We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb lunch today”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ferryhill House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 103 Aberdeen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superb lunch today”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The food today was excellent and I couldn't fault anything. I was here about a year ago and the experience was equally good, now thinking I must go more a lot more often. Portion sizes are very good, service great and they are happy to accommodate special requirements too, nice to see an establishment so well run.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam12340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    72
    20
    5
    10
See reviews for
50
70
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have spent 4 nights at this hotel and we very much enjoyed the stay. The room was nice, we have all we needed (including hair dryer, iron table and iron, coffee machine etc), spacious closed, good internet connection.
The breakfast was very good and the restaurant for dinner was also very good - make sure you have a reservation as it is very busy.
The hotel is very close to the city's main street/center in a very quite an green area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RASuciu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have stayed here several times and it never fails to impress, the rooms have been refurbished recently, including the discovery of a long forgotten and covered over window on one of the first rooms they did, and with new furniture in place and everything in the room spotlessly clean there are no problems to be found. Shower temperature easily set and controlled

The food - many readers will not be familiar with Cullen Skink - it is a wonderful Scottish fish and seafood soup, and in this hotel it is a star turn, I had it each night, and I can only recommend everyone to give it a try, fantastic. Also had the haddock and chips two nights out of the three I was there. The best in town.

Staff are very helpful and friendly and service is swift, the bar offers great selection of drinks, I was on Tennents lager, served at just the right temperature.

Sleep quality excellent, nice and quiet and very comfortable beds.

Location is good for business being only a few minutes from Altens and close enough to main roads to get to most places easily.

It is as well to book early to avoid disappointment and I think the room rates are very reasonable as compared to other hotels. Hope to be back again soon.

Room Tip: All are good. Stayed here several times on first and second floors and have no preferences
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

It helps when you visit on a gloriously sunny day and can take advantage of the outdoor seating areas. We attended for lunch only. After having heard good things about the hotel for some time I had never been until recently.

The food is basic, pub grub type menu, however tasty, large portions and offers great comfort - esp with a hangover.

The service was the only thing that let it down. The waiting staff were bordering on rude. Perhaps not best pleased to be working on one of the warmest days of the year - however a smile and some manners would have been nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayleighMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Been here quite a few times over the years and I've never left disappointed.

Normally quite busy and although I havent booked they are always very accommodating in finding space.

The fish and chips is lovely, you can tell that everything is fresh. Another delight is the pate. Food also comes quick considering how busy it normally is.

Price is always reasonable also.

The downside is the car park can be a bit tight if busy but thats not exactly a big deal, there is plenty of parking on the street outside.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dons1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

It's been a few years since our last stay so we were delighted to be allocated our favourite room on request - they have all been redecorated and are now super mod with a fridge, flat screen tv, docking station etc. Complimentary bottles of water in the room was a nice touch too. Everything was spotless clean and the bed was really comfortable. Our room was above the bar but you couldn't really tell as it wasn't overly noisy.

Booked the restaurant for dinner at night and all three courses were perfect - the seabass main was excellent and the service was quick but not too intruding. I'm glad we booked as it was really busy!

The complimentary breakfast in the morning was also really good - plenty choice and nice and relaxing.

Can't wait to visit again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Broons B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Love the food here nice setting , good menu altho quote expensive good quality. Burgers are yum never go past them.
Restaurant is same menu but a beautiful conservatory .great place for a drink outside in the summer nights

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LindaGrayScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.8 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.7 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#13 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
0.8 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferryhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferryhill House Hotel

Property: Ferryhill House Hotel
Address: 169 Bon Accord Street, Aberdeen AB11 6UA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferryhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Ferryhill House Hotel...your family friendly hotel, bar & restaurant in the heart of the city centre! Set in our private gardens, The Ferryhill House Hotel has a large restaurant with conservatory serving an extensive menu of home cooked food, a traditional bar area with a wide selection of drinks, nine en-suite bedrooms and an outdoor sun terrace with playpark. Located only a short distance from the main city centre, The Ferryhill House Hotel is the perfect setting to enjoy relaxing drink, fine food and a comfortable place to rest your head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ferryhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferryhill House Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing