We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to eat in Aberdeen ”
Review of The Braided Fig

The Braided Fig
Ranked #46 of 685 Restaurants in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Central Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Aberdeen ”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Been here a few times and always fab. Without a doubt the best place to eat in Aberdeen! Just off of union street it's in a great location and it's a beautiful setting for any occasion, be it a quick lunch, a romantic dinner or a big celebration. The food is absolutely delicious and beautifully presented. The menu changes frequently keeping things fresh but they always have the favourites on the menu.
The service is great, friendly & welcoming.
A must for anyone who hadn't yet been!

Helpful?
Thank M030386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    121
    41
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great unsung venue for food and drinks”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was my first time at The Braided Fig and was impromptu decision to go in. Glad we did as I really liked menu options and relaxed atmosphere in place. Eaten in a lot of venues in Aberdeen and was nice to see some different options.

I had a kangaroo burger , waitress was very helpful in suggesting that some people had cheese with it as option. Opted for some stilton and very good it was too.
Others in party had the chicken wontons, looked great. Fillet steak also got favourable reports.
Service was excellent and friendly.

I will definently be back to sample more from menu!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eastcoastrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tasty food, good service”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were a party of four on a Sunday night. The mains took a while to arrive, but they were delicious. Three of us had the grilled salmon on potato/corn/crab mash with boiled greens, roasted tomatoes. Excellent. I can't recommend the pesto and focaccia starter, but the tomato/chorizo/bean soup was delish. Their rooster fries are well known and excellent, like chips/fries should be. The two bartenders know how to place shamrocks on the top of a pint of Guinness...it's an art! Good place to eat. The tab for four with wine and beer was gbp119.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Brilliant food in a relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The staff were friendly and welcoming from the minute I walked through the door. the food was excellent. I met a friend for lunch and left early evening. The restaurant is split into 2 areas with dining area in one half and nice relaxed seating in the other half. We ate our meal and then moved to the seating area for coffee and stayed the remainder of the afternoon there just having a good catch up. It is so hard to believe they are based in the centre of town as it is so quiet and relaxed. The staff were attentive but unobtrusive the whole time we were there, I would definitely go back. Great place for a catch up without loud music drowning out your conversation.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mosesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABERDEEN
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good, but...”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We visited here as a birthday treat. I haven't been in several years. The food was well cooked & presented well. Our only problem was with our main courses. We felt there were too many different flavours on our plates. Each delicious in their own right, but not necessarily together.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CAVA56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Braided Fig also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to The Braided Fig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing