We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great scottish food”
Review of Atholl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atholl Hotel
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great scottish food”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I live right across the road from the Atholl so we go here quite alot. The food is absolutely fantastic - cannot fault it. There's always a good special of the day and the menu is varied so there is something for everyone. Portions are good and I'd recommend the beef olives!! I have never ever come away from here hungry.
If you are coming at the weekend you should definitley book as it gets very busy. We tend to go on a week night and it's normally okay to just walk in and get a table. You can dine i the bar or there is a dining area also which is good.
Staff are all very nice and attentive.
Can be a wee bit on the expensive side, although not hugely but it's not a cheap place. But the surrondings and the food definitley make it worthwhile.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthollHotelAberdeen, Director of Sales at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you, we very much appreciate your positive review and especially thank you for taking the time to write it.

We are delighted that you enjoy your regular visits to the Atholl.

At the Atholl we strive to meet our guest’s expectations and are delighted when these are met.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Atholl in the near future.

With Kindest Regards
The Atholl Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    121
    24
    4
    4
See reviews for
65
109
32
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This was our annual Christmas jaunt.
We had a separate room above the main restaurant.
The place was very busy when we arrived at 7pm, car park nearly full and the restaurant and bar almost at capacity
We had a set meal which was preordered and we had place cards on our tables,with our menu choice preprinted. Which makes one wonder why we had to use a soup spoon for the rather odd starter. The choice had been soup, soup or fan of melon. The melon description was interesting and Ive had the soups before so I gave it a try. It was peculiar. I think it belonged more to the pudding range than starter. The melon itself was ok, but it was served with this sort of creamy sorbet, sort of rasberry coloured,but lacking any flavour, and some berries.Odd.
For the main course I chose salmon with a veloute sauce. It was quite good, the salmon nicely cooked and lots of nicely done veg.
I now have to leave my usual review style of the Atholl, and say the pudding was a DREAM. Baileys mousse served in this deep dark chocolate cup. Distinctly more-ish.

The red wine Im afraid left a lot to be desired, and I didnt test the white or rose.
The maitre d' was most attentive, and the bar staff friendly.

Have to criticise the ladies loos though. Surely on a busy night such as this somebody should check to make sure that there is sufficient toilet roll!

Given that this is a busy time of year, when most hotels offer a sort of standard meal without a great deal of flourish, I suppose I have to say that it probably is fairly average for Aberdeen at this time of year!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthollHotelAberdeen, Director of Sales at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you, we very much appreciate your review and especially thank you for taking the time to write it.

We take all comments on board both positive and negative. This feedback is beneficial to us; at the Atholl we strive to meet our guest’s expectations and are disappointed when this is not met.

We hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel; we would be delighted to be given that chance to showcase our longstanding reputation for traditional cuisine, and friendly service.

Thank you once again.

With Kindest Regards
The Atholl Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Booked for our girls pre-Christmas lunch for the 3rd year running and was not disappointed! Food was lovely yet again with good portion sizes, great service and very nice staff. After lunch we sat in the bar with our tab running all day into the night as the regulars and other guests arrived for dinner. Staff looked after us extremely well without intruding in our conversation. Highly recommend for the food and nice atmosphere. Will be back again next year!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italiandreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthollHotelAberdeen, Director of Sales at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you, we very much appreciate your positive review and especially thank you for taking the time to write them.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch with us once again.

Here at the Atholl we strive to meet our guests expectations and are pleased to hear that we have done just that.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Atholl in the near future.

With Kindest Regards
The Atholl Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I had another lovely stay in the Atholl Hotel - I think the staff have to be the most friendly and professional in any hotel in Aberdeen. The ethos and character of the hotel is first rate and they make you feel very welcome. The breakfast is one of the best in Aberdeen and always cooked fresh to order. The hotel is very quite, excellently located and ideal for business in Aberdeen. Thanks for another great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pocketmuncha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthollHotelAberdeen, Director of Sales at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you, we very much appreciate your positive review and comments especially for taking the time to write them.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us once again.

Here at the Atholl we strive to meet our guests expectations and are pleased to hear that we have done just that.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Atholl in the near future.

With Kindest Regards
The Atholl Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed at the Atholl hotel for the last 3 nights . Ist class service. Homely,Great food ,rooms very clean and comfortable.
Suitable for families or travelling alone.
Basically if your looking for a genuine welcome come to the Atholl hotel.

Room Tip: My favourite hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seannyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthollHotelAberdeen, Director of Sales at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you Sean, we very much appreciate your positive review and comments and thank you for taking the time to write them.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Here at the Atholl we strive to make our guests feel at home and are pleased to hear that we have done just that.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Atholl in the near future.

With Kindest Regards
The Atholl Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I booked this hotel off booking.com for my colleague and as he was working in the Dice are for one night. he has nothing but amazing things to say about this hotel and I will be booking the guys in here from now on. thanks very much for making his stay as nice as possible.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louiseleitchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthollHotelAberdeen, Director of Sales at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your positive review Louise.

We are delighted that your colleague enjoyed his stay with us. Here at the Atholl we strive to make our guests feel at home and are pleased to hear that we have done just that.

We look forward to welcoming your colleagues back to the Atholl in the near future.

With Kindest Regards
The Atholl Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed at the Atholl Hotel last weekend - a wee break from our 3 year old spaniel - and the hotel was more than expected. I have NEVER stayed in such a clean and tastefully decorated hotel ever! We had a meal in the restaurant both nights and the food was fantastic. The restaurant was full of local accents which just showed how good this restaurant is that locals visit it!! Would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone .... may return sometime.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthollHotelAberdeen, Director of Sales at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Atholl Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us. All of your fantastic comments will be passed on to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#12 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#19 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Hotel

Property: Atholl Hotel
Address: 54 King's Gate, Aberdeen AB15 4YN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#13 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at The Atholl Hotel in Aberdeen. For guests and culinary devotees, private functions and business parties, there is a long standing tradition of providing the very best. Our surroundings are unique and new decor sumptuous, our atmosphere is tranquil, warm and friendly. Why not experience it for yourself? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atholl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing