
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferryhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferryhill House Hotel

Property: Ferryhill House Hotel
Address: 169 Bon Accord Street, Aberdeen AB11 6UA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferryhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Ferryhill House Hotel...your family friendly hotel, bar & restaurant in the heart of the city centre! Set in our private gardens, The Ferryhill House Hotel has a large restaurant with conservatory serving an extensive menu of home cooked food, a traditional bar area with a wide selection of drinks, nine en-suite bedrooms and an outdoor sun terrace with playpark. Located only a short distance from the main city centre, The Ferryhill House Hotel is the perfect setting to enjoy relaxing drink, fine food and a comfortable place to rest your head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ferryhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferryhill House Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing