We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Traffic free delight

We rode the Deeside Way from Aboyne to Ballater, a total of eleven miles each way, on a fabulous... read more

Reviewed 30 June 2021
marksW6986YC
,
Baildon, United Kingdom
Meet and greet on the way!

This can be a lovely walk, jog or run, especially when you start from the Duthie park. I have ran... read more

Reviewed 27 June 2020
John M
,
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Read all 80 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Aberdeen
from £47.00
More Info
from £87.16
More Info
from £53.72
More Info
from £5.71
More Info
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
43
33
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
43
33
4
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful place to walk/cycle/roller blade along. Always friendly people walking by keen for a chat about the weather! So many places to stop and visit along the walk. Full of history with some coach houses and old platforms along the way

1  Thank gingernut268
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is a fantastic cycle/walking route, safe and excellent for all the family to use. Well maintained and very popular with walkers, cyclists and Horse riders.

Date of experience: July 2013
1  Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The cycle to Ballater from Aberdeen (Duthie Park) is about 45 miles, and is overall a pleasant experience - for one exception. There is no cycle path or anything of that sort from Kincardine O'Neil to Aboyne.

From Duthie Park to King George V Park in Banchory is very straight forward and simple to cycle. A few bits are along the road, such as the bit in Drumoak - but it is for such a short distance that it is of little concern for an adult. Cycling with smaller children, and you might want to walk those bits. Wouldn't impact the travel time noticably, I am sure.

In Banchory however, the path along the original Deeside Railway Line disappears. First time around, me and my girlfriend went up Scolty Hill - and we thoroughly regretted it. If you follow the directions from having crossed the bridge in Banchory, you end up on Scolty Hill, but once at the car park, there is no signage whatsoever. No markings on the paths make it difficult to navigate, so bringing a map is a good trick. Data connection is iffy up there, so a map is a better option.
Second time around, with friends, we decided to NOT follow the suggested route, but rather take the route along the river which ends up in Slewdrum Forest - and it is indeed a much better route. The uphills are longer but less steep and the views are infinitely better, as parts are right next to the river. There are still no signs on this path, so a printout of an OS map is helpful.
As you get out of Slewdrum Forest, you join the cycle path heading downhill to Potarch, where you cross the river and get onto the cycling path to Kincardine O'Neil - where the path stops.

Once you've navigated the treacherous Aberdeenshire traffic, you get to Aboyne and the path starts from next to the Memorial Hall, and leads all the way to Ballater with plenty of good signage - so no map is necessary.

If I was to cycle this as a completely leisurely thing, I would probably cycle to Banchory from Aberdeen, take the bus from Banchory to Aboyne and then cycle from Aboyne to Ballater - as there stretches are very flat and the surface is great. If you can handle the slightly tougher uphill streches, the angling road to Slewdrum Forest is great - but the bus from Kincardine O'Neil to Aboyne is still a good bet - the A93 is just too narrow for the cycle to be enjoyable if traffic is heavy.

You do not need to carry water for the entire trip, as you can restock in Banchory, Aboyne and Ballater. Aboyne has a great Coop for cheap lunch and refuelling water/electrolytes, which is behind the Hotel/Tavern. Ballater has a nice Coop in the centre next to the Church.

Date of experience: June 2013
10  Thank JohanK849
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Nice easy route for a run. Some nice views at some points! Tarmac so you shouldn't get mucky trainers!

Date of experience: May 2013
1  Thank Kitty8704
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I also live quite close to this path..7 miles long nearly from the Duthie Park to Peterculter Station, with extensions mooted towards Banchory this is a well used recreation path for dog walking, Cycling, and jogging, never mind the recreational walker. Fairly recently the path has been improved by a wonderful bridge over Holburn Street at the east end, by tarring much of th path as far as Culter, and adding back a couple of bridges to allow through passage where before there was none..On a fine day there is not a finer path than this..It is of course part of the Aberdeen ..Ballater railway line shut by Beeching Cuts in 1966/7 and several of the Stations are still visible from the Path,Pitfodels Station just renovated , having recently been made available for sale..Very much recommended to users but there is an extreme lack of toilets on the route!! Be warned about that!

Date of experience: September 2012
2  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews