We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ferryhill House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 102 Aberdeen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeenshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely place”
Reviewed 22 October 2009

Recently spent a night here. A beautiful room, delicious meal, friendly staff. Only thing I didn't like was the fact that there isn't a seperate reception area, but this didn't detract from a great experience. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toffeepops08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    71
    21
    6
    10
See reviews for
51
75
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wales
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Nice young lady was most friendly and helpful in the morning when we asked for advice.
Nothing was a problem to her, as is to be said for all the staff. The same young lady served us our meal in the restaurant on the evening before, and once again smiling and helpful, when we asked about the menu. The hotel was very busy, and we couldn't find fault at all. Great atmosphere and we've recommended the Ferryhill House Hotel to other friends, when visiting Aberdeen. Well worth a visit when you are greeted by such a lovely team of staff, nothing is a problem to anyone. To the nice young lady in the morning, keep smiling you made our day!!!!!! We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trishsmith33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

We stayed three nights on a short trip to Aberdeen to see a stage show, as treat for wedding anniversary and do some shopping. Hotel had good location. Not noisy. Bar and restaurant were busy. Hotel has only 9 rooms. Food in restaurant lovely. Breakfasts good too. Staff will do just wee bits more than needed to help you. 99% treated you a bit like friends. Beds were brilliantly comfortable. Our room was a good size.
Flatscreen TV in our room. One SMALL downside to this was they did not have BBC News 24 and we would have liked some radio channels via set too. Radio 4 and Scotland to name two.
Carpark space might be a problem in evening, if you came back/arrived in mid evening (say 5pm -10pm). But all in all - Ferryhill is very good.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webpostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Stayed at the Ferryhill House Hotel for one night in May 2009. Driving up to the hotel, I was impressed with the outside decor and welcoming atmosphere of the outdoor beer garden. The hotel is in a nice neighborhood and a 10 - 15 minute walk to the city center.

The staff was very helpful and kind. We had to make a call and the staff helped us greatly by placing the call for us and transferring it to our room.

Restaurant and bar are very welcoming and enjoyed the food and drinks in a pleasant and relaxing atmosphere.

The room was clean but believe it may need some updating. The carpet specifically but otherwise was happy with the room. Good space, beautiful bay window, and comfortable bed and couch.

Overall, a good stay and would have no problem staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stkkattds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

Ferryhill House is a delightful, friendly hotel where we had a fantastic week-end. The most impressive aspect was the staff who were all so friendly and helpful throughout our stay, especially Paul who loaned us his road atlas for a day trip and gave us such helpful advice. Our room was beautifully appointed and the breakfast was delicious. A beautiful place full of old word charm that we will definitely visit again if we get to Aberdeen.

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryWyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2008

I stayed at the hotel on a previous visit to Aberdeen and returned last month with no disappointments.

There has been extensive renovation work and both the bar and restaurant areas have been completely re-decorated. All work is now finished it looks lovely. The bar is much bigger and there is an extra seating area.

My meal was fantastic and service was as good as I had remembered.

No complaints!

  • Liked — a quaint hotel in a great location
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott7786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2007

After all the great reviews I was really looking forward to our stay. The owner squeezed us in on a busy weekend which I was impressed by.

We stayed one night in a room right next to the internal building work which started at 8:30am on the Sunday with drills and hammering! We did mention this to the staff who apologised.

Breakfast was lovely - we were first down after our wake-up 'drill'.

The room and ensuite were clean and fresh but the bed was incredibly uncomfortable.

Overall I was disappointed and won't go back.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joysilvercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.8 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 65 in Aberdeen
750 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
3.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,036 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
994 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hannah's Guest House
Hannah's Guest House
#1 of 102 in Aberdeen
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferryhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferryhill House Hotel

Property: Ferryhill House Hotel
Address: 169 Bon Accord Street, Aberdeen AB11 6UA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferryhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Ferryhill House Hotel...your family friendly hotel, bar & restaurant in the heart of the city centre! Set in our private gardens, The Ferryhill House Hotel has a large restaurant with conservatory serving an extensive menu of home cooked food, a traditional bar area with a wide selection of drinks, nine en-suite bedrooms and an outdoor sun terrace with playpark. Located only a short distance from the main city centre, The Ferryhill House Hotel is the perfect setting to enjoy relaxing drink, fine food and a comfortable place to rest your head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Ferryhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferryhill House Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing